View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
hlx n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2023 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2023 11:15 am Post subject: Stuck in hibernate performance |
|
|
I recently bought a new AMD Ryzen system and wondering why the performance of hibernating the system with kernel based swsusp is still poor.
The setup is classic with an 1:1-ratio of ram to swap, the latter is a dedicated device on an NVMe storage. As far as I know, hibernation works like that:
1. Make a kind of freeze and snapshot the memory
2. Compress the stuff from 1.
3. Write the stuff from 2. to disk
What I guess is that stage 2. is way behind its potential. Maybe the compression stage is done only with 1/8 of available cores or worse, with only 1/16 of available threads. Stage 3. is performing sufficiently and needs only a few seconds as indicated by the blinking storage led of the computer case.
Question: Is there anything I can do to debug my guess? I read the gentoo and arch linux docs very carefully plus https://www.kernel.org/doc/html/next/power/basic-pm-debugging.html , but I don't think the docs cover my issue. And is there anything I missed at kernel configuration all the year? The related setting are as follows:
Code: | #
# Automatically generated file; DO NOT EDIT.
# Linux/x86 6.1.67-gentoo Kernel Configuration
#
# Power management and ACPI options
#
CONFIG_ARCH_HIBERNATION_HEADER=y
CONFIG_SUSPEND=y
CONFIG_SUSPEND_FREEZER=y
CONFIG_HIBERNATE_CALLBACKS=y
CONFIG_HIBERNATION=y
CONFIG_HIBERNATION_SNAPSHOT_DEV=y
CONFIG_PM_STD_PARTITION="/dev/nvme0n1p1"
CONFIG_PM_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_PM_SLEEP_SMP=y
# CONFIG_PM_AUTOSLEEP is not set
# CONFIG_PM_USERSPACE_AUTOSLEEP is not set
# CONFIG_PM_WAKELOCKS is not set
CONFIG_PM=y
CONFIG_PM_DEBUG=y
# CONFIG_PM_ADVANCED_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_PM_TEST_SUSPEND is not set
CONFIG_PM_SLEEP_DEBUG=y
# CONFIG_PM_TRACE_RTC is not set
CONFIG_PM_CLK=y
CONFIG_PM_GENERIC_DOMAINS=y
# CONFIG_WQ_POWER_EFFICIENT_DEFAULT is not set
CONFIG_PM_GENERIC_DOMAINS_SLEEP=y
# CONFIG_ENERGY_MODEL is not set
CONFIG_ARCH_SUPPORTS_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI=y
CONFIG_ACPI_LEGACY_TABLES_LOOKUP=y
CONFIG_ARCH_MIGHT_HAVE_ACPI_PDC=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SYSTEM_POWER_STATES_SUPPORT=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUGGER is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_SPCR_TABLE is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_FPDT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_LPIT=y
CONFIG_ACPI_SLEEP=y
CONFIG_ACPI_REV_OVERRIDE_POSSIBLE=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_EC_DEBUGFS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_AC is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_BATTERY=m
CONFIG_ACPI_BUTTON=y
CONFIG_ACPI_VIDEO=y
CONFIG_ACPI_FAN=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_TAD is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_DOCK is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_CPU_FREQ_PSS=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR_CSTATE=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR_IDLE=y
CONFIG_ACPI_CPPC_LIB=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR=y
CONFIG_ACPI_HOTPLUG_CPU=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_PROCESSOR_AGGREGATOR is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_THERMAL=y
CONFIG_ACPI_PLATFORM_PROFILE=m
CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_ACPI_TABLE_UPGRADE=y
CONFIG_ACPI_TABLE_UPGRADE=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_DEBUG is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_PCI_SLOT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_CONTAINER=y
CONFIG_ACPI_HOTPLUG_IOAPIC=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_SBS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_HED is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CUSTOM_METHOD is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_BGRT is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_NFIT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_NUMA=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_HMAT is not set
CONFIG_HAVE_ACPI_APEI=y
CONFIG_HAVE_ACPI_APEI_NMI=y
# CONFIG_ACPI_APEI is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_DPTF is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_CONFIGFS is not set
# CONFIG_ACPI_PFRUT is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_PCC=y
# CONFIG_PMIC_OPREGION is not set
CONFIG_ACPI_PRMT=y
CONFIG_X86_PM_TIMER=y
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
sublogic Apprentice
Joined: 21 Mar 2022 Posts: 270 Location: Pennsylvania, USA
|
Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2023 10:56 pm Post subject: Re: Stuck in hibernate performance |
|
|
hlx wrote: | 1. Make a kind of freeze and snapshot the memory
2. Compress the stuff from 1.
3. Write the stuff from 2. to disk |
I'm not sure it compresses. Still, freezing tasks, powering off devices and preparing the memory image takes some work.
You can try: Code: | # echo 0 > /sys/power/image_size | to force a smaller image. Write/read time is not an issue for you, but maybe it also takes less time to prepare a smaller image ? I don't know.
It would be a tradeoff. Quoting from the bottom of Documentation/power/swsusp.rst: Quote: | Q:
I upgraded the kernel from 2.6.15 to 2.6.16. Both kernels were
compiled with the similar configuration files. Anyway I found that
suspend to disk (and resume) is much slower on 2.6.16 compared to
2.6.15. Any idea for why that might happen or how can I speed it up?
A:
This is because the size of the suspend image is now greater than
for 2.6.15 (by saving more data we can get more responsive system
after resume).
There's the /sys/power/image_size knob that controls the size of the
image. If you set it to 0 (eg. by echo 0 > /sys/power/image_size as
root), the 2.6.15 behavior should be restored. If it is still too
slow, take a look at suspend.sf.net -- userland suspend is faster and
supports LZF compression to speed it up further. |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22695
|
Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2023 11:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In-kernel hibernation will compress unless instructed not to, via hibernate=nocompress on the kernel command line. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hlx n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2023 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Sat Dec 30, 2023 8:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | In-kernel hibernation will compress unless instructed not to, via hibernate=nocompress on the kernel command line. |
Interesting hint! I switched off the compression, but the only noteable effect was the faster resume time.
So, what's happening before wirting the RAM content to disk? Maybe checksum'ing the stuff? And is it thread-safe? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22695
|
Posted: Sat Dec 30, 2023 2:34 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I seem to recall that when last I looked, it was inherently thread-safe because it used only one thread. I have no answers to your other questions. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Goverp Advocate
Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2179
|
Posted: Sun Dec 31, 2023 12:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As an aside, I'd consider increasing swap allocation to at least twice real memory size - unless you have constrained hardware, it's unlikely to be a significant loss of disk space. It needs space both for whatever the kernel has decided should be paged (and all sorts of things might kick that off, such as trying to compile qtwebengine and something else at the same time), and for the hibernate image. It's even possible that trying to fit the contents of ram into the available swap space is making it take longer than it might. _________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hlx n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2023 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2024 9:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Goverp wrote: | As an aside, I'd consider increasing swap allocation to at least twice real memory size - unless you have constrained hardware, it's unlikely to be a significant loss of disk space. It needs space both for whatever the kernel has decided should be paged (and all sorts of things might kick that off, such as trying to compile qtwebengine and something else at the same time), and for the hibernate image. It's even possible that trying to fit the contents of ram into the available swap space is making it take longer than it might. |
Thanks for the advice! I tried to understand the entire procedure bei reading https://www.kernel.org/doc/Documentation/power/interface.txt. My setup doesn't lack of both RAM and Swap space. When I buy a new system it should last at least a decade or more, so RAM is currently 64 GB what is the half of possible amount limited by motherboard.
Even if I double the image size limit to 4/5 of available RAM that should hopefully lower the "optimization" before things are written to disk, it still needs a too much time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2446
|
Posted: Tue Jan 02, 2024 11:44 am Post subject: |
|
|
hlx wrote: | Hu wrote: | In-kernel hibernation will compress unless instructed not to, via hibernate=nocompress on the kernel command line. |
Interesting hint! I switched off the compression, but the only noteable effect was the faster resume time.
So, what's happening before wirting the RAM content to disk? |
Freezing processes. Does the system exhibit similr behavior on shutdown? Do you have some fancy services or optimizations made? Eye candy like plymouth et.c.?
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hlx n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2023 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2024 8:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
logrusx wrote: | hlx wrote: | Hu wrote: | In-kernel hibernation will compress unless instructed not to, via hibernate=nocompress on the kernel command line. |
Interesting hint! I switched off the compression, but the only noteable effect was the faster resume time.
So, what's happening before wirting the RAM content to disk? |
Freezing processes. Does the system exhibit similr behavior on shutdown? Do you have some fancy services or optimizations made? Eye candy like plymouth et.c.?
Best Regards,
Georgi |
No eye candies. Regular shutdown is fast.
Code: | Jan 04 00:09:19 zen3-57kg-39k systemd-sleep[30219]: Entering sleep state 'hibernate'...
Jan 04 09:11:34 zen3-57kg-39k kernel: Filesystems sync: 0.349 seconds
Jan 04 09:11:34 zen3-57kg-39k kernel: Freezing user space processes
Jan 04 09:11:34 zen3-57kg-39k kernel: Freezing user space processes completed (elapsed 0.099 seconds)
Jan 04 09:11:34 zen3-57kg-39k kernel: OOM killer disabled.
Jan 04 09:11:34 zen3-57kg-39k kernel: PM: hibernation: Preallocating image memory
Jan 04 09:11:34 zen3-57kg-39k kernel: PM: hibernation: Allocated 4049373 pages for snapshot
Jan 04 09:11:34 zen3-57kg-39k kernel: PM: hibernation: Allocated 16197492 kbytes in 0.60 seconds (26995.82 MB/s)
Jan 04 09:11:34 zen3-57kg-39k kernel: Freezing remaining freezable tasks
Jan 04 09:11:34 zen3-57kg-39k kernel: Freezing remaining freezable tasks completed (elapsed 0.000 seconds)
|
Is it really freezing, that slows down things? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22695
|
Posted: Thu Jan 04, 2024 3:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Your output says freezing took just under 0.1 seconds, so no, I don't think freezing is a problem here.
What happens if you shutdown, then boot clean, start as little as possible (no browsers, preferably no GUI at all), log in as root on the console, and hibernate from there? Is that fast or slow? It should have very little memory to save, so I would expect that to be fast. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hlx n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2023 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Sat Jan 06, 2024 6:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | What happens if you shutdown, then boot clean, start as little as possible (no browsers, preferably no GUI at all), log in as root on the console, and hibernate from there? Is that fast or slow? It should have very little memory to save, so I would expect that to be fast. |
Some "specs",
console login as root:
systemctl halt: < 7 sec
systemctl hibernate: ~ 18 sec, thereof IO activity ~ 7 sec (as indicated by board's LED)
Full plasma session with Firefox, Thunderbird, LibreOffice, Signal-Desktop:
systemctl halt: < 10 sec
systemctl hibernate: ~ 55 sec, thereof IO activity ~ 9 sec (as indicated by board's LED)
Last edited by hlx on Sun Jan 07, 2024 6:19 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2446
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2024 6:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
Took ~20 seconds to hibernate with firefox, 2 instances of IntelliJ and a few small apps like evince, gnome-terminal et.c. Ryzen 7 5800H with 32Gb RAM, 64Gb swap and NVME SSD here. What's your hardware? Ryzen is too broad as hardware description.
p.s. the swap space is twice the RAM as I initially intended to upgrade the RAM to 64G, but it turned out to be unnecessary.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hlx n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2023 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2024 6:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
logrusx wrote: | Took ~20 seconds to hibernate with firefox, 2 instances of IntelliJ and a few small apps like evince, gnome-terminal et.c. Ryzen 7 5800H with 32Gb RAM, 64Gb swap and NVME SSD here. What's your hardware? Ryzen is too broad as hardware description. |
It's an AMD Ryzen 7 5700G. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2446
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2024 6:33 am Post subject: |
|
|
hlx wrote: | logrusx wrote: | Took ~20 seconds to hibernate with firefox, 2 instances of IntelliJ and a few small apps like evince, gnome-terminal et.c. Ryzen 7 5800H with 32Gb RAM, 64Gb swap and NVME SSD here. What's your hardware? Ryzen is too broad as hardware description. |
It's an AMD Ryzen 7 5700G. |
Are you serious? Please share RAM size and storage type.
p.s. You seem to be caught up in your belief it's the CPU that's causing it. Drop that idea, the problem is not there.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hlx n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2023 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2024 12:35 pm Post subject: |
|
|
logrusx wrote: | hlx wrote: | logrusx wrote: | Took ~20 seconds to hibernate with firefox, 2 instances of IntelliJ and a few small apps like evince, gnome-terminal et.c. Ryzen 7 5800H with 32Gb RAM, 64Gb swap and NVME SSD here. What's your hardware? Ryzen is too broad as hardware description. |
It's an AMD Ryzen 7 5700G. |
Are you serious? Please share RAM size and storage type.
p.s. You seem to be caught up in your belief it's the CPU that's causing it. Drop that idea, the problem is not there.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
As already mentioned, Swap is on NVME, recently extended to twice of available RAM size of 64 GB, following your suggestion. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2446
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2024 1:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hlx wrote: | logrusx wrote: | hlx wrote: | logrusx wrote: | Took ~20 seconds to hibernate with firefox, 2 instances of IntelliJ and a few small apps like evince, gnome-terminal et.c. Ryzen 7 5800H with 32Gb RAM, 64Gb swap and NVME SSD here. What's your hardware? Ryzen is too broad as hardware description. |
It's an AMD Ryzen 7 5700G. |
Are you serious? Please share RAM size and storage type.
p.s. You seem to be caught up in your belief it's the CPU that's causing it. Drop that idea, the problem is not there.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
As already mentioned, Swap is on NVME, recently extended to twice of available RAM size of 64 GB, following your suggestion. |
That wasn't a suggestion. That was stating just stating the facts about my measurement. Your responses are kind of implicit. I should imply what you mean. So your ram is 64GB, your swap is 128 GB?
Do you use any proprietary binary drivers like graphic or wifi/ethernet driver?
Is this a laptop or a desktop computer? If the latter, what is the motherboard?
Also it could be useful to share the output of free command prior to a hibernate.
BTW initially I intended to use hibernate but it turned out to be slower than shut down/start up and most of the time I'm suspending my laptop. For me hibernation was a thing back when I had a computer with 64 MB of RAM...
EDIT: with the above I'm suggesting that hibernate might not be good solution after all, you may as well reconsider the reasons you settled on it.
EDIT2: I don't see any significant difference of your kernel config in the shared area to mine. One puzzling thing is why mine, without debug enabled, print absolutely the same amount of information as yours. Are you sure you're running the kernel compiled with that particular configuration?
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
hlx n00b
Joined: 29 Dec 2023 Posts: 8
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2024 2:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
logrusx wrote: |
That wasn't a suggestion. That was stating just stating the facts about my measurement. Your responses are kind of implicit. I should imply what you mean. So your ram is 64GB, your swap is 128 GB?
Do you use any proprietary binary drivers like graphic or wifi/ethernet driver?
Is this a laptop or a desktop computer? If the latter, what is the motherboard?
Also it could be useful to share the output of free command prior to a hibernate.
BTW initially I intended to use hibernate but it turned out to be slower than shut down/start up and most of the time I'm suspending my laptop. For me hibernation was a thing back when I had a computer with 64 MB of RAM...
EDIT: with the above I'm suggesting that hibernate might not be good solution after all, you may as well reconsider the reasons you settled on it.
EDIT2: I don't see any significant difference of your kernel config in the shared area to mine. One puzzling thing is why mine, without debug enabled, print absolutely the same amount of information as yours. Are you sure you're running the kernel compiled with that particular configuration?
Best Regards,
Georgi |
Sorry for my slow and incomplete information.
Board is a Desktop Asus PRIME B550-PLUS
Code: | zen3-57kg-39k ~ # free -h
total used free shared buff/cache available
Mem: 62Gi 8.5Gi 49Gi 259Mi 4.7Gi 53Gi
Swap: 127Gi 0B 127Gi
|
Code: | 00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne Root Complex
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Renoir/Cezanne Root Complex
Kernel driver in use: ryzen_smu
Kernel modules: ryzen_smu
00:00.2 IOMMU: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne IOMMU
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Renoir/Cezanne IOMMU
00:01.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir PCIe Dummy Host Bridge
00:01.1 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir PCIe GPP Bridge
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Renoir PCIe GPP Bridge
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:02.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir PCIe Dummy Host Bridge
DeviceName: Onboard IGD
00:02.1 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:02.2 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Renoir/Cezanne PCIe GPP Bridge
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:08.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir PCIe Dummy Host Bridge
00:08.1 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir Internal PCIe GPP Bridge to Bus
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Renoir Internal PCIe GPP Bridge to Bus
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:14.0 SMBus: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH SMBus Controller (rev 51)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. FCH SMBus Controller
00:14.3 ISA bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] FCH LPC Bridge (rev 51)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. FCH LPC Bridge
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 0
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 1
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 2
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 3
Kernel driver in use: k10temp
Kernel modules: k10temp
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 4
00:18.5 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 5
00:18.6 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 6
00:18.7 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Cezanne Data Fabric; Function 7
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Lexa PRO [Radeon 540/540X/550/550X / RX 540X/550/550X] (rev c7)
Subsystem: Sapphire Technology Limited Lexa PRO [Radeon RX 550]
Kernel driver in use: amdgpu
Kernel modules: amdgpu
01:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Baffin HDMI/DP Audio [Radeon RX 550 640SP / RX 560/560X]
Subsystem: Sapphire Technology Limited Baffin HDMI/DP Audio [Radeon RX 550 640SP / RX 560/560X]
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
02:00.0 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] 500 Series Chipset USB 3.1 XHCI Controller
Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1042A USB 3.0 Host Controller
Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
Kernel modules: xhci_pci
02:00.1 SATA controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] 500 Series Chipset SATA Controller
Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. ASM1062 Serial ATA Controller
Kernel driver in use: ahci
02:00.2 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] 500 Series Chipset Switch Upstream Port
Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. 500 Series Chipset Switch Upstream Port
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
03:00.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 43ea
Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 3308
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
03:02.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 43ea
Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 3308
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
03:03.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 43ea
Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 3308
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
03:08.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 43ea
Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 3308
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
03:09.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Device 43ea
Subsystem: ASMedia Technology Inc. Device 3308
Kernel driver in use: pcieport
05:00.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation Wireless 8260 (rev 3a)
Subsystem: Intel Corporation Dual Band Wireless-AC 8260
Kernel driver in use: iwlwifi
Kernel modules: iwlwifi
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 15)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. PRIME B450M-A Motherboard
Kernel driver in use: r8169
Kernel modules: r8169
09:00.0 Non-Volatile memory controller: Kingston Technology Company, Inc. KC3000/Renegade NVMe SSD (rev 01)
Subsystem: Kingston Technology Company, Inc. KC3000/FURY Renegade NVMe SSD E18
Kernel driver in use: nvme
0a:00.0 Non-Essential Instrumentation [1300]: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Zeppelin/Raven/Raven2 PCIe Dummy Function (rev c8)
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Zeppelin/Raven/Raven2 PCIe Dummy Function
0a:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Renoir Radeon High Definition Audio Controller
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Renoir Radeon High Definition Audio Controller
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel
0a:00.2 Encryption controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 17h (Models 10h-1fh) Platform Security Processor
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Family 17h (Models 10h-1fh) Platform Security Processor
0a:00.3 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne USB 3.1
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Renoir/Cezanne USB 3.1
Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
Kernel modules: xhci_pci
0a:00.4 USB controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Renoir/Cezanne USB 3.1
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Renoir/Cezanne USB 3.1
Kernel driver in use: xhci_hcd
Kernel modules: xhci_pci
0a:00.6 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD] Family 17h/19h HD Audio Controller
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Family 17h/19h HD Audio Controller
Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel |
I'd be happy to archieve your hibernate time of 20 seconds. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2446
|
Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2024 5:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I don't see anything out of the ordinary. My mem usage was nearly 6Gb, yours is a bit over 8, I don't think this is a significant difference. One thing that puzzles me is your kernel with debug enabled does not give more information than mine.
Do you use something like disk or memory encryption? Although the increased IO in this case should not be the issue as you report the led indicates disk IO for only a few seconds.
I'm out of ideas. I hoped there would be a lead in the information I requested, but I don't see one. Maybe share your kernel config for someone more kernel savvy to check.
EDIT: actually the syslogs may contain more information like getting stuck on a service or something.
EDIT2: actually now that I measured it with a stopwatch, it's 35 seconds to hibernate and ~25 seconds to wake up. After all this might not be an issue at all.
Code: | total used free shared buff/cache available
Mem: 27Gi 6.1Gi 17Gi 118Mi 3.5Gi 20Gi
Swap: 63Gi 1.4Gi 62Gi
|
I don't know why swap is used, maybe because of the hibernation.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|