View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
CooSee Veteran
Joined: 20 Nov 2004 Posts: 1507 Location: Earth
|
Posted: Mon Aug 09, 2021 3:38 pm Post subject: solved! genkernel force CONFIG_MICROCODE=AMD as well |
|
|
why genkernel is force setting 'CONFIG_MICROCODE_AMD' to 'y'
i use an Intel system.
thx
edit: my apologies - i just found the option and set to 'intel' in /etc/genkernel.conf _________________ " Die Realität ist eine Illusion, die durch Mangel an ehrlicher Kommunikation entsteht "
---
" Der Mensch ist von Natur aus neugierig, was am Ende übrig bleibt ist die Gier " |
|
Back to top |
|
|
thumper Guru
Joined: 06 Dec 2002 Posts: 554 Location: Venice FL
|
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2022 11:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you for the hint,I had the opposite problem as of today.
Code: | ERROR: Something went wrong: Required kernel option 'CONFIG_MICROCODE_INTEL' which genkernel tried to set is missing! |
I'm using amd, setting:
solved my problem.
Thanks. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mark4 n00b
Joined: 26 Feb 2011 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2023 2:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
this problem has not been resolved. adding --microcode=intel does not fix the issue and disabling microcode is not an option.
is there a patch incoming for genkernel? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sMueggli Guru
Joined: 03 Sep 2022 Posts: 534
|
Posted: Thu Nov 09, 2023 2:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mark4 wrote: | this problem has not been resolved. adding --microcode=intel does not fix the issue and disabling microcode is not an option.
is there a patch incoming for genkernel? |
And what is "this problem"? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5353 Location: Bavaria
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
mark4 n00b
Joined: 26 Feb 2011 Posts: 58
|
Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2023 8:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Already saw both of those and still do not see any fixes for this. I have not been able to compile my kernel for a while now, is there a fix for genkernel incoming? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23062
|
Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2023 9:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The bug report contains multiple proposed patches. If you need to build before a fixed genkernel is released, you could build a kernel that does not confuse genkernel, or you could build your kernel without relying on genkernel. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5353 Location: Bavaria
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Atha Apprentice
Joined: 22 Sep 2004 Posts: 243
|
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2023 3:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In my experience having to fix changes in .config settings is normal. I do a "make listnewconfig" with every kernel update, and there are always some new/changed settings/names.
Looking though the code of genkernel it seems obvious that there have been a few necessary checks for specific kernel versions in the past where such changes already happened. IMHO it is natural to follow the kernel development in this regard. Reading through what Linus Tovalds wrote I think that's what he said as well:
Quote: | It looks like dracut has been doing this forever, and in fact back in
2015 apparently had the exact same issue (that never made it to kernel
developers, or at least not to me), when the kernel
CONFIG_MICROCODE_xyz_EARLY config went away, and became just
CONFIG_MICROCODE_xyz.
The whole "check kernel config" in dracut seems to go back to 2014, so
it's been that way for almost a decade by now.
Honestly, I think the right approach may be to just remove the check
again from dracut entirely - the intent seems to be to make the initrd
smaller when people don't support microcode updates, but does that
ever actually *happen*? |
So it would be natural to include a check if the kernel is below 6.6 for the old options, and otherwise rely solely on the "new" now only CONFIG_MICROCODE.
That's the first issue. The second issue is that the genkernel package is lacking a maintainer, as noted by Sam James on the kernel bug tracker. _________________ Think for yourself and let others enjoy the privilege of doing so too. – Voltaire |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wuseman n00b
Joined: 21 Apr 2021 Posts: 5
|
Posted: Mon Dec 04, 2023 6:25 pm Post subject: Re: Solved! Genkernel Forcing CONFIG_MICROCODE=AMD on Intel |
|
|
Hello CooSee and everyone,
I came across this thread while installing Gentoo and facing a similar issue with genkernel on my Intel system. I noticed the discussion about genkernel apparently forcing the use of AMD microcode (CONFIG_MICROCODE_AMD), even on Intel systems.
Like many, I tried setting in /etc/genkernel.conf, but this didn't resolve the issue for me. Instead, I discovered a different workaround that might be helpful:
Code: | genkernel all --microcode=none |
Using the option completely bypassed the microcode configuration issue, allowing my kernel to compile correctly on my Intel system. This approach seems to be a better temporary solution than leaving the configuration commented out or running with AMD microcode, which isn't ideal for Intel systems.
While this doesn't solve the underlying problem with Intel microcode configuration in genkernel, it at least prevents the tool from defaulting to AMD microcode settings. Hopefully, this workaround can be useful for anyone encountering similar issues, as a temporary fix until a more permanent solution is developed.
I forgot to mention to comment out microcode will neither work, none seems to be required.
Best regards,
wuseman |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Atha Apprentice
Joined: 22 Sep 2004 Posts: 243
|
Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2024 7:48 am Post subject: Re: Solved! Genkernel Forcing CONFIG_MICROCODE=AMD on Intel |
|
|
wuseman wrote: | I came across this thread while installing Gentoo and facing a similar issue with genkernel on my Intel system. I noticed the discussion about genkernel apparently forcing the use of AMD microcode (CONFIG_MICROCODE_AMD), even on Intel systems. |
Hello wuseman!
I think that's not the case. AMD microcode will not be included for a kernel that is only for Intel systems. As a matter of fact I have it the other way around: on my AMD system I use a tailored kernel configuration for that very system, so it doesn't even include support for Intel processors, even though it is an x86-64 kernel. Thus Intel microcode is not included by genkernel with my kernel .config.
Code: | -> Processor type and features
-> Supported processor vendors (PROCESSOR_SELECT [=y])
-> Support Intel processors (CPU_SUP_INTEL [=n])
-> Support AMD processors (CPU_SUP_AMD [=y])
-> Support Hygon processors (CPU_SUP_HYGON [=n])
-> Support Centaur processors (CPU_SUP_CENTAUR [=n])
-> Support Zhaoxin processors (CPU_SUP_ZHAOXIN [=n]) |
You probably have at least CPU_SUP_INTEL and CPU_SUP_AMD enabled, or PROCESSOR_SELECT disabled (which defaults to supporting all x86 vendors). Such a kernel could be booted on any x86 system, including AMD x64 processors. It is therefore imperative to also include the microcode, since it's a security thing and all that... _________________ Think for yourself and let others enjoy the privilege of doing so too. – Voltaire |
|
Back to top |
|
|
mimosinnet l33t
Joined: 10 Aug 2006 Posts: 717 Location: Barcelona, Spain
|
Posted: Fri Feb 16, 2024 12:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In case someone arrives at this tread to find the answer, this issue is fixed in sys-kernel/genkernel-sys-kernel/genkernel-4.3.10.
Cheers! _________________ Please add [solved] to the initial post's subject line if you feel your problem is resolved.
Take care of the community answering unanswered posts. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|