View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
zedxot n00b
Joined: 26 Jul 2022 Posts: 58 Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
|
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:07 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] OpenRC halting boot right after * Starting local |
|
|
Hello Elders,
I think I should explain how I reach to that point.
- I was away from my system for about a week. After returning I tried a system upgrade. It failed because of Blocked Package. Turned out something was pulling systemd in.
- I never used systemd in this installation of Gentoo, or any installation of Gentoo on my machine. I ran some equery and depclean commands and figured that for some reason virtual/udev, virtual/libudev was pulling in systemd-utils, and sys-apps/dbus is directly pulling in systemd and causing the block. systemd USE flag was disabled for virtual/udev, and virtual/libudev. But enabled for sys-apps/dbus, even after I put sys-apps/dbus -systemd.
- There was several package outdated so I upgraded the system with --exclude sys-apps/dbus option, avoiding the Blocked package error.
- Did a reboot, voila, my openrc system is trying to boot with systemd ; with the following error
Code: | '/newroot/sbin/init' was not found, is not a file or is not executable, maybe a symlink | .
I found this forum topic, and add the following in my /etc/default/grub: Code: | GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="init=/sbin/openrc-init" |
After booting with livecd and chrooting and generating a new grub.cfg, Gentoo boot with openrc; only to halt the booting process after * Starting local ... [ ok]. Ctrl+Alt+f2 just give me a blank screen.
At this point I'm clueless what to try. I don't even know how systemd suddenly occur in my system, this installation is about a couple months old.
TIA, elders! _________________ Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity!
Last edited by zedxot on Tue Mar 19, 2024 6:21 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grknight Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 1899
|
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you use openrc-init, ensure that agetty.tty1 (as a symlink to agetty service) is in the default runlevel or there will be no prompt.
openrc-init will not start any terminals unless told to via agetty.* services. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54577 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
zedxot,
OpenRC is supposed to have systemd-utils.
It's bits and pieces of code from systemd that OpenRC users require the functionality of. It is not systemd. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zedxot n00b
Joined: 26 Jul 2022 Posts: 58 Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
|
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
grknight wrote: | If you use openrc-init, ensure that agetty.tty1 (as a symlink to agetty service) is in the default runlevel or there will be no prompt.
openrc-init will not start any terminals unless told to via agetty.* services. |
Thanks. After a whole day I was able to run startx. _________________ Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zedxot n00b
Joined: 26 Jul 2022 Posts: 58 Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
|
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 5:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | zedxot,
OpenRC is supposed to have systemd-utils.
It's bits and pieces of code from systemd that OpenRC users require the functionality of. It is not systemd. |
I see. But why would dbus pulled in systemd, the USE flag was always enabled. I didn't use systemd USE flag anywhere. _________________ Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54577 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 6:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
zedxot,
Post your please.
USE=systemd should only be set by a systemd profile. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zedxot n00b
Joined: 26 Jul 2022 Posts: 58 Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
|
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 6:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | zedxot,
Post your please.
USE=systemd should only be set by a systemd profile. |
Output: https://dpaste.com/69R8Y3A5N _________________ Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54577 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Tue Mar 19, 2024 10:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
zedxot,
There us no USE=systemd there. That's correct.
Does Code: | $ doas emerge --info
Unavailable repository 'steam-overlay' referenced by masters entry in '/var/db/repos/kzd/metadata/layout.conf' | matter? _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
zedxot n00b
Joined: 26 Jul 2022 Posts: 58 Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
|
Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2024 10:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
NeddySeagoon wrote: | zedxot,
There us no USE=systemd there. That's correct.
Does Code: | $ doas emerge --info
Unavailable repository 'steam-overlay' referenced by masters entry in '/var/db/repos/kzd/metadata/layout.conf' | matter? |
Correct. There is no USE=systemd anywhere in /etc/portage. Although there isn't any -systemd either.
I don't think so. I use a certain cli program from this repo to track my anime and mangas which sync with anilist.co. It's just that layout.conf has the following code in it:
Code: |
masters = gentoo steam-overlay
thin-manifests = true
sign-manifests = false
|
The emerge warning goes away if I remove steam-overlay from the masters. I just have to delete it everytime I sync the repo. _________________ Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
freke Veteran
Joined: 23 Jan 2003 Posts: 1026 Location: Somewhere in Denmark
|
Posted: Wed Mar 20, 2024 10:49 am Post subject: |
|
|
output of Code: | emerge -pv sys-apps/dbus | vs. Code: | USE="-systemd" emerge -pv sys-apps/dbus |
Code: | grep -iR systemd /etc/portage/ |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
zedxot n00b
Joined: 26 Jul 2022 Posts: 58 Location: Dhaka, Bangladesh
|
Posted: Sun Apr 28, 2024 3:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
freke wrote: | output of Code: | emerge -pv sys-apps/dbus | vs. Code: | USE="-systemd" emerge -pv sys-apps/dbus |
Code: | grep -iR systemd /etc/portage/ |
|
Hello, sorry for late response. I tried to reply earlier but for some reason I couldn't submit the reply. It just buffered for a long time.
I did have a USE=systemd in my /etc/portage, that was causing the issue.
Thanks everyone for the help. <3 _________________ Don't talk to me about old, I walk in eternity! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|