Tinderbox says Rust ebuild doesn't respect CFLAGS/LDFLAGS
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
prophetofxenu
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Apr 02, 2024 11:41 pm    Post subject: Tinderbox says Rust ebuild doesn't respect CFLAGS/LDFLAGS Reply with quote

I have a Rust ebuild I maintain in GURU, walksnail-osd-tool, which I pushed updates to earlier last week.
The next day I received emails about two bugs that had been opened by tinderbox regarding the packages:

Bug 928088 - [guru] media-video/walksnail-osd-tool-0.3.0 does not respect CFLAGS
Bug 928087 - [guru] media-video/walksnail-osd-tool-0.3.0 does not respect LDFLAGS

I'm not a Gentoo expert, a C expert, or a Rust expert, but I am not sure that this fully applies given this is a Rust package. Reading through some of the Rust documentation suggested this could
maybe apply in cases where rustc/cargo is building or linking against C dependencies. I also made a post to the Rust subreddit and the replies I received supported that finding.

My questions are:

• If there are C dependencies, I haven't found a way to tell cargo that the system CFLAGS should be used, or a way to use any specific CFLAGS at all for that matter. I also don't know if there are any
    C dependencies to begin with. There are 400+ crates used by this package and I can't manually inspect all of them. Is there a way to detect these crates, and if so, is it expected that CFLAGS get passed
    to their builds? I am wondering if the tinderbox build just raises this failure if any package fails its heuristic, regardless of what language is used.
  • For LDFLAGS, these can be specified with
    Code:
    RUSTFLAGS='-Clink-arg=arg1 -Clink-arg=arg2'
    . Obviously this isn't as convenient as something like
    Code:
    RUSTFLAGS="-Clink-args=$LDFLAGS"