View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 8:10 am Post subject: MESA not updating |
|
|
Hey everyone, I recently installed Gentoo. I went to update MESA, yet it kept failing. I am doing this on a Lenovo Thinkpad T430 with a Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3230M. Here is my emerge info.Here is my ninja -d explain. Here is my make.conf. I would really appreciate it if you could help me with this, I am loving Gentoo so far and I don't want my time with it to end. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2392
|
Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 9:45 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hello and welcome to Gentoo and the forums!
That's not the actual error. If you don't know how to identify the error, it's preferable to upload the whole build.log, as suggested by the message printed by emerge.
Also this is for Portage & Programming.
Best Regards,
Georgi
Last edited by logrusx on Tue Jul 16, 2024 11:31 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
fedeliallalinea Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2003 Posts: 31257 Location: here
|
Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 11:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
Moved from Installing Gentoo to Portage & Programming. _________________ Questions are guaranteed in life; Answers aren't. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5080 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 11:41 am Post subject: |
|
|
wtry,
Welcome to Gentoo Forums !
You surely know you can set use-flags globally for every package in your make.conf with USE=...
You can also set use-flags for specific packages in /etc/portage/package.use
And your profile will set some use-flags automatically for you ... e.g. every desktop profile sets all you will need for X.11 ... also "X" (capitalized) ... there exist no "x" (lower case)
You have: default/linux/amd64/23.0/desktop/systemd ... This profile will NOT set "gles1" ! Your USE=
Code: | USE="-gnome -opencl -vulkan xcb zlib tiff truetype lcms testjpeg jpg2k elogind selinux suid systemd unwind xcsecurity xephyr xnest xorg xvfb udev video alsa pulseaudio archive calendar cdr editor image media minimal mpd pulseaudio remote-fs search svg upower opengl gles2 unwind vaapi valgrind vulkan x zstd |
There is also no "gles1" ... BUT surprisingly is is activated for mesa:
Code: | media-libs/mesa-24.0.9::gentoo was built with the following: USE="X d3d9 debug gles1 gles2 llvm lm-sensors opencl (opengl) osmesa proprietary-codecs unwind vaapi valgrind vdpau vulkan vulkan-overlay wayland xa zstd (-selinux) -test (-zink)" |
This means: You have some (wrong) settings in /etc/portage/package.use ...
If you need help to clean up there we would need:
Code: | # grep -r "" /etc/portage/package.use |
This is outdated: VIDEO_CARDS="intel i915 iris" ... today this is sufficient: VIDEO_CARDS="intel"
P.S.: You really should not enable "unwind" globally ... _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5080 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 6:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I assume you once had a NON-desktop profile and only later switched to the systemd-desktop profile (that's what some entries tell me).
I also see that you are using plasma-meta. Therefore I recommend the following:
1. MOVE all files from /etc/portage/package.use to a backup directory - except one file: 00cpu.flags which ONLY has ONE line:
Code: | */* CPU_FLAGS_X86: aes avx f16c mmx mmxext pclmul popcnt rdrand sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 |
+
2. Change your profile to [28] default/linux/amd64/23.0/desktop/plasma/systemd (stable) (as said before: the profile will set MANY use-flags correct)
+
3. change your USE= in your make.conf:
Code: | USE="-gnome dracut selinux suid pulseaudio archive calendar cdr editor image media mpd remote-fs search vaapi" |
...and (below this line) only if you really need it:
Code: | USE="$USE xcsecurity xephyr xnes" |
... and this only if you really know what to do (as last line):
(maybe some use-flags are obsolet because you dont use the specific package anymore; e.g. "search" ?)
and then do an “emerge -uNDvp @world” ... this is the new output we need ... some other use-flags we want enable only for specific packages if you really need it: e.g. "minimal", "unwind", "valgrind"" _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2392
|
Posted: Tue Jul 16, 2024 6:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I would add, use wgetpaste. Earlier I didn't even take a look at your emerge --info and now I did. If you open it yourself, you won't feel like going through it. Don't make people do what you wouldn't do.
So in this case what pietinger asked will be:
Code: | wgetpaste -c 'emerge -uNDvp @world' |
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 3:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Here ya go. Thanks for the pointer! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2392
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 5:00 am Post subject: |
|
|
What do you mean you want to update mesa, you're already at the latest version.
All those rebuilds mean you terminated a session in which those were scheduled for rebuild, perhaps because one or more of their dependencies were rebuilt.
I would say you let that update go by replacing p with a in the emerge command.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2392
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 9:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
What is your video adapter and why do you have MAKEOPTS="-j1" in your make.conf?
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5080 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 2:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@logrusx
The video card setting can be seen in:
Code: | [ebuild R ] media-libs/mesa-24.0.9::gentoo USE="X gles2 llvm (opengl) proprietary-codecs vaapi vulkan wayland zstd -d3d9* -debug* -gles1* -lm-sensors* -opencl* -osmesa* (-selinux) -test -unwind* -valgrind* -vdpau* -vulkan-overlay* -xa* (-zink)" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" CPU_FLAGS_X86="sse2" LLVM_SLOT="17 -15 -16" VIDEO_CARDS="intel -d3d12 (-freedreno) -lavapipe (-lima) -nouveau (-panfrost) -r300 -r600 -radeon -radeonsi (-v3d) (-vc4) -virgl (-vivante) -vmware" 0 KiB |
Its correct.
