View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
Kurmis n00b
Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 40 Location: LV
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 10:37 am Post subject: package.use new format |
|
|
Good day, experts.
I am trying to install 32bit gentoo on P4.
According to
https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Handbook:X86/Installation/Base
i must(can) specify CPU flags #echo "*/* $(cpuid2cpuflags)" > /etc/portage/package.use/00cpu-flags
Code: | # echo "*/* $(cpuid2cpuflags)" > /etc/portage/package.use/00cpu-flags |
The same relates to file /etc/portage/package.use/00video_cards .
Previosly both entries was stored in make.conf
in format CPU_FLAGS_X86="aes avx avx2"
What if i wanna that /etc/portage/package.use is single file ?
Can somebody gimme piece-example of working package.use as single file,
where is new-format CPU_FLAGS_X86 and VIDEO_CARDS included ?
Tnx in advance @all.
Last edited by Kurmis on Sun Dec 15, 2024 11:28 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54643 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 10:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kurmis,
Code: | # echo "*/* $(cpuid2cpuflags)" > /etc/portage/package.use/00cpu-flags |
replaces a file if it exists.
Code: | # echo "*/* $(cpuid2cpuflags)" >> /etc/portage/package.use/00cpu-flags | appends to an existing file or creates it if its new.
One easy typo, and your existing file is gone.
/etc/portage/package.use/ can be a file or a directory. To convert from a directory to a file
Code: | cat /etc/portage/package.use/* /etc/portage/package.use_file |
To preserve the existing directory content.
Code: | mv /etc/portage/package.use /etc/portage/package.use_dir |
In case you make a mess of it.
Code: | mv /etc/portage/package.use_file /etc/portage/package.use |
To put the preserved file in place.
Putting the entries in make.conf still works. Being an old, long time user, I still do that. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Kurmis n00b
Joined: 04 Jun 2010 Posts: 40 Location: LV
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 11:22 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for reply.
I did it exactly this way previosly.
I just wanna see example of new-style-format of package.use as file
Is it like this ?
Code: | */* CPU_FLAGS_X86: aes avx avx2 f16c
sci-libs/fftw mpi
media-libs/libmediainfo mms |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
NeddySeagoon Administrator
Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 54643 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 11:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kurmis,
It's not changed.
When package.use is a directory, portage concats the directory content in lexicographical order, then uses that as if it were the package.use file. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
pietinger Moderator
Joined: 17 Oct 2006 Posts: 5253 Location: Bavaria
|
Posted: Sun Dec 15, 2024 11:43 am Post subject: |
|
|
Kurmis wrote: | [...] Is it like this ?
Code: | */* CPU_FLAGS_X86: aes avx avx2 f16c
sci-libs/fftw mpi
media-libs/libmediainfo mms |
|
YES.
I use also /etc/portage/package.use as a file and not a directory because I also want to see all my settings at a glance. Another user - @logrusx - explained a simpler solution: Leave /etc/portage/package.use as directory and just create a file in there with all your settings, e.g. /etc/portage/package.use/00my _________________ https://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/User:Pietinger |
|
Back to top |
|
|
tckosvic Apprentice
Joined: 18 Apr 2023 Posts: 152
|
Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2024 4:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I have package use flags in a file in package.use directory.
A snippet from that file is below:
Code: |
>=sci-libs/cgnslib-4.3.0-r2 hdf5
>=dev-libs/boost-1.83.0-r2 python
>=x11-libs/wxGTK-3.2.2.1-r3 gstreamer
>=sys-apps/systemd-utils-254.7 kernel-install
>=media-video/ffmpeg-6.1-r2 chromium
>=dev-python/numpy-1.26.2 python_targets_python3_10
>=dev-python/pyside2-5.15.11-r1 python_targets_python3_10
>=dev-python/cython-3.0.7 python_targets_python3_10
|
I just copy the string that emerge lists and add it to the file with the use flag suggested by emerge as space delimited.
What does the ">=", greater than-equals symbol mean? Is it necessary?
I notice use entry strings displayed in this thread do not have that string in the beginning. That's why I wrote this.
thanks, tom kosvic |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eeckwrk99 Apprentice
Joined: 14 Mar 2021 Posts: 234 Location: Gentoo forums
|
Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2024 5:02 pm Post subject: |
|
|
tckosvic wrote: | What does the ">=", greater than-equals symbol mean? Is it necessary? |
For instance:
Code: | >=x11-libs/wxGTK-3.2.2.1-r3 gstreamer |
means that gstreamer USE flag will be used for x11-libs/wxGTK-3.2.2.1-r3 and newer versions, but not for 3.0.5.1-r1 (older version).
tckosvic wrote: | Is it necessary? |
Only if you want to set the USE flag(s) for a specific version and newer ones. If you want to set the USE flag for any version of the package, you can remove ">=". |
|
Back to top |
|
|
John R. Graham Administrator
Joined: 08 Mar 2005 Posts: 10679 Location: Somewhere over Atlanta, Georgia
|
Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2024 6:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
eeckwrk99 wrote: | Only if you want to set the USE flag(s) for a specific version and newer ones. If you want to set the USE flag for any version of the package, you can remove ">=". | Almost correct. If you remove the version operator from the front of the DEPEND atom, then you must also remove the version from the back. So Code: | >=x11-libs/wxGTK-3.2.2.1-r3 gstreamer | becomes Code: | x11-libs/wxGTK gstreamer | "man portage" has a full explanation.
- John _________________ I can confirm that I have received between 0 and 499 National Security Letters.
Last edited by John R. Graham on Thu Dec 26, 2024 6:06 pm; edited 2 times in total |
|
Back to top |
|
|
eeckwrk99 Apprentice
Joined: 14 Mar 2021 Posts: 234 Location: Gentoo forums
|
Posted: Thu Dec 26, 2024 6:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
John R. Graham wrote: | eeckwrk99 wrote: | Only if you want to set the USE flag(s) for a specific version and newer ones. If you want to set the USE flag for any version of the package, you can remove ">=". | Almost correct. If you remove the version operator from the front of the DEPEND atom, then you must also remove the version from the back. So Code: | >=x11-libs/wxGTK-3.2.2.1-r3 gstreamer | becomes Code: | x11-libs/wxGTK gstreamer | - John |
Indeed, I should've mentioned that. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|