View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
lars_the_bear Guru
Joined: 05 Jun 2024 Posts: 515
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 2:18 pm Post subject: Why can't I prevent KiCAD rebuilding?? |
|
|
Hi folks
I just did 'emerge ... @world', and was told that one of the packages that would be updated was kicad:
Code: |
ebuild U ~] sci-electronics/kicad-8.0.4::gentoo [8.0.3::gentoo] USE="nls openmp -doc -examples -test" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_12 -python3_10 -python3_11" 71249 KiB
|
I currently have 8.0.3:
Code: |
$ equery l kicad
* Searching for kicad ...
[I--] [??] sci-electronics/kicad-8.0.3:0
|
I didn't want to compile this monster again -- it takes 2-3 days on my hardware -- so I tried to exclude the update by masking later versions. So I created a file Code: | /etc/portage/package.mask/kicad |
Code: |
>=sci-electronics/kicad-8.0.4
|
I thought that would prevent any version later than my 8.0.3 being installed. And, indeed, it does -- but now `emerge ... @world` is building 8.0.3 again.
Code: |
[ebuild U ] sci-electronics/kicad-8.0.3-r1::gentoo [8.0.3::gentoo] USE="nls openmp -doc -examples -test" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_12 -python3_10 -python3_11" 0 KiB
|
It would be bad enough to spend three days building a new version, but to spend that time on the same version I have looks crazy.
I guess I have once again completely failed to understand how Gentoo works :/ How can I prevent (any version of) KiCAD being rebuilt?
BR, Lars. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pingtoo Veteran
Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Posts: 1232 Location: Richmond Hill, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 2:32 pm Post subject: Re: Why can't I prevent KiCAD rebuilding?? |
|
|
lars_the_bear wrote: | ...
I thought that would prevent any version later than my 8.0.3 being installed. And, indeed, it does -- but now `emerge ... @world` is building 8.0.3 again.
Code: |
[ebuild U ] sci-electronics/kicad-8.0.3-r1::gentoo [8.0.3::gentoo] USE="nls openmp -doc -examples -test" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_12 -python3_10 -python3_11" 0 KiB
|
It would be bad enough to spend three days building a new version, but to spend that time on the same version I have looks crazy.
I guess I have once again completely failed to understand how Gentoo works :/ How can I prevent (any version of) KiCAD being rebuilt?
BR, Lars. | You have correctly mask anything greater or equal 8.0.4.
However have you notice the -r1? it is Gentoo's way indicate the changes is not from upstream but from Gentoo's maintainer.
So go to the package's web page https://packages.gentoo.org/packages/sci-electronics/kicad and note that 8.0.3 ebuild no longer exist and a new 8.0.3-r1 take its place.
then go to right panel see Git logThis will show recent changes for the ebuild file.
The 8.0.3-r1 log show it is promote from test to stable. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lars_the_bear Guru
Joined: 05 Jun 2024 Posts: 515
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 2:47 pm Post subject: Re: Why can't I prevent KiCAD rebuilding?? |
|
|
pingtoo wrote: |
However have you notice the -r1? it is Gentoo's way indicate the changes is not from upstream but from Gentoo's maintainer.
|
Thanks. I'm just being dim again.
But...
I don't want to install any new version of KiCAD. How do I make that happen? I changed `package.mask` to
Code: |
>sci-electronics/kicad-8.0.3
|
in the hope that this would stop anything later than 8.0.3 being installed. And it does... but now `emerge` wants to install 7.0.11-r1, which is older than the version I have.
How can I tell Genoo just to leave KiCAD alone completely? `emerge ... -X kicad @world` seems to do the right thing, but I want the exclusion to be permanent.
BR, Lars. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pingtoo Veteran
Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Posts: 1232 Location: Richmond Hill, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 2:59 pm Post subject: Re: Why can't I prevent KiCAD rebuilding?? |
|
|
lars_the_bear wrote: | ...
I don't want to install any new version of KiCAD. How do I make that happen? I changed `package.mask` to
Code: |
>sci-electronics/kicad-8.0.3
|
in the hope that this would stop anything later than 8.0.3 being installed. And it does... but now `emerge` wants to install 7.0.11-r1, which is older than the version I have.
How can I tell Genoo just to leave KiCAD alone completely? `emerge ... -X kicad @world` seems to do the right thing, but I want the exclusion to be permanent.
BR, Lars. | try Code: | >sci-electronics/kicad-8.0.3-r0 | This is my guess. I have not mask anything before. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22612
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 3:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
lars' most recent mask correctly prevents Portage from upgrading kicad. The problem now is that Portage wants to have some unmasked and in-tree version of kicad installed. It cannot go up due to the mask, so it goes down, and finds 7.0.11-r1, which is the newest revision that is both in-tree and not masked.
