Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
No space left on device
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 399

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2024 4:12 pm    Post subject: No space left on device Reply with quote

Hello and thanks in advance

Code:
Emerging (1 of 2) sys-kernel/linux-firmware-20241017-r2::gentoo
>>> Emerging (2 of 2) app-portage/gentoolkit-0.6.8::gentoo
>>> Jobs: 0 of 2 complete, 1 running                Load avg: 1.10, 0.72, 0.48[ERROR] Exception in callback PipeLogger._io_loop_done(<Task finishe...t on device')>)
handle: <Handle PipeLogger._io_loop_done(<Task finishe...t on device')>)>
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/python3.12/asyncio/events.py", line 88, in _run
    self._context.run(self._callback, *self._args)
  File "/usr/lib/python3.12/site-packages/portage/util/_async/PipeLogger.py", line 161, in _io_loop_done
    future.result()
  File "/usr/lib/python3.12/site-packages/portage/util/_async/PipeLogger.py", line 157, in _io_loop
    log_file.flush()
OSError: [Errno 28] No space left on device


Code:
env-update
>>> Regenerating /etc/ld.so.cache...


Code:
df -h /
Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda4        30G   13G   18G  41% /


Tried to chroot from another siystem, but just won't work.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 3460
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2024 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are not compiling in RAM, i.e in tmpfs, by chance ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54643
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2024 5:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What does df -I have to say about i-nodes?
Every file needs at least one i-node.

You get the same error for being out of space or i-nodes
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pietinger
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 17 Oct 2006
Posts: 5250
Location: Bavaria

PostPosted: Wed Oct 23, 2024 5:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Check the number of free Inodes:
Code:
df -ih /dev/sda4

(If you have many, many small files, then you will get also a "No space left on device" if the are no free Inodes available - independent of free space)

You can increase this number either by creating a bigger partition OR defining a higher number of Inodes:
Code:
mkfs -t ext4 -N NUMBER_OF_INODES /dev/XXXXXXX



P.S.: Neddy was faster again :lol:
_________________
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 399

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2024 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NeddySeagoon wrote:
What does df -I have to say about i-nodes?
Every file needs at least one i-node.

You get the same error for being out of space or i-nodes


Tbis is the situation.

After disabling of tmpfs it works.
But why tmpfs is does not working ?

Code:
Filesystem     Inodes IUsed IFree IUse% Mounted on
/dev/sda4        1.9M  486K  1.5M   26% /


Deleted with eclean-pkg and eclean-dist, but no change.

I don't have many small files.

Code:
findmnt /tmp
TARGET
     SOURCE
           FSTYPE OPTIONS
/tmp tmpfs tmpfs  rw,nosuid,nodev,relatime,size=1048576k


After turning off tmp folder in make.conf it works.
If I turn on that folder, it is failing.

Tried with Bleachbit but no change.

It's something related to tmpfs but I don't know what.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
eccerr0r
Watchman
Watchman


Joined: 01 Jul 2004
Posts: 9847
Location: almost Mile High in the USA

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2024 1:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

linux-firmware is one of those packages that are simply immense. Unpacked it's 1.2GB which will overflow a 1GB tmpfs.
_________________
Intel Core i7 2700K/Radeon R7 250/24GB DDR3/256GB SSD
What am I supposed watching?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pjp
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 16 Apr 2002
Posts: 20522

PostPosted: Sat Oct 26, 2024 2:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

man tmpfs:
      nr_inodes=inodes
              The maximum number of inodes for this instance.  The default is half of the number of your physical RAM pages, or (on a machine with
              highmem) the number of lowmem RAM pages, whichever is smaller.  The limit is removed if the number is 0.

              Inodes may be specified with k, m, or g suffixes like size, but not a % suffix.

_________________
Quis separabit? Quo animo?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 399

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2024 12:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have same problem again.
Why tmpfs does not work any more, even for small files ?
It does not work for linux-firmware, but I can't compile anything due to tmpfs limits.

Code:

Filesystem      Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
devtmpfs         10M     0   10M   0% /dev
tmpfs           992M     0  992M   0% /dev/shm
tmpfs           992M  800K  992M   1% /run
/dev/sda4        30G   14G   17G  46% /
tmpfs           1,0G  1,0G     0 100% /var/tmp/portage
tmpfs           199M  4,0K  199M   1% /run/user/1000
/dev/sda11      468G  144G  324G  31% /run/media/linux/4e24fb53-dee8-45d0-8508-3d7ff547ae35
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54643
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2024 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your /var/tmp/portage is full with failed emerges.
1GB is too small for many things today.

It's possible to move /var/tmp/portage. from tmpfs to HDD on a per package basis.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RIA77
Guru
Guru


Joined: 24 Feb 2016
Posts: 399

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2024 12:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can I use tmpfs and if it's full than portage can use swap ?
It's not fresh installation, it was working even with compile of gcc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 22870

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2024 1:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You cannot use a full filesystem to store more data, because the filesystem is full. For safety, tmpfs has a tuneable maximum size at which it is considered full. The system always has the option of moving data from tmpfs memory to the swap device, but that does not make the tmpfs bigger. It only lets you keep using the nominal size of the tmpfs even when you are low on physical memory. If you want to store more in the tmpfs, change the maximum size. If you think your current size is enough, then find and remove the things in it that are wasting space.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 54643
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Tue Dec 24, 2024 2:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

RIA77,

tmpfs shares RAM with everything else. When the system needs more real RAM, it can move things from tmpfs to swap.
That does not change the tmpfs size size.

If you want to use a 1GB tmpfs where you can, you need to make some HDD space for /var/tmp/portage where 1GB is inadequate and tell portage about it,
Read the whole page, not just that section.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum