Go programs build take too long
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
nurali
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2024 1:49 am    Post subject: Go programs build take too long Reply with quote

Hello all:
Are there special make.conf variables for go programs?
Seems like -j12 in make.conf is not working for go-written programs in my computer
I just installed gentoo on my new home server(not finished yet, stucking on go), I did not see any output on console for a long time, and I checked htop, found only one logical CPU is 100%
Any solution?
kgdrenefort
Apprentice
Apprentice

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2024 6:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

If you really think you -j12 value isn't effective for that, seems weird but I'm not experienced enough to state if it's goofy, so let's try something else.

Pick up a program with this behaviour, runs emerge while using:

Code:
MAKEOPTS="-j1" emerge yourcommand

If it's taking way more time, indeed the j value for make is taken as it should.

Some programs, while compiled, don't use as much as other. Compiling GCC is way heavier than htop for example, it won't use as much ressources as GCC will ask for.

Hope it helps.

Regards,
GASPARD DE RENEFORT Kévin
Juippisi
Developer
Developer

PostPosted: Thu Jun 20, 2024 7:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Go programs are generally slow because you'll have to download all the go modules which does take time. I'm not sure if it helps, but try FEATURES="parallel-fetch". Then, all the modules must be compiled one-by-one (because they depend on each other) which is slow. Although compiling one module should utilize compiler parallelization, the whole process is still slow.

tail -f the build log to see what's happening. I'd imagine it's the download phase that takes time for you.