Using MAKEOPTS="-j1" is a great advantage if you search for errors, because you have no parallel jobs and can see exactly where it breaks. Its correct for this problem.
@wtry
I can see your last world-update was before we got the new QT6 things ... BUT ... Your settings looks good now ... okay, we have to do some minor adjustments (*) ... but these are not related to the main problem: MESA
And there I can not see any reason why it breaks. The use-flag "vulkan" is a default in every desktop-profile and should not harm ... I have the exact same settings for mesa as you (also Intel graphics) for the exact same version ... maybe we need a developer for this.
I also would like to check your /var/lib/portage/world !
If we get no help, there is a small chance to bypass it with a global setting "-vulkan" ... but I would prefer it if a developer could find the cause ... (If you can wait a little bit?)
*)
I have seen you had "lm-sensors" active. This can be added to the global use-flags USE= without hesitation.
You had for these two a special setting: net-libs/nghttp2 and xfce-base/xfce4-meta. Activate it again if you really want it.
For pulseaudio, boost and ffmpeg we should set some exceptions in /etc/portage/package.use/MYTEMPSET (name it like you want):
Code: | # temporary because of bug: https://bugs.gentoo.org/864721
media-video/vlc -vaapi
dev-libs/boost lzma zstd
# beacuse you want pulseaudio:
media-video/pipewire -sound-server
#Enable it if you want it again:
# net-libs/nghttp2 static-lib
# xfce-base/xfce4-meta minimal |
P.S.: And please give us again your "emerge -uNDvp @world" for checking _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2392
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 2:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pietinger wrote: | @logrusx
The video card setting can be seen in:
Code: | [ebuild R ] media-libs/mesa-24.0.9::gentoo USE="X gles2 llvm (opengl) proprietary-codecs vaapi vulkan wayland zstd -d3d9* -debug* -gles1* -lm-sensors* -opencl* -osmesa* (-selinux) -test -unwind* -valgrind* -vdpau* -vulkan-overlay* -xa* (-zink)" ABI_X86="(64) -32 (-x32)" CPU_FLAGS_X86="sse2" LLVM_SLOT="17 -15 -16" VIDEO_CARDS="intel -d3d12 (-freedreno) -lavapipe (-lima) -nouveau (-panfrost) -r300 -r600 -radeon -radeonsi (-v3d) (-vc4) -virgl (-vivante) -vmware" 0 KiB |
Its correct. |
I asked what the actual hardware is, the settings can be seen in make.conf in the first post.
pietinger wrote: | Using MAKEOPTS="-j1" is a great advantage if you search for errors, because you have no parallel jobs and can see exactly where it breaks. Its correct for this problem.
|
Don't be too quick to judge. This might have been an attempt to address another issue.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 4:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
As I said before, I am using a Thnkpad T430 with an intel cpu. My only graphics come from it. The name of my CPU is in my first post, but it is an i5-3230M
Last edited by wtry on Wed Jul 17, 2024 7:04 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 4:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: |
Don't be too quick to judge. This might have been an attempt to address another issue.
|
This was actually unrelated to my problem, and a way for me to be able to use my computer during updates and such. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 8:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It has come to my attention that I've come off as arrogant. I never wanted to give that off, though I guess I do it unintentionally. I don't want to annoy or make people think I'm condescending to them. So I've decided that if I am being rude, that I should stop going onto forums like these, as people here are nice and helpful, and I feel they deserve respect. I will leave this thread up for anyone having the same issue, but I won't likely respond to it much more. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5080 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 8:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
While I was waiting for the information, I did a little digging:
You have in your “emerge --info” that: SHELL=“/bin/zsh” while I have: SHELL=“/bin/bash” ...
Are you using “sudo” (or “doas”) ? If so, please do a clean “su -” and try again (and check if it really uses bash). _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5080 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 8:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
wtry wrote: | It has come to my attention that I've come off as arrogant.[...] |
There was no complaint from my side ... and I am a moderator. Since we still have a problem to solve, you should
1. move on, and
2. write me a private PN to clarify the other issue. _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 9:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
pietinger wrote: | If so, please do a clean “su -” and try again (and check if it really uses bash). |
I tried that and it returned with this. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5080 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 9:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Okay the same position as before ...
Please give us (all as user root; changed to root with "su -"):
1. emerge --info -v
2. /var lib/portage/world
3. grep -r --exclude=linux* "" /etc/portage
4. set _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5080 Location: Bavaria
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 10:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I am so sorry to everyone helping me, but I just accidentally wrote over my entire system while trying to burn to a usb drive. I'm used to using an nvme drive. Thank you for all your help, but I guess I'm destined for BSD. I'll reinstall in a couple of days. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5080 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Please try:
1. emerge --deselect xf86-video-intel
2. emerge -c
3. emerge -uNDv @world
If it stops again at line [796/1824] tell us ... and maybe we need a developer. _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
wtry n00b
Joined: 16 Jul 2024 Posts: 12
|
Posted: Wed Jul 17, 2024 10:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thank you! I'll see if the issue persists when I reinstall and try that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|