LLVM-18.1.8-r1 fails to build
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ejb
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 25, 2024 12:41 am    Post subject: LLVM-18.1.8-r1 fails to build Reply with quote

Hi, I am new to Gentoo and have been stuck on this for over a day of critical time (I have assignments and resit exams) for what should have been 1 day max to install. I am trying to install X11 but llvm is failing to build every time.
Please help me as I need to write an assignment with LaTeX and my old install (of NixOS) got corrupted so I decided to switch to Gentoo (a foolish move in hindsight due to how unreliable it has been so far).

I really can't afford this sort of catastrophic setback. I'll just have to hope my professor will accept an MSWord document made on someone else's computer otherwise (not good for mathematical equations!)

Not sure how to diagnose the issue, any guidance would be appreciated.

EDIT: just tried again, and got a useful error (I hope):
Code:
ninja: build stopped: subcommand failed.
 * ERROR: sys-devel/llvm-18.1.8-r1::gentoo failed (compile phase):
 *   ninja -v -j16 -l14 distribution failed
 * Call stack:
 *     ebuild.sh, line  136:  Called src_compile
 *   environment, line 3895:  Called multilib-minimal_src_compile
 *   environment, line 2703:  Called multilib_foreach_abi 'multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile'
 *   environment, line 2970:  Called multibuild_foreach_variant '_multilib_multibuild_wrapper' 'multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile'
 *   environment, line 2663:  Called _multibuild_run '_multilib_multibuild_wrapper' 'multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile'
 *   environment, line 2661:  Called _multilib_multibuild_wrapper 'multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile'
 *   environment, line  580:  Called multilib-minimal_abi_src_compile
 *   environment, line 2697:  Called multilib_src_compile