View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Torpus Apprentice


Joined: 20 Aug 2023 Posts: 184
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 12:37 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] Could not mount specified ROOT! (No such device) |
|
|
When GRUB just started working fine I'm encountering another error for the first time:
Code: | mount: mounting /dev/nvme0n1p4 on /newroot failed: No such device
!! Could not mount specified ROOT!
!! Block device /dev/nvme0n1p4 is not a valid root device ...
!! Could not find the root block device in /dev/nvme0n1p4.
!! Please specify another value or:
!! - press Enter for the same
!! - type "shell" for a shell
!! - type "q" to skip ...
root block device(/dev/nvme0n1p4) :: |
I've no idea what's happening... am I having something missing again?
I'll post anything needed  _________________ Illegitimi non carborundum.
Last edited by Torpus on Fri Sep 22, 2023 6:56 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
eccerr0r Watchman

Joined: 01 Jul 2004 Posts: 10006 Location: almost Mile High in the USA
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 2:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So now you're using an initramfs, were you using such before?
Apparently it can no longer find your nvme device, are you using the same kernel as before? _________________ Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pietinger Moderator

Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5612 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 3:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
This is a message from your initramfs (means: grub has successfully started your kernel; your kernel has started your intramfs) and says it is unable to mount /dev/nvme0n1p4 (which would be your correct root partition). From your other thread I can see you have XFS on it:
Code: | 4 8858MB 512GB 503GB xfs rootfs |
So, the next question is: How you have generated your initramfs ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55168 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 3:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Torpus,
Go into the shell. Code: | !! - type "shell" for a shell | atd check that /dev/nvme0n1 and its partitions exist.
If not we need to discover why not. That's a kernel or initrd thing.
If that's ok. make a directory at say
Now try Code: | mount -o ro /dev/nvme0n1p4 /test | that should fail.
The error message will be useful.
The last few lines of dmesg may be useful too.
Wild guess. Run. In the xfs filesystem driver listed?
Can you modprobe it?
Does the mount work now?
All these changes are in RAM only. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Torpus Apprentice


Joined: 20 Aug 2023 Posts: 184
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 4:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon,
These outputs should answer everything:
Code: | root block device(/dev/nvme0n1p4) :: shell
** To leave and try again just press <Ctrl>+D
Generating "/run/initramfs/gksosreport.txt" ...
>> You might want to save "/run/initramfs/gksosreport.txt" to a USB stick or /boot
>> after mounting them and attach it to a bug report.
>> Welcome to Genkernel 4.3.6 (2023-09-14 14:43:24 UTC) rescue shell!
>> ...running Linux kernel 6.5.2-gentoo
rescueshell ~ # ls /dev/nvme0n1*
/dev/nvme0n1 /dev/nvme0n1p1 /dev/nvme0n1p2 /dev/nvme0n1p3 /dev/nvme0n1p4
rescueshell ~ # mkdir /test
rescueshell ~ # mount -o ro /dev/nvme0n1p4 /test
mount: mounting /dev/nvme0n1p4 on /test failed: Invalid argument
rescueshell ~ # lsmod
Module Size Used by |
Here you see no disks displayed by lsmod. Some parameter seems to be missing maybe.
And as you can see pietinger I made the initramfs using Genkernel (but the kernel itself is made by me )
EDIT: after attempting to mount the root partition to /test this line was added to dmesg (I ignored the numbers in the brackets because who cares):
Code: | udevd (813) used greatest stack depth: 13416 bytes left |
_________________ Illegitimi non carborundum. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
grknight Retired Dev

Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 2112
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 4:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Torpus wrote: | Code: | root block device(/dev/nvme0n1p4) :: shell
** To leave and try again just press <Ctrl>+D
Generating "/run/initramfs/gksosreport.txt" ...
>> You might want to save "/run/initramfs/gksosreport.txt" to a USB stick or /boot
>> after mounting them and attach it to a bug report.
>> Welcome to Genkernel 4.3.6 (2023-09-14 14:43:24 UTC) rescue shell!
>> ...running Linux kernel 6.5.2-gentoo
rescueshell ~ # ls /dev/nvme0n1*
/dev/nvme0n1 /dev/nvme0n1p1 /dev/nvme0n1p2 /dev/nvme0n1p3 /dev/nvme0n1p4
rescueshell ~ # mkdir /test
rescueshell ~ # mount -o ro /dev/nvme0n1p4 /test
mount: mounting /dev/nvme0n1p4 on /test failed: Invalid argument
rescueshell ~ # lsmod
Module Size Used by |
|
This means that your system is so fast, the kernel is in a race condition to discover the devices.
If you add rootdelay=2 to the end of the kernel command-line (like in grub or other loader), then the script should pause 2 seconds before looking for the device. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
pietinger Moderator

Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5612 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 5:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
grknight wrote: | Torpus wrote: | Code: |
rescueshell ~ # mount -o ro /dev/nvme0n1p4 /test
mount: mounting /dev/nvme0n1p4 on /test failed: Invalid argument
... |
|
This means that your system is so fast, the kernel is in a race condition to discover the devices.
If you add rootdelay=2 to the end of the kernel command-line (like in grub or other loader), then the script should pause 2 seconds before looking for the device. |
For me it looks like this mount was also not possible ... maybe Torpus forgot to enable XFS filesystem in the kernel ? (NVME itself is looking good)
@Torpus: If you need more help, we would need your kernel .config. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Torpus Apprentice


Joined: 20 Aug 2023 Posts: 184
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 5:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pietinger,
Yes you're right I missed XFS support in my kernel config
Just wait a sec and I'll see if that works. _________________ Illegitimi non carborundum. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55168 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 5:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It looks like the real mount command is missing from the initrd and the busybox mount command is in use.
That may well not accept options, or only a restricted subset. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Torpus Apprentice


Joined: 20 Aug 2023 Posts: 184
|
Posted: Fri Sep 22, 2023 6:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon,
Don't worry about it. It was all nothing more than a kernel configuration error. Everything works fine now!  _________________ Illegitimi non carborundum. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|