View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
mudspitease n00b

Joined: 09 Mar 2025 Posts: 11
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:17 pm Post subject: Three QT 6 Programs Consistently Installed on Minimal Gentoo |
|
|
Does anyone know where these programs come from? How do I find which ones are bringing them in (and no respecting the global USE flags? Can I mask the packages without breaking everything...? (haha)
Qt 6 QDBusViewer
Qt 6 Linguist
Qt 6 Assistant
I am a new user of Gentoo, experimenting with hardened systemd desktop with i3/sway (I've gone between X and Wayland, trying to figure out which programs pull them in.
No matter how minimal I try to make my setup, these programs always come up, even with a -KDE -gt6 flag in my make.conf. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
NeddySeagoon Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003 Posts: 55103 Location: 56N 3W
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mudspitease,
Welcome to gentoo.
Code: | emerge -cav <package1> <package2> <package3> | will rip them out or tell you what depends on them.
Once you know that, you can investigate if the dependency is hidden behind a USE flag, if so are you willing to forgo setting that USE?
If its a hard dependency, you need to give up that package too. _________________ Regards,
NeddySeagoon
Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
asturm Developer

Joined: 05 Apr 2007 Posts: 9368
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mudspitease wrote: | No matter how minimal I try to make my setup, these programs always come up, even with a -KDE -gt6 flag in my make.conf. |
USE flags can only exist where their functionality is optional. You'll have one or more packages installed where this is non-optional.
And USE="-KDE" wouldn't work anyway. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Chiitoo Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010 Posts: 2768 Location: Here and Away Again
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:45 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Additionally, if the package name is not known, one can use, for example:
Code: | emerge --pretend "file path" |
or
Code: | equery belongs "file path or command" |
_________________ Kindest of regardses. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Ionen Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018 Posts: 2913
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 10:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
USE="-assistant -widgets" on dev-qt/qttools "would" remove all three of these, albeit can only do that if no packages depend on these USE though.
Do not disable USE=widgets globally, it's not that simple of a USE.
Unfortunately qttools is unable to build USE=assistant's libQt6Help without USE=widgets at the moment, thus the reason to disable it as well (some packages need libQt6Help though). USE=widgets is also needed to get libQt6UiTools that "some" packages need.
These GUI applications are very very small though (the libraries do the heavy lifting), I imagine you're just annoyed that the .desktop files makes these appear in your desktop menus. The ebuild *could* just "rm" these applications+.desktop with a USE=gui if we really wanted, albeit we have build them either way and have to pull all dependencies so it's also kind of silly without notable space saving. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
wjb l33t


Joined: 10 Jul 2005 Posts: 650 Location: Fife, Scotland
|
Posted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 11:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
mudspitease wrote: | No matter how minimal I try to make my setup, these programs always come up |
Its not obvious what "always come up" means - it would be useful to see the command and the actual output. The bit that's confusing me is that qtassistant and qtdbusviewer are masked qt5 packages with no equivalents for qt6. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hu Administrator

Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23280
|
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2025 12:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
Speaking as someone who has a somewhat reduced system (no DE), none of the packages the OP cites come up for me. Thus, I question whether OP's system is really "Minimal."  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Chiitoo Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010 Posts: 2768 Location: Here and Away Again
|
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2025 5:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
wjb wrote: | The bit that's confusing me is that qtassistant and qtdbusviewer are masked qt5 packages with no equivalents for qt6. |
They were split packages from qttools for qt5, but splitting them out for qt6 ended up being too silly for the time being, so they are now part of the single qttools package. _________________ Kindest of regardses. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Banana Moderator


Joined: 21 May 2004 Posts: 1955 Location: Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
dmpogo Advocate

Joined: 02 Sep 2004 Posts: 3499 Location: Canada
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2025 1:01 am Post subject: |
|
|
Chiitoo wrote: | Additionally, if the package name is not known, one can use, for example:
Code: | emerge --pretend "file path" |
or
Code: | equery belongs "file path or command" |
|
You can do
Code: |
equery depends name-of-the-package
|
and it will list everything that potentially depends on the package
Saying that, I thought linquist and assistant as separate packages are Qt5 only ? And for Qt6 they are USE flags for qttools ? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Hu Administrator

Joined: 06 Mar 2007 Posts: 23280
|
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2025 1:23 am Post subject: |
|
|
dmpogo wrote: | You can do
Code: |
equery depends name-of-the-package
|
and it will list everything that potentially depends on the package
|
The "potentially" part tends to confuse people rather than be helpful, which is why Neddy suggested emerge --depclean --ask --verbose, since that restricts itself to describing dependencies that are active. The equery depends form will mention any dependencies that could apply with the right USE flags, without checking whether the active USE flags would trigger that dependency. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|