Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
SOLVED!:Can not emerge qutebrowser
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Aarush
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2024
Posts: 3
Location: Delhi, India

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2024 3:27 pm    Post subject: SOLVED!:Can not emerge qutebrowser Reply with quote

Solved by changing -march=ivybridge to -march=native in make.conf

When I emerge qutebrowser browser its dependency dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1 does not not emerge it gives:
"* Messages for package dev-qt/qtwebengine-6.7.1:
2
3 * Amount of main memory is insufficient, but amount
4 * of main memory combined with swap is sufficient.
5 * Build process may make computer very slow!
6
7 * Messages for package dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1:
8
9 * ERROR: dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1::gentoo failed (compile phase):
10 * ninja -v -j1 -l1 failed
11 *
12 * Call stack:
13 * ebuild.sh, line 136: Called src_compile
14 * environment, line 2228: Called cmake_src_compile
15 * environment, line 934: Called cmake_build
16 * environment, line 901: Called eninja
17 * environment, line 1376: Called die
18 * The specific snippet of code:
19 * "$@" || die -n "${*} failed"
20 *
21 * If you need support, post the output of `emerge --info '=dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1::gentoo'`,
22 * the complete build log and the output of `emerge -pqv '=dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1::gentoo'`.
23 * The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1/temp/build.log'.
24 * The ebuild environment file is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1/temp/environment'.
25 * Working directory: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1/work/qtbase-everywhere-src-6.7.1_build'
26 * S: '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1/work/qtbase-everywhere-src-6.7.1'
"
Please Help.
Here are the comple logs https://pastebin.com/aGaDJQEc
_________________
~Aarush!


Last edited by Aarush on Thu Jul 18, 2024 10:05 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2659
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2024 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is that really all that is logged?

Also there are some inconsistencies like first you mention dev-qt/qtbase, but then there's "Messages for package dev-qt/qtwebengine" and then it's dev-qt/qtbase again. :]

Does ninja work at all there? Try something like 'ninja --version' perhaps.
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 22292

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2024 6:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Aarush: welcome to the forums.

My guess is that qtwebengine was built successfully, and generated those messages as its build started. When Portage finished all builds it could run, it (re)printed queued messages from earlier successful packages, then showed the failure that stopped it.

If you need more specific help, please follow the instructions that Portage showed when it failed, which you quoted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2659
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Mon Jul 15, 2024 8:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
My guess is that qtwebengine was built successfully, and generated those messages as its build started. When Portage finished all builds it could run, it (re)printed queued messages from earlier successful packages, then showed the failure that stopped it.

D'oh, yeah, that's what is going on there...

Sleepy head here hehe.
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aarush
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2024
Posts: 3
Location: Delhi, India

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
Is that really all that is logged?

Also there are some inconsistencies like first you mention dev-qt/qtbase, but then there's "Messages for package dev-qt/qtwebengine" and then it's dev-qt/qtbase again. :]

Does ninja work at all there? Try something like 'ninja --version' perhaps.


'ninja --version' works and gives 1.11.1
dev-qt/qtbase, that is is a dependency of dev-qt/qtwenengiene that is a dependency of www-client/qutebrowser
I had thought it was an issue due to low ram so I reduced -j6 to -j1 but still nothing happens.
_________________
~Aarush!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Aarush
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Feb 2024
Posts: 3
Location: Delhi, India

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 2:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hu wrote:
Aarush: welcome to the forums.

My guess is that qtwebengine was built successfully, and generated those messages as its build started. When Portage finished all builds it could run, it (re)printed queued messages from earlier successful packages, then showed the failure that stopped it.

If you need more specific help, please follow the instructions that Portage showed when it failed, which you quoted.

qtwebengiene was not buld due to qtbase.
_________________
~Aarush!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
grknight
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 20 Feb 2015
Posts: 1819

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The people here need:
Code:
* The complete build log is located at '/var/tmp/portage/dev-qt/qtbase-6.7.1/temp/build.log'.

Post this to a paste site for review.

Only the final result is shown, not the original error which is the cause.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 2756

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also please emerge --sync, qtbase-6.7.2 been stable for over a week and yet you are emerging 6.7.1 -- may not necessarily fix your issue but it'll prevent having to update to 6.7.2 right after. Albeit if you haven't sync'ed in like a month, it may be an old issue I'm thinking of that's already fixed mostly affecting old hardware with some CXXFLAGS (emerge --info may be interesting on top of the build.log mentioned above)

Given sounds like you are in fact running old hardware, note qtwebengine will likely take very long to compile or possibly cause issues as the warning mentions, may want to consider binpkgs, albeit using binpkgs will force USE=bindist and that disables proprietary codecs so e.g. h264 won't play in qutebrowser (youtube can still serve royalty-free av1/vp9+opus webm instead, but not all sites do).

Edit: Alternatively, if don't want to deal qtwebengine and the Qt6 stack, you could try firefox-bin + vimium extension for simplicity and without that limitation (gives a similar experience to qutebrowser w/ vim bindings and hints for links, not that I've tried it myself -- it should run noticeably better than qutebrowser on weak hardware too, qtwebengine is essentially non-trivial chromium doing most of the work and then you have a slower python frontend on top).

Edit2: seen the build.log was edited in, there may still be quirks with rdrnd but good to hear you solved it
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum