Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Thoughts on SElinux?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  

Should I try switching profiles to SElinux?
Yes, more secure
27%
 27%  [ 3 ]
No, too much of a hassle
72%
 72%  [ 8 ]
Total Votes : 11

bulletbill22
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2024 6:54 pm    Post subject: Thoughts on SElinux? Reply with quote

I have been considering switching my profile to SElinux for additional security on one of my servers. I've never tried to use it before because I have only heard bad things, but especially that it has impossibly opaque logs / error messages / debugging tools. The only people who promote it don't usually offer really compelling reasons to use it beyond a general "its more secure", but if its that much of a hassle to configure then besides being less secure (after I disable it) its also going to be a hassle to debug (after it kills and buries ssh or something). But maybe its gotten easier to use in the last 2-3 years?

From what I understand, the additional security features will be mildly useful for my case. I've also heard that it actually increases attack surface considering its origins.

Is it worth trying to switch to SElinux?
Leonardo.b
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2024 8:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I believ SELinux was intentionally created overcomplicated, in order to promote support business.
pietinger

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2024 9:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am using AppArmor for my desktop ... for a server machine I would definitely recommend selinux.
pjp
Administrator
Administrator

PostPosted: Thu Jul 11, 2024 10:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's easier on a new "server" (no GUI) than on an existing server, and probably most difficult on an existing desktop that you want to continue to use while trying to enable selinux.