Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
[SOLVED] torbrowser-launcher - cannot import name gpgme
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours
View posts from last 7 days

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
eeckwrk99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2021
Posts: 205
Location: Gentoo forums

PostPosted: Tue Sep 03, 2024 7:37 pm    Post subject: [SOLVED] torbrowser-launcher - cannot import name gpgme Reply with quote

Since yesterday, www-client/torbrowser-launcher::torbrowser won't launch anymore:

Code:
% torbrowser-launcher
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python-exec/python3.12/torbrowser-launcher", line 30, in <module>
    import torbrowser_launcher
  File "/usr/lib/python3.12/site-packages/torbrowser_launcher/__init__.py", line 37, in <module>
    from .common import Common, SHARE
  File "/usr/lib/python3.12/site-packages/torbrowser_launcher/common.py", line 37, in <module>
    import gpg
  File "/usr/lib/python3.12/site-packages/gpg/__init__.py", line 123, in <module>
    from . import core
  File "/usr/lib/python3.12/site-packages/gpg/core.py", line 10, in <module>
    from . import gpgme
ImportError: cannot import name 'gpgme' from partially initialized module 'gpg' (most likely due to a circular import) (/usr/lib/python3.12/site-packages/gpg/__init__.py)


Code:
% emerge -pvq www-client/torbrowser-launcher
[ebuild   R   ] www-client/torbrowser-launcher-0.3.7  PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_12 -python3_10 -python3_11"


Yesterday's updates:

Code:
# emlop l
2024-09-02 10:26:31     2:29 dev-libs/openssl-3.0.14
2024-09-02 10:28:25     1:54 app-crypt/gpgme-1.23.2
2024-09-02 10:49:48    21:13 dev-util/lxqt-build-tools-2.0.0-r1
2024-09-02 10:49:55    21:30 net-p2p/qbittorrent-4.6.5
2024-09-02 10:49:56    21:24 media-libs/opencv-4.9.0-r1
2024-09-02 10:49:56    21:27 dev-qt/qtmultimedia-6.7.2-r2
2024-09-02 10:50:17       21 media-sound/pavucontrol-qt-2.0.0


Code:
# emlop l -e -n 5 app-crypt/gpgme
2024-05-09 16:58:57   1:42 app-crypt/gpgme-1.23.2
2024-05-09 19:18:14   1:37 app-crypt/gpgme-1.23.2
2024-09-02 10:28:25   1:54 app-crypt/gpgme-1.23.2
2024-09-03 21:16:23     51 app-crypt/gpgme-1.23.2
2024-09-03 21:18:28   1:47 app-crypt/gpgme-1.23.2


What I tried so far:
- uninstalling www-client/torbrowser-launcher::torbrowser and re-emerging it
- re-emerging app-crypt/gpgme
- re-emerging app-crypt/gpgme without qt6 USE flag (I'm not sure what caused the rebuild, I thought it might be have been qt6 USE flag being enabled by my profile).

Any idea what I should try next?

Thanks.


Last edited by eeckwrk99 on Tue Sep 10, 2024 2:33 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
kinetix
n00b
n00b


Joined: 04 Sep 2024
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2024 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Which python versions do you have installed presently?

I had never used torbrowser before and installed it on Monday and found the same issue. On my system it's installed for both python3.11 and python3.12, and it's when running under 3.12 that's the issue.

Running

Code:
/usr/lib/python-exec/python3.11/torbrowser-launcher


works for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ryanknut
n00b
n00b


Joined: 21 Dec 2021
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2024 9:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kinetix wrote:
Which python versions do you have installed presently?

I had never used torbrowser before and installed it on Monday and found the same issue. On my system it's installed for both python3.11 and python3.12, and it's when running under 3.12 that's the issue.

Running

Code:
/usr/lib/python-exec/python3.11/torbrowser-launcher


works for me.

cool!

I had to add this to my package.use to make Portage build the package and dependencies for python 3.11:
Code:
www-client/torbrowser-launcher PYTHON_TARGETS: python3_11

then you can just start the package as normal

you may want to edit the package.use file that it generates by hand to add both python_targets_python3_11 and python_targets_python3_12 to everything it requires, for future ease of use
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eeckwrk99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2021
Posts: 205
Location: Gentoo forums

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2024 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ryanknut wrote:
kinetix wrote:
Which python versions do you have installed presently?

I had never used torbrowser before and installed it on Monday and found the same issue. On my system it's installed for both python3.11 and python3.12, and it's when running under 3.12 that's the issue.

Running

Code:
/usr/lib/python-exec/python3.11/torbrowser-launcher


works for me.

cool!

I had to add this to my package.use to make Portage build the package and dependencies for python 3.11:
Code:
www-client/torbrowser-launcher PYTHON_TARGETS: python3_11

then you can just start the package as normal

you may want to edit the package.use file that it generates by hand to add both python_targets_python3_11 and python_targets_python3_12 to everything it requires, for future ease of use


Thanks, I guess this should work for me as well then. I'm not going to re-install dev-lang/python:3.11 just for one package though. I've only had 3.12 on my system for quite a while now, none of my packages requires 3.11. It's no big deal, I can still launch the browser directly.

I don't know why this occurred suddenly, there was no issue until last Friday. I can't think of any suspect update on 2024-09-02 when it all started. I tried downgrading dev-libs/openssl to 3.0.13-r2 but it doesn't make any difference.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 22404

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2024 9:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ryanknut wrote:
I had to add this to my package.use to make Portage build the package and dependencies for python 3.11:
Code:
www-client/torbrowser-launcher PYTHON_TARGETS: python3_11
then you can just start the package as normal

you may want to edit the package.use file that it generates by hand to add both python_targets_python3_11 and python_targets_python3_12 to everything it requires, for future ease of use
package.use adjusts values, rather than assigning them. The shown fragment would enable 3_11, but would not disable a 3_12 that was inherited from elsewhere. Thus, there is no need to modify it to list both 3_11 and 3_12.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
sam_
Developer
Developer


Joined: 14 Aug 2020
Posts: 1865

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2024 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I started to see the same thing about two weeks ago in gpgme's tests. mgorny suggested working on porting it to PEP517 but I haven't had a chance yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eschwartz
Developer
Developer


Joined: 29 Oct 2023
Posts: 145

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2024 12:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Finally got around to investigating this, and I can reliably make the gpgme tests fail with this exact error, then make it succeed, then make it fail again, through the simple expedient of downgrading and upgrading setuptools.

The working version of setuptools is no longer available in ::gentoo, sorry. But I have bisected the setuptools commit that caused the issue and reported the bug at https://github.com/pypa/setuptools/issues/4642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eeckwrk99
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 14 Mar 2021
Posts: 205
Location: Gentoo forums

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2024 2:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

eschwartz wrote:
Finally got around to investigating this, and I can reliably make the gpgme tests fail with this exact error, then make it succeed, then make it fail again, through the simple expedient of downgrading and upgrading setuptools.

The working version of setuptools is no longer available in ::gentoo, sorry. But I have bisected the setuptools commit that caused the issue and reported the bug at https://github.com/pypa/setuptools/issues/4642


Can confirm the issue is solved after updating to app-crypt/gpgme-1.23.2-r1::gentoo. Thank you!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Desktop Environments All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum