Gentoo Installation on Macbook Pro
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Balustrade
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2024 6:26 am    Post subject: Gentoo Installation on Macbook Pro Reply with quote

Hi all,

This is my first try at installing gentoo. I've been able to boot the DVD with Gentoo live once, now it refuses to boot. The computer goes through grub on the DVD, goes through a couple of boot screens, then sits on a black screen with a bar flashing in the top right hand corner. Just wondering if there is something wrong with the disc, or if I've made a silly mistake.
flysideways
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Mon Oct 28, 2024 12:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo,

I'm guessing it is a pretty old MacBook Pro if you are booting from a built in dvd drive, also guessing that it is an Intel processor not Apple Silicon.

If you are booting by holding down the option key and selecting an icon for the drive to boot from, how many drives are shown, and which one are you selecting to boot?

I have a 2007 MacBook and a 2011 MacBook Pro, both Intel. My memories of booting the 2007, which has a built in dvd drive from a dvd, are vague. It has been a long time. I have booted it and the 2011 from various usb thumb drives with various live systems over the years.

There have been times where it was easier to start the boot, holding down the option key, and then when it waits while showing the icons for the drive to boot, only then inserting the drive, and it recognizes the newly inserted drive. Then choose the newly appeared drive to boot.

Some live systems will show up as two bootable drive icons, only one will work.

You will also probably want https://packages.gentoo.org/packages/sys-firmware/b43-firmware for your wireless.