View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
benmo
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 12:39 pm    Post subject: SDDM launches to black screen with virtualbox Reply with quote

I am new to Gentoo and trying it first in a virtual machine via virtualbox. I followed the handbook with the OpenRC desktop profile for AMD64. I installed the plasma-meta package but when I attempt to launch my plasma x11 session, the breeze cursor loads but I get stuck with a black screen. I have confirmed that Xorg server works both by the fact that sddm loads and from running twm with xterm and having an interface.

I tried directly running startplasma-x11 and got the message:
$DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to the X server.

Happy to provide logs, etc. if anyone has a suggestion of which to provide. Thank you in advance for any suggestions.
eeckwrk99
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Sep 28, 2023 2:14 pm    Post subject: Re: SDDM launches to black screen with virtualbox Reply with quote

benmo wrote:
I am new to Gentoo and trying it first in a virtual machine via virtualbox. I followed the handbook with the OpenRC desktop profile for AMD64. I installed the plasma-meta package but when I attempt to launch my plasma x11 session, the breeze cursor loads but I get stuck with a black screen. I have confirmed that Xorg server works both by the fact that sddm loads and from running twm with xterm and having an interface.

I tried directly running startplasma-x11 and got the message:
$DISPLAY is not set or cannot connect to the X server.

Happy to provide logs, etc. if anyone has a suggestion of which to provide. Thank you in advance for any suggestions.

I had this issue too when I did my very first Gentoo installation on VirtualBox a few years ago.

https://bugs.gentoo.org/704392#c4 fixed the issue on my end.
benmo
n00b
n00b