Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] grub "chain loading" Arch not finding symbol
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chubbypiper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2018
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2024 3:00 am    Post subject: grub "chain loading" Arch not finding symbol Reply with quote

I'm sorry if this is not the correct place for this, but it came up as I was finishing an install, so I figured this is as good a place as any.

I just installed Gentoo on my desktop, with the intent of dual booting with the existing Arch install as I work to transition from Arch to Gentoo. When I installed grub, I put this in /etc/grub.d/40-custom:

Code:

#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

menuentry 'Arch Linux' --class gnu-linux --class gnu {
        search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root CF40-3821
        set prefix=($root)/grub
        configfile /grub/grub.cfg
}


When I boot and select the "Arch Linux" menu entry, it does load the config file correctly, but when I select an item, it says:

Code:

Loading Linux linux-lts ...
error: symbol `efi_wrap_4' not found.
Loading initial ramdisk ...
error: symbol `efi_wrap_4' not found.

Press any key to continue...


When I press any key, it takes me back to the grub menu

Doing some searching, it seems like the suggested fix is to reinstall grub. I'm assuming this ultimately is a version mis-match of grub. The Arch package that's currently installed is grub-2:2.12-1-x86_64, and I'm on 2.12-r4. So, does anyone know how I am going to match up the release versions, and/or if it's easier, to actually chain load the two grub installs?


Last edited by chubbypiper on Mon Apr 22, 2024 2:07 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sMueggli
Guru
Guru


Joined: 03 Sep 2022
Posts: 374

PostPosted: Sun Apr 21, 2024 12:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Why not chainloading the Arch Linux Grub?

You can put in your 40_custom:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
exec tail -n +3 $0
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.

menuentry "Arch Linux Chainload" {
    insmod part_gpt
    insmod fat
    insmod chain
    search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root CF40-3821
    chainloader /EFI/arch/grubx64.efi  # set the correct path to Arch Linux Grub binary from the ESP root
}
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chubbypiper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2018
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2024 1:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I had been trying to find information on how to do chain loading to another grub instance, but my google-fu was apparently lacking because I couldn't find information on it, just lots saying what I ended up doing (loading the GRUB config file). Thanks for the info. I'll give it a shot.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
chubbypiper
n00b
n00b


Joined: 27 Jun 2018
Posts: 31

PostPosted: Mon Apr 22, 2024 2:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All good now. Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum