View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page 1, 2  Next  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pipeng
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2024 1:20 am    Post subject: [Solved] Basic virtual network with VMs to get internet Reply with quote

Hi all!, I'm new in all this about network, as a linux user I knows some basics, but I lack a of knowledge, actually the idea rn is not about where to learn, but a way for a basic user to be able to get working some basic network for VMs.

To fully understand how will works the solutions... we can get to know a lot of things, I have done some research, the main point is, we can create several VMs, but they are usually on NAT, so we can't access them from the host, the point is be able to create a network, connect the VMs and be able to access to them.

Reading, seems the best option is use a bridge (which seems to be very similar to a virtual switch), most of docs describe how to perform this, but there is a tricky part, the docs uses ehternet interface to do it to works, so there is some problems

If we don't have a ethernet connection we will can't route the devices, so no ip will be assigned to any place.
Does not works for Wifi.
We need to use a physical device, which is far from ideal.

Rn in my limitated experience, seems the point is create a bridge, create a virtual device, give internet to it, put the bridge as master to give internet to the bridge, and then use that network on the VMs.

How I'm trying to do it without ethernet (a dummy interface just does not does the trick on the bridge), is hard to test the actal info, there is some good videos and docs like https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6435eNKpyYw&t=1234s

So here the points, is bridge the best solution? (best not easier), How can we create this network?