System doesn't boot after update [SOLVED]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
VectorPrimeSM
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2024 9:06 pm    Post subject: System doesn't boot after update [SOLVED] Reply with quote

Hi!

I'm new to Gentoo, so there're a good amount of things I still don't understand.
I've done a system update, and now my system won't boot. It doesn't even go to the GRUB screen. When I start my PC it shows the UEFI logo, then the screen flickers, the keyboard backlighting shuts off and it promts me to the UEFI utility.

I've done emerge --depclean after the update and the only thing that was removed was the kernel, so it is entirely possible that I've somehow nuked the kernel itself. Though it deleted it every time I did an update priviously.

I neither know what the problem is or how to fix it. Frankly, I don't even know how to get to the disk now to start fixing the problem.

This has never happened to me previously, so I'm not really sure what to do form here, so I'd be glad, if anyone could help me with this situation.

This is a cry for help.

Also, English isn't my native language, so I'm really sorry if my words sound off.

UPDATE:

My system finally works. I've figured out the boot partition problem. By doing 'mount -a' and then mounting /dev/sda1 at /efi.
After that I was successfully able to install the kernel, which was picked up by grub, but only on my second try.

The way I did it doens't seem right, so I won't recommend anyone to do it this way, but my system now boots and works as it used to.

To recap, the problem was that system update nuked both my grub and my kernel, so reinstalling both did the trick.

Last edited by VectorPrimeSM on Mon Jan 15, 2024 10:13 pm; edited 1 time in total
Naib
Watchman
Watchman

PostPosted: Sat Jan 13, 2024 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote