Interrupted kernel install, not sure how to proceed
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
PoliteDiogenes
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2024 6:38 am    Post subject: Interrupted kernel install, not sure how to proceed Reply with quote

Hello there,

So I am pretty new to gentoo, and have been trying to install it on a laptop remotely through ssh, using my work computer. Everything went well, until I started installing the kernel. 3 hours passed by, and it seemed like it was stuck in a loop, so just out of curiosity, I disconnected and reconnected the ssh session. But when reconnecting, the installation process wasn't viewable anymore, I got an empty cli. I quickly checked the laptop on which the process actually ran: the cli there showed the last commands that I gave on the laptop itself (initiating ssh, configuring wifi, etc.). Now I was completely at a loss for what I should do, and I gave out a shutdown command. It took a few tries to get the laptop installation running again (at first I booted from the gentoo live cd from which I originally started the installation: there it wouldn't recognize any commands I could easily execute before; then I tried the cached option, and now everything's back up running), and now I don't know how I should proceed: most likely I should remove of the kernel that has actually installed, but I don't know how. Or can I just repeat the kernel installation command, and it will overwrite my previous attempt?

Also I can no longer find the my ssd's partitions that I just created.

Thank you for your help in advance!
Zucca

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2024 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you cannot find the partition you created... then can you run a smart extended test on your SSD? Sounds like it has some problems.

Oh and welcome to Gentoo. ;)
Quote:
I am NaN! I am a man!
NeddySeagoon
Administrator