Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub + DAC960 Questions and Solutions...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Raccroc
n00b
n00b


Joined: 08 Sep 2002
Posts: 46
Location: Austin

PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 10:13 am    Post subject: Grub + DAC960 Questions and Solutions... Reply with quote

After going through this with two systems, a couple reinstalls, and many searches of these forums I thought I'd share what I found when using a DAC960 Raid controller under Gentoo (and please note that at least one of the suggestions I ended up using to great success came from forum entries regarding other RAID controllers)...

First, manually off the floppy made duing the install instruction is an absolute life saver.
Code:
 
  grub>  (hd0,0)
  grub>  kernel=/boot/[kernel file] root=/dev/rd/disc0/disc
  grub>  boot


Now, the real trick was getting the server to actually boot w/o the floppy. Couple things I found. First, the Grub version had to be at least 0.91 (I've only tried 0.90, which doesn't work and 0.92, which does).
Code:

emerge sys-apps/grub/grub-0.92.ebuild


Second, I had to add at least one additional line to the grub setup instructions...
Code:

$ grub
grub>   root (hd0,0)
grub>   device (hd0) /dev/rd/disc0/disc
grub>   setup --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 (hd0)
grub>   quit


Works great now, with the exception of the graphical splash interface. For some reason I still cannot get grub to boot w/graphics.

Any suggestions?
Code:

# cat /boot/grub/grub.conf
default 0
timeout 30
splashimage=(hd0,0)/boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz

title=Linux 2.4.19-r10
root (hd0,0)
kernel /boot/2.4.19-r10 root=/dev/rd/disc0/part4


File is there and in the correct path :?

Thanks,

- Raccroc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alextxm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2003 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the hint with setup --stage2 ! it works at last!!
Oh, btw: i've tried it with the grub-0.93.20030118 ebuild and it works also with the splashimage enabled ... try it :)

bye,
Alessandro

PS for moderators: what about moving this thread to Tips ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
MarioCorleone
Guru
Guru


Joined: 29 Jun 2003
Posts: 336

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 6:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wgere did u find the patch for your kernel for the dac960?
_________________
-Mario
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
alextxm
n00b
n00b


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 26

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2003 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i didn't use any external patch. I simply enabled the DAC960 support in the gentoo-sources kernel (you can the option in the Block Devices menu (using make menuconfig).
and oh, I compiled the DAC960 support as static and not as module.

HTH,
alessandro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jnicol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 73
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Tue Jul 29, 2003 2:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Raccroc,

Your instructions worked like a charm. I've never used RAID before, and my install went flawlessly.


I've got a dual PII 400, 512MB RAM, Mylex DAC960P, and 5x18 GB SCSI drives! (all for $150, thank you .com going-out-of-business sale!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
insdout
n00b
n00b


Joined: 02 Jan 2003
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 8:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, could you tell me what you did exactly to get your dac working ? I enabled the module in the kernel, but it halts while detecting the dac

kernel linux-2.4.20-gentoo-r5

the live cd 1.4 final boots my dac just fine, but I can't get the kernel working nicely

thanx.

alextxm wrote:
i didn't use any external patch. I simply enabled the DAC960 support in the gentoo-sources kernel (you can the option in the Block Devices menu (using make menuconfig).
and oh, I compiled the DAC960 support as static and not as module.

HTH,
alessandro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jnicol
n00b
n00b


Joined: 29 Jan 2003
Posts: 73
Location: Seattle, WA

PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2003 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I didn't do anything special. I compiled the DAC960 support into the kernel, rather than as a module. You don't have a dual processors do you? More specs on your system might help. What version of the DAC960 do you have? lspci might help here.

Also, make sure everything is right in the RAID BIOS. i.e. make sure the system drive is set and online.


insdout wrote:
Hi, could you tell me what you did exactly to get your dac working ? I enabled the module in the kernel, but it halts while detecting the dac

kernel linux-2.4.20-gentoo-r5

the live cd 1.4 final boots my dac just fine, but I can't get the kernel working nicely

thanx.

alextxm wrote:
i didn't use any external patch. I simply enabled the DAC960 support in the gentoo-sources kernel (you can the option in the Block Devices menu (using make menuconfig).
and oh, I compiled the DAC960 support as static and not as module.

HTH,
alessandro
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
markus876
n00b
n00b


Joined: 05 Nov 2002
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2003 3:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

For the next person trying to use this card, there is (IMO) a much easier way to get Grub running.

The reason you can't just go ahead and use the "device" command in grub when you are chroot'd from the install CD is because you don't have the /dev dir as the _actual_ system, which *would* have the /dev/rd/disc0 devices.

Thus, remember how you mounted /proc with the "-o loop" flag? let's do it again:

from a NON chrooted-console:
Code:

cd /mnt/gentoo
mv dev dev2
mkdir dev2
mount -o bind /dev /mnt/gentoo/dev


now, FROM a chrooted-console:
Code:

grub
< do all the commands listed in the first post (device, etc.) >
quit


and back to the NON chrooted console:
Code:

umount /mnt/gentoo/dev
rm -r /mnt/gentoo/dev
mv /mnt/gentoo/dev2 /mnt/gentoo/dev


This solution requires no rebooting with a floppy, or what not. Enjoy! :)[/code]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum