View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
babayusa n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2024 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2024 8:16 pm Post subject: No rule to make target "gc_11_0_3_mes.bin" |
|
|
When trying to compile linux-6.6.52-gentoo from gentoo-sources it fails.
I followed the kernel upgrade guide, I reinstalled gentoo-sources and I tried "make clean" and "make prepare".
I get following errors (copied the spots with errors from make -j16):
Code: |
...
CC drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin/main.o
CC fs/ntfs3/run.o
CC drivers/acpi/acpica/psutils.o
CC fs/ext4/xattr_security.o
AR drivers/dma-buf/built-in.a
CC kernel/trace/trace_seq.o
UPD drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin/amdgpu/psp_13_0_10_sos.bin.gen.S
UPD drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin/amdgpu/smu_13_0_10.bin.gen.S
UPD drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin/amdgpu/dcn_3_2_0_dmcub.bin.gen.S
UPD drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin/amdgpu/gc_11_0_3_pfp.bin.gen.S
UPD drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin/amdgpu/vcn_4_0_0.bin.gen.S
UPD drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin/amdgpu/gc_11_0_3_mes_2.bin.gen.S
make[6]: *** No rule to make target '/lib/firmware/amdgpu/gc_11_0_3_mes.bin', needed by 'drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin/amdgpu/gc_11_0_3_mes.bin.gen.o'. Stop.
make[6]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
UPD drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin/amdgpu/gc_11_0_3_mes.bin.gen.S
make[5]: *** [scripts/Makefile.build:480: drivers/base/firmware_loader/builtin] Error 2
make[4]: *** [scripts/Makefile.build:480: drivers/base/firmware_loader] Error 2
make[4]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
CC kernel/irq_work.o
CC drivers/base/power/qos.o
CC drivers/acpi/acpica/pswalk.o
...
CC net/ipv4/sysctl_net_ipv4.o
AR drivers/base/power/built-in.a
CC [M] drivers/nvme/target/fabrics-cmd.o
make[3]: *** [scripts/Makefile.build:480: drivers/base] Error 2
make[3]: *** Waiting for unfinished jobs....
CC drivers/acpi/acpica/rsinfo.o
CC drivers/gpu/drm/drm_print.o
CC drivers/nvme/host/pr.o
...
AR drivers/gpu/drm/amd/amdgpu/built-in.a
AR drivers/gpu/drm/built-in.a
AR drivers/gpu/built-in.a
make[2]: *** [scripts/Makefile.build:480: drivers] Error 2
make[1]: *** [/usr/src/linux-6.6.52-gentoo/Makefile:1921: .] Error 2
make: *** [Makefile:234: __sub-make] Error 2
|
.config file 0x0
I have built some GPU firmware blobs into the kernel as a bad fix to some driver issue I had. This has been working perfectly fine with linux-6.6.47-gentoo. Maybe I missed something?
Thanks for any help!
Last edited by babayusa on Wed Sep 25, 2024 8:36 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
babayusa n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2024 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2024 8:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So I found out I am loading "amdgpu/gc_11_0_3_mes.bin" there only exists a "/lib/firmware/amdgpu/gc_11_0_3_mes1.bin". So this is the problem I'm guessing.
Since this worked perfectly fine before I'm guessing this got changed? Is there a website where I could look changes like these up in the future? Compiling the kernel tells me anyway but more info would still be appreciated. I'm not sure whether I can just add the 1 or if there's more to this. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5095 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Wed Sep 25, 2024 9:07 pm Post subject: |
|
|
babayusa,
I had the same problem before many years with intel firmware for my i915 too ... sometimes there is a new version and the old one is deleted
babayusa wrote: | So this is the problem I'm guessing. |
Yes.
babayusa wrote: | Is there a website where I could look changes like these up in the future? |
I dont know, but I dont think so.
babayusa wrote: | Compiling the kernel tells me anyway but more info would still be appreciated. |
Yes ... I had also only the error message for kernel building at that time.
babayusa wrote: | I'm not sure whether I can just add the 1 or if there's more to this. |
I dont think there is more to do. _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
babayusa n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2024 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2024 5:40 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Alright, thanks for the info pietinger! appreciate you being helpful as always.
when I booted into the new kernel sway had DRM problems, I looked into dmesg and found which firmware was missing so I added it.
Apparently It only knows about some firmware when other firmware is loaded, so I (there's probably a better way), compiled my kernel three times adding the new bin listed everytime.
On the third reboot it had some issue I once already had with the Framebuffer when it gets stuck "Loading initial ramdisk ... ".
So I'm guessing there's still some firmware missing that causes something to not load.
Now I have to get a liveUSB and check it out.
I'm going to set up being able to list an old version of the kernel in Grub too so I don't have to do this again :´)).
Kind of annoying, both the having to recompile multiple times and this issue could have been resolved if there was some kind of list telling me which firmware bins to add in the first place.
I'll look into it and post it here if I find something, if I don't I'll post the list of firmware I had to add and what gpu I have here anyway, so others with the same problem will have it easier, more info couldn't hurt I guess :). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grknight Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 1912
|
Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2024 6:14 pm Post subject: |
|
|
babayusa wrote: | Kind of annoying, both the having to recompile multiple times and this issue could have been resolved if there was some kind of list telling me which firmware bins to add in the first place.
I'll look into it and post it here if I find something, if I don't I'll post the list of firmware I had to add and what gpu I have here anyway, so others with the same problem will have it easier, more info couldn't hurt I guess . |
If you want to avoid this type of issue, make CONFIG_DRM_AMDGPU=m (aka a module) instead of built-in. Then, you never need to specify any firmware for AMDGPU in CONFIG_EXTRA_FIRMWARE, it will just load from disk at module load time. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
babayusa n00b
Joined: 31 Jul 2024 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2024 6:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
grknight I know. Wanted to have a monolithic (if that's what it's called) kernel for better security. But thank you. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5095 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2024 6:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
babayusa wrote: | [...] if there was some kind of list telling me which firmware bins to add in the first place. |
There is a "trick" you can use:
1. Boot with our GentooLiveCD ... it MUST be Gentoo because we have a kernel patch * (enabled by default) which shows all loaded firmware:
*)
Code: | Gentoo Linux --->
[*] Print firmware information that the kernel attempts to load |
2. Ask then:
Code: | dmesg | grep firmware |
Example from my machine:
Code: | ~ # dmesg | grep firmware
[ 8.859243] Loading firmware: i915/adls_dmc_ver2_01.bin
[ 8.859840] i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] Finished loading DMC firmware i915/adls_dmc_ver2_01.bin (v2.1)
[ 8.873671] Loading firmware: i915/tgl_guc_70.bin
[ 8.873780] Loading firmware: i915/tgl_huc.bin
[ 8.877520] i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] GT0: GuC firmware i915/tgl_guc_70.bin version 70.29.2
[ 8.877524] i915 0000:00:02.0: [drm] GT0: HuC firmware i915/tgl_huc.bin version 7.9.3
[ 14.354377] Loading firmware: rtl_nic/rtl8125b-2.fw |
3. Notice every file WITH directory
I have explained this also here:
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger/Tutorials/Manual_kernel_configuration#Before_you_start _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|