View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Frautoincnam Guru
Joined: 19 May 2017 Posts: 324
|
Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2024 9:34 pm Post subject: [solved] custom ebuild from GIT source |
|
|
Solved by replacing https by git: EGIT_REPO_URI="git://git.code.sf.net/p/${PN}/rkh_code"
Hi,
I'm trying to create an ebuild for rkhunter.
But I have never done an ebuild with a GIT branch as source.
I have read a lot of things on the subject, but still I can't get it, so if someone can give me a little help please...
I can get git sources with:
Code: | git clone --branch develop https://git.code.sf.net/p/rkhunter/rkh_code |
So I wrote the ebuild like:
Code: | EAPI=8
inherit bash-completion-r1 git-r3
DESCRIPTION="Rootkit Hunter scans for known and unknown rootkits, backdoors, and sniffers"
HOMEPAGE="http://rkhunter.sf.net/"
EGIT_REPO_URI="https://git.code.sf.net/p/${PN}/rkh_code"
EGIT_OVERRIDE_BRANCH_RKHUNTER_RKH_CODE="develop" |
But I get an error:
Code: | # ebuild rkhunter-9999.ebuild clean unpack
>>> Unpacking source...
* Repository id: rkhunter_rkh_code.git
* Using EGIT_OVERRIDE_BRANCH_RKHUNTER_RKH_CODE=develop
* No support will be provided.
* Fetching https://git.code.sf.net/p/rkhunter/rkh_code ...
git fetch https://git.code.sf.net/p/rkhunter/rkh_code +refs/heads/develop:refs/heads/develop
git: 'remote-https' is not a git command. See 'git --help'. |
I don't understand this error message at all...
(same error with EGIT_BRANCH="develop")
What's my error please?
Thanks in advance.
Last edited by Frautoincnam on Sun Sep 22, 2024 10:19 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
John R. Graham Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10655 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2024 9:56 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Well, first of all, can you get to the URL https://git.code.sf.net/p/rkhunter/rkh_code in a browser? I can't at the moment.
- John _________________ I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Frautoincnam Guru
Joined: 19 May 2017 Posts: 324
|
Posted: Sun Sep 22, 2024 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
No, but I can get the code with:
Code: | git clone --branch develop https://git.code.sf.net/p/rkhunter/rkh_code |
I followed this answer to find source code |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Jimmy Jazz Guru
Joined: 04 Oct 2004 Posts: 333 Location: Strasbourg
|
Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2024 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Frautoincnam wrote: |
No, but I can get the code with:
Code: | git clone --branch develop https://git.code.sf.net/p/rkhunter/rkh_code |
I followed this answer to find source code |
use EGIT_BRANCH=develop instead _________________ « La seule condition au triomphe du mal, c'est l'inaction des gens de bien » E.Burke
Code: |
+----+----+----+
| |::::| |
| |::::| |
+----+----+----+ |
motto: WeLCRO
WritE Less Code, Repeat Often |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22634
|
Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2024 11:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
OP already tried that. OP's output indicates that the correct branch name is picked, but git fails to retrieve it.
OP: what is the output of emerge --pretend --verbose dev-vcs/git? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Frautoincnam Guru
Joined: 19 May 2017 Posts: 324
|
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2024 2:06 am Post subject: |
|
|
In fact, it's all my fault. I made 2 mistakes, and that's what was causing the trouble.
1) I had "dev-vcs/git -curl" for optimization purposes, so no https with git, I had never made the connection between the two, and I had completely forgotten having done it. I had thought about looking at git's USEFLAGS, but I didn't spot the "-curl".
2) the test I was doing directly with git clone https://... I wasn't doing it on the same machine, but on one where git is compiled with +curl. So I couldn't blame git since it was working fine.
Obviously, the result seemed absurd to me, and without a solution.
My ebuild works perfectly with the https url
Sorry for the unnecessary noise. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22634
|
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2024 12:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
That seems strange. As I read eclass/git-r3.eclass, it will always depend on dev-vcs/git[curl], so Portage should not have allowed you to try this with a USE=-curl git installed. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Frautoincnam Guru
Joined: 19 May 2017 Posts: 324
|
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2024 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
But it was the case, and this time, I'm sure of it
I had precisely: "dev-vcs/git -curl -iconv -perl -webdav" and this for several months, without any problem ever arising, until I wanted to do this ebuild with git source and https url. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sam_ Developer
Joined: 14 Aug 2020 Posts: 1958
|
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2024 2:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ebuild(1) doesn't check dependencies, so PEBKAC. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Frautoincnam Guru
Joined: 19 May 2017 Posts: 324
|
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2024 2:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
PEBCAK was already admitted |
|
Back to top |
|
|
sam_ Developer
Joined: 14 Aug 2020 Posts: 1958
|
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2024 2:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What I'm saying is that it's not that the dependency is missing or that Portage is getting something wrong, i.e. your p.use is in theory fine (even if maybe unwise), it's just that not using emerge and instead using ebuild is not going to respect dependencies. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Hu Administrator
Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 22634
|
Posted: Tue Sep 24, 2024 3:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry. I missed that OP was using ebuild instead of emerge. I knew ebuild skipped those steps, but thought OP would have used emerge first, and only resorted to ebuild later (if at all) for debugging. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|