Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
AppImage: fuse: failed to exec fusermount: Permission denied
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mrfabiolo
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 02 Jan 2011
Posts: 98

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2024 6:44 am    Post subject: AppImage: fuse: failed to exec fusermount: Permission denied Reply with quote

I'm trying to run the SimpleX app:
https://simplex.chat/downloads/#desktop-app

This is the AppImage:
https://github.com/simplex-chat/simplex-chat/releases/latest/download/simplex-desktop-x86_64.AppImage

Code:
$ chmod +x simplex-desktop-x86_64.AppImage

$ ./simplex-desktop-x86_64.AppImage
fuse: failed to exec fusermount: Permission denied

Cannot mount AppImage, please check your FUSE setup.
You might still be able to extract the contents of this AppImage
if you run it with the --appimage-extract option.
See https://github.com/AppImage/AppImageKit/wiki/FUSE
for more information
open dir error: No such file or directory


Code:
$ ls -l /usr/bin/fuse*
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root 43632 Apr 29 22:22 /usr/bin/fuser*
-rws--x--x 1 root root 39008 May  4 10:49 /usr/bin/fusermount*
-rws--x--x 1 root root 39008 Mar 19 02:24 /usr/bin/fusermount3*


Maybe it's not Gentoo related; thanks anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rab0171610
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2022
Posts: 423

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2024 8:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got the same error as you.

Per this:
https://github.com/AppImage/type2-runtime/issues/15#issuecomment-1762097639
and this:
https://github.com/simplex-chat/simplex-chat/issues/4402#issuecomment-2210771416
I tried:
Code:
FUSERMOUNT_PROG=/bin/fusermount  ./simplex-desktop-x86_64.AppImage

But I got the following errors:
Code:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: /tmp/.mount_simplenkiOlK/usr/lib/app/resources/libapp-lib.so: libffi.so.7: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
        at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.NativeLibraries.load(Native Method)
        at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.NativeLibraries$NativeLibraryImpl.open(Unknown Source)
        at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.NativeLibraries.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
        at java.base/jdk.internal.loader.NativeLibraries.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
        at java.base/java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
        at java.base/java.lang.Runtime.load0(Unknown Source)
        at java.base/java.lang.System.load(Unknown Source)
        at chat.simplex.desktop.MainKt.initHaskell(Main.kt:37)
        at chat.simplex.desktop.MainKt.main(Main.kt:21)
        at chat.simplex.desktop.MainKt.main(Main.kt)

Per the last link, I emerged libffi-compat.
I tried again:
Code:
FUSERMOUNT_PROG=/bin/fusermount  ./simplex-desktop-x86_64.AppImage
D: useDatabaseKey true
D: sendCmd: apiSetAppFilePaths
D: sendCmd response type cmdOk
D: sendCmd: apiSetEncryptLocalFiles
D: sendCmd response type cmdOk
D: sendCmd: showActiveUser
D: sendCmd response type chatCmdError
D: apiGetActiveUser: chatCmdError chat noActiveUser
D: sendCmd: listRemoteHosts
D: sendCmd response type remoteHostList
D: user: null
D: ChatController startReceiver
D: sendCmd: setLocalDeviceName
D: sendCmd response type cmdOk
D: startChat: started without user

It opened, but the SimpleX display window was garbled and not usable.
Good Luck.
Edit: It hit me when I tried it I was logged into a Wayland session. It opened and rendered fine in X .
In Wayland:
Code:
FUSERMOUNT_PROG=/bin/fusermount GDK_BACKEND=x11  ./simplex-desktop-x86_64.AppImage
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 22641

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2024 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

When FUSERMOUNT_PROG is not set, what path(s) does the application try to use to find fusermount?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
rab0171610
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Dec 2022
Posts: 423

PostPosted: Sat Jul 06, 2024 5:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

@Hu,
That I don't know. You would understand it better than I can by reading the posts in those two github issues links I posted -- there are some references to Gentoo as well as other distros. The version of the appimage the OP provided a link for is the one I tested and got at least to open. This issue may have been fixed in the newer versions on Github. Apparently it works fine on some distros and not others with regard to the fuser issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 391

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2024 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Enable fuse in kernel.

emerge --ask sys-fs/fuse:0

emerge -a net-print/cups
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 22641

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2024 1:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I skimmed the issues and did not see an answer. Someone who can try to run this could find the answer via strace.

RIA77: why cups?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 391

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2024 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I run appimages on a daily basis.
It just won't work without cups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheRealOne78
n00b
n00b


Joined: 19 Sep 2021
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2024 1:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RIA77 wrote:
It just won't work without cups.


I'm having the same issue, but on FreeCAD, and I already installed both fuse v2 and v3, and cups. FUSE is also enabled in the kernel.

Code:
❯ ./FreeCAD_weekly-builds-39153-conda-Linux-x86_64-py311.AppImage
fuse: failed to exec fusermount: Permission denied

Cannot mount AppImage, please check your FUSE setup.
You might still be able to extract the contents of this AppImage
if you run it with the --appimage-extract option.
See https://github.com/AppImage/AppImageKit/wiki/FUSE
for more information
open dir error: No such file or directory


I tried to circumvent this issue by updating my system, chmod-ed /usr/bin/fusermount as u+s, and more.

The only thing that worked for me was to execute FreeCAD like this:
Code:
FUSERMOUNT_PROG=/usr/bin/fusermount ./FreeCAD_weekly-builds-39153-conda-Linux-x86_64-py311.AppImage


Also, extracting the appimage and then running AppRun also won't work:

Code:
❯ ./FreeCAD_weekly-builds-39153-conda-Linux-x86_64-py311.AppImage --appimage-extract
❯ ./squashfs-root/AppRun
FreeCAD 1.1.0, Libs: 1.1.0devR39153 (Git)
(C) 2001-2024 FreeCAD contributors
FreeCAD is free and open-source software licensed under the terms of LGPL2+ license.

(qt.glx) qglx_findConfig: Failed to finding matching FBConfig for QSurfaceFormat(version 2.0, options QFlags<QSurfaceFormat::FormatOption>(), depthBufferSize -1, redBufferSize 1, greenBufferSize 1, blueBufferSize 1, alphaBufferSize -1, stencilBufferSize -1, samples -1, swapBehavior QSurfaceFormat::SingleBuffer, swapInterval 1, colorSpace QSurfaceFormat::DefaultColorSpace, profile  QSurfaceFormat::NoProfile)
(qt.glx) qglx_findConfig: Failed to finding matching FBConfig for QSurfaceFormat(version 2.0, options QFlags<QSurfaceFormat::FormatOption>(), depthBufferSize -1, redBufferSize 1, greenBufferSize 1, blueBufferSize 1, alphaBufferSize -1, stencilBufferSize -1, samples -1, swapBehavior QSurfaceFormat::SingleBuffer, swapInterval 1, colorSpace QSurfaceFormat::DefaultColorSpace, profile  QSurfaceFormat::NoProfile)
Could not initialize GLX
./squashfs-root/AppRun: line 31:  3125 Aborted                 "${MAIN}" "$@"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 22641

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2024 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

TheRealOne78 wrote:
I'm having the same issue, but on FreeCAD, and I already installed both fuse v2 and v3, and cups. FUSE is also enabled in the kernel.

Code:
❯ ./FreeCAD_weekly-builds-39153-conda-Linux-x86_64-py311.AppImage
fuse: failed to exec fusermount: Permission denied
At the point where this failed, what is the output of namei -l /usr/bin/fusermount? Did you confirm that it is trying to exec /usr/bin/fusermount, rather than a program at some other path?
TheRealOne78 wrote:
I tried to circumvent this issue by updating my system, chmod-ed /usr/bin/fusermount as u+s, and more.
Adding setuid to a system program is almost certainly the wrong solution. You should undo that.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Goverp
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 07 Mar 2007
Posts: 2179

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2024 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
...Adding setuid to a system program is almost certainly the wrong solution. You should undo that.

On my unmodified system:
Code:
paul@ryzen ~ $  ls -l /usr/bin/fusermount
-rws--x--x 1 root root 29888 Apr 27  2024 /usr/bin/fusermount

so it appears fusermount should be setguid root.
_________________
Greybeard
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 22641

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2024 4:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is fair, but if it was suid root already, why did TheRealOne78 report changing it to u+s? Per your output, it already is u+s, so there would not have been a change. I see your point that it ought to be installed as suid root by the package manager, and if it was, it ought to be left that way. However, if for some reason it is not suid root (and fuse:3 may not be, though that would be /usr/bin/fusermount3, so I think we are discussing fuse:2 here), then the user should not add it, and should undo any local permission changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sam_
Developer
Developer


Joined: 14 Aug 2020
Posts: 1959

PostPosted: Sun Nov 10, 2024 5:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I suspect this may be bug 938164.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Unsupported Software All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum