View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
leonchik1976 Guru
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 337
|
Posted: Fri Sep 01, 2023 6:49 pm Post subject: Launching VirtualBox VM causes host to freeze |
|
|
Hi, when i try to launch VM in VirtualBox, the host itself completely freezes. Tried to reinstall VirtualBox, reinstall virtualbox-modules - nothing helped.
In VBoxSVC.log i can see an error:
Failed to open "/dev/vboxdrvu", errno=13, rc=VERR_VM_DRIVER_NOT_ACCESSIBLE
though it exists:
$ ls -l /dev/vboxdrvu
crw------- 1 root root 10, 122 Sep 1 18:34 /dev/vboxdrvu
and also module is loaded:
$ lsmod | grep vbox
vboxnetflt 36864 0
vboxnetadp 24576 0
vboxdrv 626688 2 vboxnetadp,vboxnetflt
Exactly same issue on 2 different machines. what can i check to try to debug the issue?
also checked - my user in vboxusers group |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alamahant Advocate
Joined: 23 Mar 2019 Posts: 3916
|
Posted: Sun Sep 03, 2023 3:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Try
Code: |
chown vboxusers:vboxusers /dev/vbox*
|
What is the output of
Code: |
grep -r vbox /etc/udev/
|
_________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
leonchik1976 Guru
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 337
|
Posted: Fri Sep 08, 2023 7:12 am Post subject: |
|
|
alamahant wrote: | Try
Code: |
chown vboxusers:vboxusers /dev/vbox*
|
What is the output of
Code: |
grep -r vbox /etc/udev/
|
|
it doesn't help, and after reboot it reverts back:
# ls -l /dev/vbox*
crw------- 1 root root 10, 123 Sep 8 10:00 /dev/vboxdrv
crw------- 1 root root 10, 122 Sep 8 10:00 /dev/vboxdrvu
crw------- 1 root root 10, 121 Sep 8 10:00 /dev/vboxnetctl
grep -r vbox /etc/udev/
returns nothing |
|
Back to top |
|
|
alamahant Advocate
Joined: 23 Mar 2019 Posts: 3916
|
Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2023 8:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
Try
Code: |
chmod 666 /dev/vbox*
|
There should have been udev rules created for these devices.I wonder why they weren't.
According to vbox ebuild
Quote: |
if use udev; then
local udevdir="$(get_udevdir)"
local udev_file="VBoxCreateUSBNode.sh"
local rules_file="10-virtualbox.rules"
insinto ${udevdir}
doins ${udev_file}
fowners root:vboxusers ${udevdir}/${udev_file}
fperms 0750 ${udevdir}/${udev_file}
insinto ${udevdir}/rules.d
sed "s@%UDEVDIR%@${udevdir}@" "${FILESDIR}"/${rules_file} \
> "${T}"/${rules_file} || die
doins "${T}"/${rules_file}
fi
|
Are you not using udev?
Is there any init script vbox-related in /etc/init.d
? _________________
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
leonchik1976 Guru
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 337
|
Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2023 9:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
alamahant wrote: | Try
Code: |
chmod 666 /dev/vbox*
|
There should have been udev rules created for these devices.I wonder why they weren't.
According to vbox ebuild
Quote: |
if use udev; then
local udevdir="$(get_udevdir)"
local udev_file="VBoxCreateUSBNode.sh"
local rules_file="10-virtualbox.rules"
insinto ${udevdir}
doins ${udev_file}
fowners root:vboxusers ${udevdir}/${udev_file}
fperms 0750 ${udevdir}/${udev_file}
insinto ${udevdir}/rules.d
sed "s@%UDEVDIR%@${udevdir}@" "${FILESDIR}"/${rules_file} \
> "${T}"/${rules_file} || die
doins "${T}"/${rules_file}
fi
|
Are you not using udev?
Is there any init script vbox-related in /etc/init.d
? |
# ls -l /etc/init.d/vbox*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 1137 Sep 8 10:18 /etc/init.d/vboxinit-5.2.1
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 646 Sep 8 09:36 /etc/init.d/vboxwebsrv
firstly - i changed permissions and ownership:
crw-rw-rw- 1 root vboxusers 10, 123 Sep 10 08:38 /dev/vboxdrv
crw-rw-rw- 1 root vboxusers 10, 122 Sep 10 08:38 /dev/vboxdrvu
crw-rw-rw- 1 root vboxusers 10, 121 Sep 10 08:38 /dev/vboxnetctl
then - i started VirtualBox - i don't see anymore permissions related errors.
After creating some dummy VM (without any configuration - just create VM, without changing anything) - i see this in log:
ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_INVALID_VM_STATE (0x80bb0002) aIID={300763af-5d6b-46e6-aa96-273eac15538a} aComponent={MachineWrap} aText={The machine is not mutable (state is PoweredOff)}, preserve=false aResultDetail=0
ERROR [COM]: aRC=VBOX_E_OBJECT_NOT_FOUND (0x80bb0001) aIID={5bfd8965-b81b-469f-8649-f717ce97a5d5} aComponent={NvramStoreWrap} aText={The UEFI NVRAM file is not existing for this machine.}, preserve=false aResultDetail=0
The moment i started this VM - the whole host freezes, and i had to hard reset it. After reboot - all permissions reverted back, and no logs were added to VBoxSVC.log |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leonchik1976 Guru
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 337
|
Posted: Sun Sep 10, 2023 9:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
VirtualBox built with USE=udev
# emerge app-emulation/virtualbox -pvq
[ebuild R ] app-emulation/virtualbox-7.0.10-r1 USE="alsa dbus doc dtrace gui java lvm nls opengl pam pulseaudio python sdk sdl udev vboxwebsrv vde vnc -debug (-pch)" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_11 -python3_10" |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Orvas n00b
Joined: 03 Oct 2011 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2024 6:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello leonchik1976,
have you found a solution for this problem? I have this problem, too, but don't know the reason for it. For many years VirtualBox worked without any problem.
Thanks and best regards,
Manfred |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leonchik1976 Guru
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 337
|
Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2024 6:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Orvas wrote: | Hello leonchik1976,
have you found a solution for this problem? I have this problem, too, but don't know the reason for it. For many years VirtualBox worked without any problem.
Thanks and best regards,
Manfred |
nope, same issue on several machines |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22616
|
Posted: Sun Jul 14, 2024 7:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does the kernel panic to cause this freeze? Is there anything written to the kernel's console? Beware that a sufficiently hard freeze may kill syslog before it can write to a file, so you need to read the data off the console. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leonchik1976 Guru
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 337
|
Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 3:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | Does the kernel panic to cause this freeze? Is there anything written to the kernel's console? Beware that a sufficiently hard freeze may kill syslog before it can write to a file, so you need to read the data off the console. |
the moment you start VM (any VM - just create any VM - even without changing it's parameter) - the system freezes completely.
same issue on 3 different intel machines |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sublogic Apprentice
Joined: 21 Mar 2022 Posts: 269 Location: Pennsylvania, USA
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 1:08 am Post subject: |
|
|
Can you start a VM from the VT1 text console ? (CTL-ALT-F1)
If it's a kernel panic it should vomit a dying message on the console. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leonchik1976 Guru
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 337
|
Posted: Mon Jul 22, 2024 5:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
sublogic wrote: | Can you start a VM from the VT1 text console ? (CTL-ALT-F1)
If it's a kernel panic it should vomit a dying message on the console. |
it prints Waiting for VM to power on .... and everything freezes |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Orvas n00b
Joined: 03 Oct 2011 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Fri Aug 09, 2024 11:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
When starting a virtual machine, the PC freezes immediately. I've started "dmesg -w" in a terminal and took a picture with the smartphone and extracted the text with Google Lens. These five lines are the last I saw after starting the VM:
Code: | [289.283991] SUPROGipMap: fGetGipCpu=0x1b
[290.947884] vboxdrv: 00000000905680cb VMMRO.ro
[291.069773] vboxdrv: 00000000631ce46e VBoxDDR0.ro
[291.117369] VBoxNetFlt: attached to 'enp0s31f6' / 9c:5c:8e:71:94:be
[291.160945] device enp0s31f6 entered promiscuous mode |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
sdz n00b
Joined: 26 Sep 2011 Posts: 38
|
Posted: Sat Aug 10, 2024 5:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
leonchik1976 wrote: | sublogic wrote: | Can you start a VM from the VT1 text console ? (CTL-ALT-F1)
If it's a kernel panic it should vomit a dying message on the console. |
it prints Waiting for VM to power on .... and everything freezes |
Try moving your VM to another internal drive. I encountered a similar issue, running a VirtualBox Win 11 VM on my Gentoo host PC. Win 11 runs fine, but Gentoo processes hang. I have to hold the power button to turn off my PC. My solution was moving the VirtualBox VM folder from my root partition (containing /home) to a second internal drive.
Note: This solution did not fix the same issue running a VMware Workstation Win 11 VM.
Details: [WORKAROUND] VirtualBox and VMware Workstation Both Hang PC |
|
Back to top |
|
|
leonchik1976 Guru
Joined: 24 Jan 2010 Posts: 337
|
Posted: Mon Aug 12, 2024 5:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
have same issue on 3 different machines |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Princess Nell l33t
Joined: 15 Apr 2005 Posts: 925
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Orvas n00b
Joined: 03 Oct 2011 Posts: 14
|
Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 1:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
in the meantime I have found the reason for this problem in my case. I have used an old Nvidia GeForce GTX 970 graphics card with the proprietary Nvidia driver for several years, without having any problems! But in the meantime Nvidia has stopped the support for this card and I was not able to switch to an up-to-date kernel version. Because I wanted to switch from X to Wayland to use a different scaling factor for my two monitors, I have tried the Nouveau open source driver, but with this my PC crashed so heavily that even the hardware reset button was not able to restart the system (reproducible, I have absolutely no idea how this is possible!). At this point I have removed the graphics card and switched to the onboard graphics of my Intel Skylake CPU, and until today I didn't have a single crash. And of course, VirtualBox is running again as if nothing had ever happened.
tl;dr: Without my old Nvidia graphics card my system with VirtualBox is absolutely stable again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|