View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
TJNII l33t
Joined: 09 Nov 2003 Posts: 648 Location: for(;;);
|
Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2024 4:00 pm Post subject: [Solved] uboot not in Portage? |
|
|
This caught me by surprise:
Code: |
# emerge uboot
Calculating dependencies... done!
Dependency resolution took 4.93 s (backtrack: 0/20).
emerge: there are no ebuilds to satisfy "uboot".
emerge: searching for similar names...
emerge: Maybe you meant any of these: app-emacs/uboat, sys-boot/tboot, app-misc/broot?
|
I don't see it on https://packages.gentoo.org/packages/search?q=uboot either.
uboot seems like a natural fit for the Gentoo build process as a quick skim of https://docs.u-boot.org/en/latest/build/gcc.html shows all the usual flags we know and love from /etc/portage/make.conf. I've just started reading about how how the boot sequence on the SBC I'm using works and it really doesn't seem that complicated, is there a reason uboot isn't in Portage? Seems like a large and obvious gap, and when I find a large and obvious gap it usually means there's something large I don't actually understand.
Last edited by TJNII on Thu Jun 20, 2024 2:29 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pingtoo Veteran
Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Posts: 1236 Location: Richmond Hill, Canada
|
Posted: Sat Jun 15, 2024 5:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
In my opinion, DAS U-boot is very hard to put in to Portage because it is very much customised for each platform/board.
There are too many variations to consider for building u-boot for a given condition, also the cross compiler tool chain some time need to be special for some boards so it is not a good candidate for Portage.
However there is dev-embedded/u-boot-tools ebuild that provide mkimage and friends from u-boot tool sub-directory. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
TJNII l33t
Joined: 09 Nov 2003 Posts: 648 Location: for(;;);
|
Posted: Sun Jun 16, 2024 2:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Aah, fair enough. Code: | make <board name>_defconfig | masks a lot of that complexity in the install instructions. Not in a bad way, the instructions worked for me as expected on a mainlined board. But I the first time I got into menuconfig and quickly backed out seeing all the low level options, not wanting to toggle something accidentally.
Guess that was the "don't know what I don't know" factor. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|