Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Found && Fixed the ALsa-Lib UCM error
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
assemblerhead
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2016
Posts: 29
Location: TX,US

PostPosted: Wed May 29, 2024 10:24 pm    Post subject: Found && Fixed the ALsa-Lib UCM error Reply with quote

Note to Moderator : feel free to move this post to where it belongs.

If you are getting this error on starting alsasound :
Code:

ALSA LIB /var/tmp/portage/media-libs/alsa-lib-1.2.11/work/alsa-lib-1.2.11/src/ucm/main.c:1554:(snd_use_case_mgr_open) error : failed to import hw:0 use case configuration -2

If you get this response form alsaucm : ( media-sound/alsa-utils )
Code:

$alsaucm listcards
list is empty

Translation == You are using a "Legacy" sound card. ALSA UCM && Topology don't work with it. PERIOD.
Your desktop will have strange, hard to trace lock-ups.

The fix : ( Short Version )
Setup a local overlay and copy the portage repo files from media-libs/alsa-lib into it.
add --disable-ucm & --disable-topology to the ebuild
Code:

   local myeconfargs=(
      --disable-maintainer-mode
      --disable-resmgr
      --enable-aload
      --enable-mixer
      --enable-rawmidi
      --enable-hwdep
      --enable-seq
      --enable-shared
      --enable-thread-safety
      --disable-ucm
      --disable-topology
      --enable-mixer-modules


After the build / Install : No more errors or strange lock-ups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kellerkalt
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Dec 2020
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2024 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the post. I'm experiencing this issue myself at the moment. Sorry to be so dense, but would you mind providing the long version of how to "Setup a local overlay and copy the portage repo files from media-libs/alsa-lib into it" please?


BTW I'm trying to use sound from my NVIDIA GeForce GT 1030

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1773

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2024 12:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If all that is necessary is a couple of configure arguments (and econf is used in the ebuild), then a less invasive option is to create /etc/portage/env/media-libs/alsa-libs file containing
Code:
EXTRA_ECONF="--disable-ucm --disable-topology"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainBlood
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 3692

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2024 12:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Interesting;
Here's
Code:
user@acer ~ $ alsaucm listcards
ALSA lib /var/tmp/portage/media-libs/alsa-lib-1.2.11/work/alsa-lib-1.2.11/src/ucm/main.c:1554:(snd_use_case_mgr_open) error: failed to import hw:1 use case configuration -2
  list is empty
Plz note " hw:1 " instead of original " hw:0 "

alsamixer F6 (select sound card) returns:
Code:
default:0 HDA Intel PCH
default:1 Loopback

Dunno if I should try to do something about it as audio output works fine on this desktop computer (no mic).

Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support.
_________________
USE="-* ..." in /etc/portage/make.conf here, i.e. a countermeasure to portage implicit braces, belt & diaper paradigm
LT: "I've been doing a passable imitation of the Fontana di Trevi, except my medium is mucus. Sooo much mucus. "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CaptainBlood
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 24 Jan 2010
Posts: 3692

PostPosted: Wed Jul 03, 2024 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CaptainBlood wrote:
Plz note " hw:1 " instead of original " hw:0 "

Since
Code:
aplay -l
...
card 1: Loopback [Loopback], device 0: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
card 1: Loopback [Loopback], device 1: Loopback PCM [Loopback PCM]
  Subdevices: 8/8
  Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
  Subdevice #1: subdevice #1
  Subdevice #2: subdevice #2
  Subdevice #3: subdevice #3
  Subdevice #4: subdevice #4
  Subdevice #5: subdevice #5
  Subdevice #6: subdevice #6
  Subdevice #7: subdevice #7
My guess it that "hw:1" refers to "Loopback"
If correct, nothing should be done here.

Thks 4 ur attention, interest & support.
_________________
USE="-* ..." in /etc/portage/make.conf here, i.e. a countermeasure to portage implicit braces, belt & diaper paradigm
LT: "I've been doing a passable imitation of the Fontana di Trevi, except my medium is mucus. Sooo much mucus. "
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum