View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
tenspd1370 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Dec 2017 Posts: 124
|
Posted: Thu Oct 31, 2024 7:28 pm Post subject: zoom will only run under sudo *solved* |
|
|
Not sure why, but all of a sudden, zoom will only run as sudo, and when I try to launch from the CLI, I get no messages to tell me why zoom won't start from cli. Not sure what changed - this just started happening. What am I missing?
Last edited by tenspd1370 on Sat Dec 21, 2024 12:16 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
orionbelt Apprentice
Joined: 05 Apr 2006 Posts: 179
|
Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2024 8:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
During the last couple of weeks or so, i've also had the problem that zoom would not start (it would just hang in the command line). I am not sure our circumstances are the same, but i am posting the solution i found in case it helps.
I encounter the problem only when i run an X session as user1, then su - user2 and try to start zoom from user2 (other X programs work without a problem).
Upon checking ~user2/.zoom/logs/zoom_stdout_stderr.log, the problem was:
Code: | [27655:27678:1126/080932.709781:ERROR:bus.cc(407)] Failed to connect to the bus: Could not parse server address: Unknown address type (examples of valid types are "tcp" and on UNIX "unix") |
Apparently the problem was caused by the environment variable DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS being undefined for user2. The solution for me was:
- Either use --whitelist-environment to pass user1's DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS to user2:
Code: | user1% su - --whitelist-environment DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS user2
user2% zoom |
Or start zoom on user2 as: Code: |
user1% su - user2
user2% DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS='DDDD' zoom |
where DDDD is the output of printenv DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS on user1. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Goverp Advocate
Joined: 07 Mar 2007 Posts: 2185
|
Posted: Tue Nov 26, 2024 10:45 am Post subject: Re: zoom will only run under sudo |
|
|
tenspd1370 wrote: | Not sure why, but all of a sudden, zoom will only run as sudo ... |
To be clear, do you mean "as root", rather than "if I use sudo to start a session with a non-root userid"?
zoom most certainly shouldn't need root access.
Also, re you using Wayland or X11 for your screen?
I'm assuming you're using net-im/zoom, not something you've downloaded from the internet. _________________ Greybeard |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tenspd1370 Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 14 Dec 2017 Posts: 124
|
Posted: Sat Dec 21, 2024 12:15 am Post subject: |
|
|
I found that it was using some old downloaded thing - after cleaning everything on the system up and making sure it was using net-im/zoom - things seemed to be okay again. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|