A version-agnostic mask should prevent it from rebuilding, at the price of regular reminders that a masked package is installed and the user should do something about it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Goverp Advocate
Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2175
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 3:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Given the above, I'd guess you just want to mask this one update:
Code: | =sci-electronics/kicad-8.0.3-r1 |
_________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2397
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 6:25 pm Post subject: Re: Why can't I prevent KiCAD rebuilding?? |
|
|
pingtoo wrote: |
The 8.0.3-r1 log show it is promote from test to stable. |
Reviosion bump was with the previous commit. They don't revbump just for stabilization.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pingtoo Veteran
Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Posts: 1232 Location: Richmond Hill, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 6:55 pm Post subject: Re: Why can't I prevent KiCAD rebuilding?? |
|
|
logrusx wrote: | pingtoo wrote: |
The 8.0.3-r1 log show it is promote from test to stable. |
Reviosion bump was with the previous commit. They don't revbump just for stabilization.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
I am not sure I understand what do you mean "Revision bump was with the previous commit"?
according to the log Code: | author Joonas Niilola <juippis@gentoo.org> 2024-08-23 12:30:06 +0300
committer Joonas Niilola <juippis@gentoo.org> 2024-08-23 12:30:06 +0300
commit 4770d6cce06eb5e6d7eb448f51a9846ee78e2b66 (patch)
tree 43c5e0e64b3be6fbba913b0aae9db3613e4f973b /sci-electronics/kicad
parent app-doc/kicad-doc: Stabilize 8.0.3 amd64, #937005 (diff)
download gentoo-4770d6cce06eb5e6d7eb448f51a9846ee78e2b66.tar.gz
gentoo-4770d6cce06eb5e6d7eb448f51a9846ee78e2b66.tar.bz2
gentoo-4770d6cce06eb5e6d7eb448f51a9846ee78e2b66.zip
sci-electronics/kicad: Stabilize 8.0.3-r1 amd64, #937005
Signed-off-by: Joonas Niilola <juippis@gentoo.org>
Diffstat (limited to 'sci-electronics/kicad')
-rw-r--r-- sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild 2
1 files changed, 1 insertions, 1 deletions
diff --git a/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild b/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild
index e5ac37837120..185f4e17db69 100644
--- a/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild
+++ b/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild
@@ -21,7 +21,7 @@ else
S="${WORKDIR}/${PN}-${MY_PV}"
if [[ ${PV} != *_rc* ]] ; then
- KEYWORDS="~amd64 ~arm64 ~riscv ~x86"
+ KEYWORDS="amd64 ~arm64 ~riscv ~x86"
fi
fi |
The commit is just one file changes, and according to the diff, it just change the KEYWORDS from "~amd64 ..." to "amd64". I think this mean it just change from test to stable.
admittedly, I don't know much about git log reading. so can you tell me how to find what other changes relate to this from reading git log. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
logrusx Advocate
Joined: 22 Feb 2018 Posts: 2397
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 7:06 pm Post subject: Re: Why can't I prevent KiCAD rebuilding?? |
|
|
pingtoo wrote: | logrusx wrote: | pingtoo wrote: |
The 8.0.3-r1 log show it is promote from test to stable. |
Reviosion bump was with the previous commit. They don't revbump just for stabilization.
Best Regards,
Georgi |
I am not sure I understand what do you mean "Revision bump was with the previous commit"?
according to the log Code: |
diff --git a/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild b/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild
|
|
This is the same file. kicad-8.0.3.ebuild -> kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild (revision bump, revbump for short) happened with the previous commit :
Code: | diff --git a/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3.ebuild b/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild |
Best Regards,
Georgi |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pingtoo Veteran
Joined: 10 Sep 2021 Posts: 1232 Location: Richmond Hill, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 8:11 pm Post subject: Re: Why can't I prevent KiCAD rebuilding?? |
|
|
logrusx wrote: | This is the same file. kicad-8.0.3.ebuild -> kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild (revision bump, revbump for short) happened with the previous commit :
Code: | diff --git a/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3.ebuild b/sci-electronics/kicad/kicad-8.0.3-r1.ebuild |
Best Regards,
Georgi |
Thank you for point out |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lars_the_bear Guru
Joined: 05 Jun 2024 Posts: 515
|
Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2024 8:09 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: |
A version-agnostic mask should prevent it from rebuilding, at the price of regular reminders that a masked package is installed and the user should do something about it. |
Thanks. That seems to do the trick, and I can live with the warning message.
I guess if I continue to update this computer, KiCAD will eventually stop working, if it is never updated. But I'll cross that river when I come to it.
The problem is that now I can't run 'emerge --depclean' to clean up. But I'll ask about that in a new thread.
BR, Lars. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sam_ Developer
Joined: 14 Aug 2020 Posts: 1948
|
Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2024 8:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
I suspect what you really want is just --exclude kicad on the command-line anyway. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lars_the_bear Guru
Joined: 05 Jun 2024 Posts: 515
|
Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2024 8:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
sam_ wrote: | I suspect what you really want is just --exclude kicad on the command-line anyway. |
Yeah, that works fine also. But I'd have to remember to do it every time and, at my age, I don't always remember my own name.
BR, Lars. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22612
|
Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2024 11:29 am Post subject: |
|
|
Why not make that a default option to emerge? Then you will not need to remember it. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
lars_the_bear Guru
Joined: 05 Jun 2024 Posts: 515
|
Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2024 12:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hu wrote: | Why not make that a default option to emerge? Then you will not need to remember it. |
Because I had forgotten that there was such a feature
BR, Lars. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|