View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ALF__ Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2003 Posts: 251
|
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 9:03 pm Post subject: Package wants python 3.10 or 3.11, but should be 3.12 compat |
|
|
Hello,
Just did a profile upgrade on one of my machines.
And when running
Code: |
emerge --ask --emptytree @world |
I get issue with one of the packages regarding python version:
Code: | The ebuild selected to satisfy "<sci-libs/vtk-9.3.0:=[rendering]" has unmet requirements.
- sci-libs/vtk-9.2.5-r2::gentoo USE="logging openmp python qt5 qt6 rendering sdl threads -all-modules -boost (-cuda) (-debug) -doc -examples -ffmpeg -freetype -gdal -imaging -java -las -mpi -mysql -odbc -openvdb -pdal -postgres -tbb -test -tk -views -vtkm -web" ABI_X86="(64)" PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="-python3_10 -python3_11" VIDEO_CARDS="nvidia"
The following REQUIRED_USE flag constraints are unsatisfied:
python? ( exactly-one-of ( python_single_target_python3_10 python_single_target_python3_11 ) )
The above constraints are a subset of the following complete expression:
all-modules? ( boost ffmpeg freetype gdal imaging las mysql odbc openvdb pdal postgres rendering views ) cuda? ( video_cards_nvidia vtkm ) java? ( rendering ) python? ( exactly-one-of ( python_single_target_python3_10 python_single_target_python3_11 ) ) qt5? ( rendering ) qt6? ( rendering ) sdl? ( rendering ) tk? ( python rendering ) web? ( python )
|
Checking emerge --info "python_single_target" is infact 3_12:
Code: |
USE="...PYTHON_SINGLE_TARGET="python3_12" PYTHON_TARGETS="python3_12" ...
|
Thing is, vtk-9.3.0 which it should upgrade to(And it also mention this version in the error), is compatible with python 3.12 as per:
https://gitweb.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git/tree/sci-libs/vtk/vtk-9.3.0-r3.ebuild
and
https://gitweb.gentoo.org/repo/gentoo.git/commit/?id=41fa67dda66444f581b31223616df842ef86a855
Any clues? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
grknight Retired Dev
Joined: 20 Feb 2015 Posts: 1927
|
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 9:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Please show the entire output of emerge -pv1 ~sci-libs/vtk-9.3.0 as to why it won't upgrade. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ALF__ Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2003 Posts: 251
|
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 9:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
grknight wrote: | Please show the entire output of emerge -pv1 ~sci-libs/vtk-9.3.0 as to why it won't upgrade. |
Hello,
Here we go: https://bpa.st/IVMQ |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ionen Developer
Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2866
|
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 10:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Is this a stable system? Just a guess given that output is hitting other errors and not saying much (I think? haven't looked too closely), but do you have stable <=sci-libs/opencascade-7.7.0-r2[vtk] installed? It's the only thing in the tree that depends on <vtk-9.3.0 that I can see, and it would prevent an upgrade.
Edit: ~testing 7.7.2-r1 and 7.8.1 drop that upper bound, and there's a stablereq pending for the latter: https://bugs.gentoo.org/942938
Last edited by Ionen on Fri Nov 22, 2024 10:25 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ALF__ Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2003 Posts: 251
|
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 10:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hello,
Yep it is a stable system.
I think vtk is used by both freecad and kicad if i remember correctly. These packages seem to always give me trouble though.
Not sure if there is some old configuration mistake made by me back in the day or not that causes these packages to behave badly.
The install is pretty old. It is "usually" up to date, however, now it has been sitting off for a while. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ionen Developer
Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2866
|
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 10:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I asked about the version of opencascade too but if you have freecad installed, guess that means "yes" given it depends on opencascade[vtk].
So your issues are "probably" caused by opencascade 7.8.1 not being stable yet (https://bugs.gentoo.org/942938), given the older (stable) version requires older vtk (without 3.12). |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ALF__ Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2003 Posts: 251
|
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 10:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Sorry i missed to reply on that.
Opencascade is installed with version 7.6.3-r2, states 7.7.0-r2 is latest available.
Edit: Your conclusion seem to be very likely.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
ALF__ Apprentice
Joined: 30 Nov 2003 Posts: 251
|
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 10:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Update:
Accepting unstable opencascade looks to have got me out of this bind!
Not sure how wise it will be running it unstable, but, guess future will tell :p
Thanks everyone for your assistance!
This one was not very obvious for me i must admit. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Ionen Developer
Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2866
|
Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2024 11:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ALF__ wrote: | Not sure how wise it will be running it unstable, but, guess future will tell :p | Well, assuming you're only accepting that specific 7.8.1 version it should be fine given there is already a stablereq for it (aka, it's meant to be stable, just kind of stalling).
If you're accepting *all* versions a future upgrade could be questionable though. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|