View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Wed May 08, 2024 11:17 am Post subject: Openrc and plasma [solved] |
|
|
Hi everyone, I am actually close to finish my package manager. I can run a plasma environment with openrc now.
I am just still facing a problem with user management / rights. These are the problem I am facing:
-if I create a new user with useradd command, the user is not visible in the user list in systemsettings
-if I create a new user by the plasma systemsettings, the user will be visible, but if I change the sddm theme or the screen resolution, it's not saved (but basic configurations are saved ...)
I am running (under a virtualbox):
-Openrc 0.52.1
-Plasma Desktop 5.27.7
-Elogind 252.9.0
-Accountsservice 23.13.9
Can I have some help please to fix my issues. Because I really would like my distro running on Openrc
Let me know if you need extra information please. _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path
Last edited by Fulgurance on Sat Jun 08, 2024 10:49 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rfx Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 19 Apr 2023 Posts: 141 Location: de-by
|
Posted: Wed May 08, 2024 11:29 am Post subject: Re: Openrc and plasma |
|
|
Fulgurance wrote: | I am just still facing a problem with user management / rights. These are the problem I am facing:
-if I create a new user with useradd command, the user is not visible in the user list in systemsettings |
Hi !
what command did you write? Please name this to us |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Wed May 08, 2024 11:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
So basically it was :
Code: | useradd -m -G wheel,video ism |
I just saw something interesting, when I change the sddm skin, if I push the button apply plasma settings, an error occur:
Code: | The backend does not specify how to authorize |
_________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Wed May 08, 2024 7:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Let me know if you need more information please _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 3:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No one? I really need help please, because. It's the last issues I have on my distro. Let me know if you need any log, it's just I don't know what to provide to you to help _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Perfect Gentleman Veteran
Joined: 18 May 2014 Posts: 1255
|
Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 3:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Why do you need it at all ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5090 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 4:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Fulgurance,
maybe I dont understand your problems ... I try to help ...
Fulgurance wrote: | -if I create a new user with useradd command, the user is not visible in the user list in systemsettings |
Sometimes I takes a while ... I would do a native "useradd"
Fulgurance wrote: | Code: | useradd -m -G wheel,video ism |
|
I dont know what "ism" is ... I did in my (OpenRC) installation:
Code: | # useradd -m -g users -G wheel,audio,video,usb -s /bin/bash peter |
(You must know if you want your user in wheel ... see also: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:AMD64/Installation/Finalizing#Adding_a_user_for_daily_use )
Maybe if you describe more in detail what doesnt work we could help, sorry if this does not help. _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 4:49 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Why do you need it at all ? |
I want to provide plasma environment, so I need it work properly
Quote: | maybe I dont understand your problems ... I try to help ... |
So as I said (I will try to be more accurate): if I generate a new user by CLI in a terminal, with the useradd command, the new user is not visible in the plasma settings GUI.
But if I generate a new user by the plasma settings GUI, the new user is visible in that graphical user list.
Quote: | I dont know what "ism" is ... I did in my (OpenRC) installation: |
It's just a random user name I used to test the user management fonctionality, it's the name of my software.
Basically, if I login with the new account named ism, I can't see the other generated users, even generated by the ism administrator user. Do you understand ?[/code]
I will post a screenshot _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path
Last edited by Fulgurance on Thu May 09, 2024 4:55 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 4:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Look at this screenshot, I logged with the user called ism, but the user list is empty, I can't see the user itself...
https://zupimages.net/up/24/19/f7cp.png _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5090 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 5:01 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe a stupid question ... but what happens if you create a user with "useradd", then do a reboot, and then check what KDE have recognized now ? _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5090 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 5:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
P.S.: Sorry for asking for "ism" ... I have thought there is a comma between ... and not seen there is a blank ... (sometimes I am very blind or see more than there is) _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 5:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pietinger wrote: | Maybe a stupid question ... but what happens if you create a user with "useradd", then do a reboot, and then check what KDE have recognized now ? |
Same thing, I tried that yet yes
pietinger wrote: | P.S.: Sorry for asking for "ism" ... I have thought there is a comma between ... and not seen there is a blank ... (sometimes I am very blind or see more than there is) |
Ah okay, because I didn't understand why you was asking _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5090 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Thu May 09, 2024 5:22 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Fulgurance wrote: | Same thing, I tried that yet yes |
... hmm ... maybe we need a KDE expert ... sorry, I dont know why it doesnt see the user.
(I can see my own user "peter" when I start "systemsettings"; but I also logged in SDDM as my user) _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
amair n00b
Joined: 12 Aug 2003 Posts: 63
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 8:34 am Post subject: |
|
|
what UIDs are taken? Compare them. Maybe <1000 don't show? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 10:02 am Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah I know that as well, but no, I checked all new users ID are above 1000 _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fitzcarraldo Advocate
Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 2052 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 12:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I wonder if this is relevant: https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=336994 (Comments 16, 24 & 27 are Gentoo Linux users, so it also affected KDE Plasma in Gentoo Linux) _________________ Clevo W230SS: amd64, VIDEO_CARDS="intel modesetting nvidia".
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC systemd-utils[udev] elogind KDE on both.
My blog |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 1:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So yes, if I use the qdbus command to cache the user, it's finally visible !
So there is definitely a problem with the plasma user cache. I will check if there is a patch.
I have now another question. It's related when I try to change the sddm theme. If I try to apply to plasma settings, I have this error: "The backend does not specify how to authorize"
This is a screenshot to make you understand: https://www.zupimages.net/up/24/19/oc7s.png
By the way, if I change the resolution (as I said), the settings are not saved. _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rab0171610 Guru
Joined: 24 Dec 2022 Posts: 420
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 2:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am struggling to find the current KDE Plasma code that relates to caching users. At the time of that bug, it was a kcm module(user-manager) but there is reference to it being deleted and moved over to the plasma-desktop repo.
https://github.com/KDE/user-manager
Regardless, I have had to delete the ~/.cache from a virtual terminal while not logged in and reboot in the past to correct some issues with KDE Plasma or other applications. This should rebuild upon login.
I am assuming that the user cache for KDE Plasma is stored there. If that is the case, would be curious to know if removing or renaming ~/.cache or only the kde related files in that directory (i.e. kwin, ksplash, plasmashell, systemsettings, etc.) allows the cache to rebuild correctly after logging in. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 5:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So I tried by deleting the cache, but it change nothing
And the version I use of Plasma (5.27.7) don't user user-manager anymore _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fitzcarraldo Advocate
Joined: 30 Aug 2008 Posts: 2052 Location: United Kingdom
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 5:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Fulgurance wrote: | I have now another question. It's related when I try to change the sddm theme. If I try to apply to plasma settings, I have this error: "The backend does not specify how to authorize"
This is a screenshot to make you understand: https://www.zupimages.net/up/24/19/oc7s.png
By the way, if I change the resolution (as I said), the settings are not saved. |
Apparently there is a similar problem in KDE Plasma 6:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=486592#c6
Nate Graham wrote: | Ok, then it seems like KAuth is broken on your system. This might be a local configuration issue, or it might be a distro setup issue. |
luciros601084 wrote: | @Nate Graham Thanks for helping, issue was that kauth package had missing optional building dependencies.
Now it is resolved |
_________________ Clevo W230SS: amd64, VIDEO_CARDS="intel modesetting nvidia".
Compal NBLB2: ~amd64, xf86-video-ati. Dual boot Win 7 Pro 64-bit.
OpenRC systemd-utils[udev] elogind KDE on both.
My blog |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 6:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm I will have a look. I find something interesting when I run systemsettings from the CLI as well.
Look: https://zupimages.net/up/24/19/3f7z.png
Systemsettings complain it cannot find scaling DPU value and other similar errors _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 7:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think definitely you find the issue, because when I rebuild Kauth, I still get an error, but a different one. Something with Kauth is wrong
I rebuilt polkit-qt-1 kwindowsystem, polkit-kde-agent-1 and then sddm-kcm, and now everything work properly. It's very strange, why I had to rebuild again ?
The only bug persisting now is, the kde cache is not updated if I don't do it manually (to see all users) _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
rab0171610 Guru
Joined: 24 Dec 2022 Posts: 420
|
Posted: Fri May 10, 2024 8:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | when I rebuild Kauth, I still get an error, but a different one |
Are you saying when you install kde-frameworks/kauth, you get an error? If so, what is the error?
Is DBUS running ?
Code: | echo $DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS |
What profile are you using? I am assuming you are using the correct desktop profile?
If you are not sure, what is the output of:
Code: | eselect profile list | grep '*' |
The issue is not likely with your cache. That is just a symptom I think. The telling clue is when you run systemsettings from the command line it says "The backend does not specify how to authorize".
That error is directly from KAUTH source code, line 167 and line 191:
https://github.com/KDE/kauth/blob/master/src/executejob.cpp
In both instances there are comments about getting this error:
Code: | // There's something totally wrong here |
and
Code: | // This should never, never happen |
This is likely a configuration issue (polkit, dbus, polkit-qt, kauth, etc), a required service not loading at boot or login, or possibly missing dependencies. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Fulgurance Veteran
Joined: 15 Feb 2017 Posts: 1233
|
Posted: Sat May 11, 2024 2:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Are you saying when you install kde-frameworks/kauth, you get an error? If so, what is the error? |
No. Sorry I realised I explained bad. No I just said when I rebuild polkit-qt-1 kwindowsystem, polkit-kde-agent-1, and then sddm-kcm and kauth, now everything work properly.
Quote: | What profile are you using? I am assuming you are using the correct desktop profile? |
As I said at the beginning, I am doing my own distro and my own package manager, nothing with Gentoo tools.
So now the only last problem it persist is, when I create user by CLI, kde don't update the user cache. How can I fix that now ... _________________ My actual project: https://github.com/Fulgurance/ISM
Ingenius Software Manager is a tool to build and manage a Linux system from scratch.
It will able to manage a linux installation just with a given path to the futur root path |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|