View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
rattiraivo n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2024 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2024 5:12 pm Post subject: (solved) Boot stuck at "Loading initial ramdisk" |
|
|
Hey yall. Decided to hop back to gentoo, used to run it for about a year a couple years ago.
Now to the problem. Boot is currently stuck at "Loading initial ramdisk" Even though I have CONFIG_FB_VESA, CONFIG_FB_EFI and CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE enabled in the kernel. Now at first I didn't have those enabled at my first boot, so I'm not 100% sure if I'm even running the kernel which I just compiled with those things.
This is also my first time booting in UEFI, so I'm used to Legacy booting.
Any help would be appreciated.
Lspci just in case: https://pastebin.com/VS5BNp6X
---- Edit ----
I shouldn't have mounted anything in /boot right since I use uefi? Efi partition is mounted at /efi like it should be. Also updated the grub config after compiling and installing the kernel.
Last edited by rattiraivo on Sat Jun 08, 2024 8:19 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rab0171610 Guru
Joined: 24 Dec 2022 Posts: 423
|
Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2024 6:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
First line of my fstab:
Code: | UUID=10E7-A3B4 /boot/efi vfat defaults,noatime 0 2
|
The full path is /boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/*.EFI.
I use grub with + grub_platforms_efi-64.
Code: |
If the ESP is mounted at /boot/efi:
root #grub-install
Installation finished. No error reported.
If the ESP is mounted elsewhere, an --efi-directory option specifying its mountpoint's pathname must be used. So, if the ESP is mounted at /efi, like in the example from the Handbook:
root #grub-install --efi-directory=/efi
Installation finished. No error reported. |
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/GRUB#Installing_GRUB_for_EFI
I would read through the wiki and double check your setup. At minimum, just to make sure you completely understand how you set it up and why. Mine may be different than yours.
Stuck at loading Initial Ramdisk may be some other issue. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rattiraivo n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2024 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2024 6:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
My full path is /efi/EFI/gentoo/*.EFI just like in the wiki
My first two lines in fstab:
Code: | #EFI
PARTUUID=ff75aa71-f281-42c2-8ee4-33b4474727fa /efi vfat umask=0077 0 2
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
rab0171610 Guru
Joined: 24 Dec 2022 Posts: 423
|
Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2024 6:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1140839-start-0.html
It was awhile back but read what Neddy wrote there:
NeddySeagoon wrote: |
"Loading initial ramdisk" is the last message printed by grub before the kernel is executed.
The kernel should switch to a framebuffer console. It probably has but its chosen a broken one, so you don't see any console output.
The boot could proceed normally, even though you can't see it.
You should have exactly three framebuffer drivers on.
VESA, EFI and Simple. EFI is only useful if you EFI boot.
Remake your kernel with those three framebuffer drivers and turn off any others. |
Maybe that applies to you?
I am not real versed on the boot process but hopefully someone that is can help you troubleshoot it further if you don't track it down yourself. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rattiraivo n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2024 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2024 6:31 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Actually I stumbled onto that post too as I was trying to troubleshoot it And those are the ones I have built in indeed. Eselect kernel shows only one kernel and in my /boot I have config-6.6.30-gentoo and config-6.6.30-gentoo.old
Thanks for the help anyways. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rab0171610 Guru
Joined: 24 Dec 2022 Posts: 423
|
Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2024 6:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In the meantime you can use the binary kernel, gentoo-kernel-bin. That will give you a working kernel so you can continue to set up your system. Pastebin your kernel config and post link here so someone can look it over. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rattiraivo n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2024 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2024 7:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Conveniently enough I'm also having trouble with wgetpaste. Is there any other alternative I could use?
I'm getting:
Code: | Apparently nothing was received. Perhaps the connection failed.
--2024-06-06 21:59:35-- https://bpa.st/api/v1/paste
Resolving bpa.st... 2a01:4f9:5a:5159::2, 65.109.61.99
Connecting to bpa.st|2a01:4f9:5a:5159::2|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 400 Bad Request
2024-06-06 21:59:35 ERROR 400: Bad Request.
|
--- Edit ---
Also it seems that the computer is not entirely frozen after the last grub message since I can still turn on my capslock and the led is indeed on. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5109 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Thu Jun 06, 2024 10:40 pm Post subject: Re: Boot stuck at "Loading initial ramdisk" |
|
|
rattiraivo wrote: | Hey yall. Decided to hop back to gentoo, used to run it for about a year a couple years ago.
Now to the problem. Boot is currently stuck at "Loading initial ramdisk" Even though I have CONFIG_FB_VESA, CONFIG_FB_EFI and CONFIG_FB_SIMPLE enabled in the kernel. Now at first I didn't have those enabled at my first boot, so I'm not 100% sure if I'm even running the kernel which I just compiled with those things. |
This tells me you have configured your kernel yourself ... and you already know that you need some of these settings ... but do you really have all ?
Please check it with: https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger/Tutorials/Manual_Configuring_Kernel_Version_6.6#Part_3_-_Must_Haves
(beside FB_EFI you will need two other options enabled to not have this problem:
[*] Enable legacy fbdev support for your modesetting drive
[*] Framebuffer Console support) _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rattiraivo n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2024 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2024 9:10 am Post subject: |
|
|
Tried enabling those two and going through the whole section, the problem still persists. I wish I could use wgetpaste to send my .config over.
Edit ---
Nvm, I got it working! http://dpaste.com/6EVC8J4P3 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grknight Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 1921
|
Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2024 12:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You cannot have CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=y while CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE is empty. You'll never see anything.
Either set CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=m (preferred here for future proofing) or fill in CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE with the dozen or so file references which will periodically change with major kernel releases. See https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/AMDGPU for details.
Ensure to have installed the linux-firmware package as well. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5109 Location: Bavaria
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
rattiraivo n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2024 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2024 2:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I think I remember having this same problem on my other installation a few years back, it's all coming back to me. Will give those a read and report back, thanks.
Edit ----
So practically for example network and graphics drivers need to be built as modules because otherwise they can't load the firmware because the kernel doesn't have access to the root partition yet. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Zucca Moderator
Joined: 14 Jun 2007 Posts: 3701 Location: Rasi, Finland
|
Posted: Fri Jun 07, 2024 7:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
rattiraivo wrote: | graphics drivers need to be built as modules because otherwise they can't load the firmware because the kernel doesn't have access to the root partition yet. | Exactly. If you have the module built-in you'd need to include the correct firmware files in kernel too. _________________ ..: Zucca :..
My gentoo installs: | init=/sbin/openrc-init
-systemd -logind -elogind seatd |
Quote: | I am NaN! I am a man! |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
rattiraivo n00b
Joined: 06 Jun 2024 Posts: 35
|
Posted: Sat Jun 08, 2024 8:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
It indeed did work. Thanks for the help and the reminder! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|