Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
firefox-bin -- now with added apulse?
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Goto page Previous  1, 2  
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20476

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2024 2:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

On my system, equery d only reiterates that it is only required with USE=pulseaudio.
Code:
$ equery d apulse
 * These packages depend on apulse:
www-client/firefox-115.15.0 (pulseaudio ? >=media-sound/apulse-0.1.12-r4[sdk])
                            (pulseaudio ? >=media-sound/apulse-0.1.12-r4[sdk])
x11-misc/i3status-2.14-r1 (pulseaudio ? media-sound/apulse[sdk])
                          (pulseaudio ? media-sound/apulse[sdk])
I'll have to try uninstalling at some point to see if libpulse is brought in.

The ebuild only suggests either is required if USE=pulseaudio:
Code:
        pulseaudio? (
                || (
                        media-libs/libpulse
                        >=media-sound/apulse-0.1.12-r4[sdk]
                )
        )
Code:
        use pulseaudio && myaudiobackends+="pulseaudio,"
        ! use pulseaudio && myaudiobackends+="alsa,"

_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2726
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2024 5:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pjp wrote:
Chiitoo wrote:
Yes, with the source build, if USE="-pulseaudio" you get the ALSA backend enabled automatically (there is no USE="alsa" there), and 'media-sound/apulse' is a dependency only if USE="pulseaudio" (it needs to be installed first, or 'media-libs/libpulse' will be pulled in instead):
So either apulse or libpulse is still required, correct? What's the difference? I have apulse installed, but emerge says I can remove it because nothing depends on it. I use firefox esr from source, and libpulse is not installed.
emerge -cav apulse:
>>> These are the packages that would be unmerged:

 media-sound/apulse
    selected: 0.1.13-r3
   protected: none
     omitted: none

All selected packages: =media-sound/apulse-0.1.13-r3

Required with USE="pulseaudio", yes, one or the other.

I suppose the main difference will be dependencies, and indeed, if both are installed, apulse is used over libpulse.
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20476

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2024 5:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
Required with USE="pulseaudio", yes, one or the other.
Thanks. With "pulesaudio" seems to be the key. I probably misunderstood some post a long time ago. I'll try removing it and see what happens.
_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2390

PostPosted: Thu Sep 19, 2024 6:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Navar wrote:
Code:
$ equery d apulse
 * These packages depend on apulse:
games-util/steam-client-meta-0-r20211228 (!pulseaudio ? media-sound/apulse[abi_x86_32])
mail-client/thunderbird-115.14.0 (pulseaudio ? >=media-sound/apulse-0.1.12-r4[sdk])
media-sound/spotify-1.2.42 (!pulseaudio ? media-sound/apulse)
www-client/firefox-115.14.0 (pulseaudio ? >=media-sound/apulse-0.1.12-r4[sdk])
$ grep -i pulse /etc/make.conf
USE="-avahi -gnome -hal -ipv6 -libav -systemd -pulseaudio -gnome-keyring          \
$ ls -ld /etc/make.conf
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 17 Sep 14  2020 /etc/make.conf -> portage/make.conf


These are all more or less various forms of the same outcome for logic on dependency. Which is why I'm forced to dig into the actual ebuild to [strike]sanity check[/strike] confirm, again.

Code:

COMMON_DEPEND="${FF_ONLY_DEPEND}
...
    pulseaudio? (
        || (
            media-libs/libpulse
            >=media-sound/apulse-0.1.12-r4[sdk]
        )
    )


I read that as a || bash OR short circuit logic test, if left hand side not true, continue (it may be POSIX compliant too, irrelevant to deeper discussion and don't care). If -pulseaudio (which you'd usually expect to see ref'ed as !pulseaudio), then it goes off requiring the other two.


That's not correct. pulseaudio? is a boolean test which if satisfied will trigger an evaluation of an OR expression between those two, which means if libpulse is available, it shortcircuits, if it's not, it looks for apule and if that's not available it returns false which then causes portage to throw an error at you.

This is not POSIX or Bash, this is Boolean logic which has no varieties.

Also equery will not give you accurate information. It takes shortcuts and you need to further examine the information it's given to you. It only sees there is such a dependency but does not go further to check whether it actually takes place.

You should further run equery u firefox-bin or emerge -pv firefox-bin to check if it actually takes place.

Best Regards,
Georgi
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum