Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
how do you guys handle qtwebengine
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jpsollie
Guru
Guru


Joined: 17 Aug 2013
Posts: 307

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2024 5:04 am    Post subject: how do you guys handle qtwebengine Reply with quote

I'm fed up ...
every time I perform a emerge --update --deep --newuse --with-bdeps=y @system @world, it fails at the package qtwebengine.
mostly (yes, murphy's law) at the end of this heavy package,
I can then start digging through, experimenting with whatever comes to mind.

every time, i mean since QT 5.10, it was qtwebengine which broke the upgrade process.
I can't imagine being the only one who's afraid of compiling qtwebengine,
so how do you people deal with it when using kde plasma?
_________________
The power of Gentoo optimization (not overclocked): [img]https://www.passmark.com/baselines/V10/images/503714802842.png[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 9200

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2024 6:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

KDE Plasma itself can do without qtwebengine.

If your system lacks resources as determined by your build params, adjust build parameters in make.conf or per-package via package.env. Or increase resources hardware-wise.


Last edited by asturm on Sun Sep 29, 2024 7:01 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 3393
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2024 6:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

got rid of everything that depends on it and run USE=-webengine
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
logrusx
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 22 Feb 2018
Posts: 2237

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2024 7:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Binhost

Binhost x86_64-v3 if your CPU supports it.

/etc/portage/binrepos.conf/gentoobinhost.conf:

[binhost-x86_64]
priority = 9998
#sync-uri = https://ftp.snt.utwente.nl/pub/os/linux/gentoo/releases/amd64/binpackages/23.0/x86-64/
sync-uri = https://ftp.snt.utwente.nl/pub/os/linux/gentoo/releases/amd64/binpackages/23.0/x86-64/

[binhost-x86_64-v3]
priority = 9999
#sync-uri = https://ftp.snt.utwente.nl/pub/os/linux/gentoo/releases/amd64/binpackages/23.0/x86-64-v3/
sync-uri = https://ftp.snt.utwente.nl/pub/os/linux/gentoo/releases/amd64/binpackages/23.0/x86-64-v3/


Here the x86_64-v3 will take precedence and this way if a package is not available in v3 it'll be taken from the base x86_64 binrepo. If it's not available there too, then portage builds it from source.

Then adjust use flags if necessary. I think qtwebengine particularly does not need anything other than default, but nodejs for example needs -inspector. And I hate that crap but firefox:rapid requires it to build. However if you build chromium, it requires nodejs[inspector] which does not satisfy the binary package. However I used to use ungoogled-chromium-bin::pf4public which saved the day.

If you want to use it only for qtwebengine you update i separately with --getbinpkg. There still isn't a way to selectively chose binary packages other than doing it manually, sometimes terminating the source ebuild and then running the --getbinpkg query for that package manually and then starting the update over.

Another option is:

credit goes to pjp:
emerge -1vgKf qtwebengine


This will fetch the binary package from the binhost (-g/--getbinpkg) and then use it locally (-K/--usepkgonly). Still you need to update it separately.

EDIT: I just came up with an idea based on the above: emerge -gFpv <package(s)>. This will only fetch the binary package(s). Then continue the update with --usepkg. It'll use whatever binary packages that are compatible from the cache.

p.s. a related thread where it turned out to be a low memory condition: https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-1170988.html Chromium and qtwebengine are notorious for that. Even more after gcc support for building chromium was dropped. Clang seems to have higher memory usage peeks. I've observed that since long long ago.

Best Regards,
Georgi


Last edited by logrusx on Sun Sep 29, 2024 9:44 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 1660
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2024 8:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Moved from Desktop Environments to Portage & Programming.
_________________
Forum Guidelines

PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
lars_the_bear
Guru
Guru


Joined: 05 Jun 2024
Posts: 472

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2024 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've adjusted the package-specific USE flags so that I can use the binary version. I'm not going to try to compile that monster again on the hardware I have. I'm not sure what the implications are of doing this; but I'm installing qtwebengine at all, because FreeCAD has a dependency on it. I have no idea how (or even if) FreeCAD uses qtwebengine, and I'm not particular bothered whether it works properly.

BR, Lars.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Josef.95
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 03 Sep 2007
Posts: 4646
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun Sep 29, 2024 9:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

But, what is the real problem?
Can you post the output from "emerge --info" and the error message (the build.log)?

/edit:
As first step you can check
Code:
grep -i Killed /path/to/the/build.log
and check the dmesg output.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum