View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Carlosk465 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 May 2022 Posts: 78
|
Posted: Sat Aug 31, 2024 7:23 pm Post subject: [SOLVED] Using two GPUs at the same time |
|
|
Is it possible to use these 2 GPUs at the same time? One is RX570 and the other is integrated AMD Ryzen 5 3400G with Radeon Vega Graphics
I installed the drivers and I think it was already recognized:
Code: | 01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Ellesmere [Radeon RX 470/480/570/570X/580/580X/590] (rev ef)
08:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Picasso/Raven 2 [Radeon Vega Series / Radeon Vega Mobile Series] (rev c8) |
But it only shows the text that was left from the start:
Code: | EFI stub: Loaded initrd from LINUX_EFI_INITRD_MEDIA_GUID device path
EFI stub: Measured initrd data into PCR 9 |
_________________ Sorry for my way of writing, I try to ensure that the translator translates correctly and does not change the words.
Last edited by Carlosk465 on Tue Sep 03, 2024 3:37 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Banana Moderator
Joined: 21 May 2004 Posts: 1721 Location: Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ralphred l33t
Joined: 31 Dec 2013 Posts: 652
|
Posted: Sun Sep 01, 2024 2:16 pm Post subject: Re: Using two GPUs at the same time |
|
|
Carlosk465 wrote: | Is it possible to use these 2 GPUs at the same time? |
As long as it's supported as Banana suggests then yes, but with caveats.
When X is starting the XRANDR extension knows it is naming outputs from a second GPU, but does so in a vacuum, so directives like "RightOf" or "LeftOf" fail because the other outputs belong to a different instance of the amdgpu driver.
If you use the old-school ServerLayout and Xinerama extensions it causes performance issues (if it works at all).
They way I've made it work is to define both of the GPU devices, and the primary monitor only; this gets you a working display. Then use xrandr or your DE's "monitor management" to add/position monitors attached to the second GPU. This does leave you in the position that all monitors will use GPU0 by default for rendering, but if you need to shift the load you can use the environment variable DRM_PRIME for specific programs. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Carlosk465 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 29 May 2022 Posts: 78
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 3:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yes it was compatible, I just had the wrong firmware, vega 11 didn't appear in the amdgpu list, and it turned out to be picasso.
Code: | vainfo: Driver version: Mesa Gallium driver 24.1.6 for AMD Radeon Vega 11 Graphics (radeonsi, raven, LLVM 18.1.8, DRM 3.57, 6.10.7-gentoo-3) |
Why raven? I installed that driver before and it didn't work.
I achieved what I wanted, which was to reduce consumption, since I usually turn off the secondary screen but the consumption remained almost the same, now it uses about 20 watts less (measured externally), although kwin still draws at 120 fps instead from alone to 60
Thanks to everyone for their help. _________________ Sorry for my way of writing, I try to ensure that the translator translates correctly and does not change the words. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|