Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Three QT 6 Programs Consistently Installed on Minimal Gentoo
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
mudspitease
n00b
n00b


Joined: 09 Mar 2025
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:17 pm    Post subject: Three QT 6 Programs Consistently Installed on Minimal Gentoo Reply with quote

Does anyone know where these programs come from? How do I find which ones are bringing them in (and no respecting the global USE flags? Can I mask the packages without breaking everything...? (haha)

Qt 6 QDBusViewer
Qt 6 Linguist
Qt 6 Assistant

I am a new user of Gentoo, experimenting with hardened systemd desktop with i3/sway (I've gone between X and Wayland, trying to figure out which programs pull them in.

No matter how minimal I try to make my setup, these programs always come up, even with a -KDE -gt6 flag in my make.conf.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
NeddySeagoon
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 05 Jul 2003
Posts: 55103
Location: 56N 3W

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mudspitease,

Welcome to gentoo.

Code:
emerge -cav <package1> <package2> <package3>
will rip them out or tell you what depends on them.
Once you know that, you can investigate if the dependency is hidden behind a USE flag, if so are you willing to forgo setting that USE?
If its a hard dependency, you need to give up that package too.
_________________
Regards,

NeddySeagoon

Computer users fall into two groups:-
those that do backups
those that have never had a hard drive fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
asturm
Developer
Developer


Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Posts: 9368

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mudspitease wrote:
No matter how minimal I try to make my setup, these programs always come up, even with a -KDE -gt6 flag in my make.conf.

USE flags can only exist where their functionality is optional. You'll have one or more packages installed where this is non-optional.

And USE="-KDE" wouldn't work anyway.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2768
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 7:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Additionally, if the package name is not known, one can use, for example:

Code:
emerge --pretend "file path"

or

Code:
equery belongs "file path or command"

_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ionen
Developer
Developer


Joined: 06 Dec 2018
Posts: 2913

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 10:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

USE="-assistant -widgets" on dev-qt/qttools "would" remove all three of these, albeit can only do that if no packages depend on these USE though.

Do not disable USE=widgets globally, it's not that simple of a USE.

Unfortunately qttools is unable to build USE=assistant's libQt6Help without USE=widgets at the moment, thus the reason to disable it as well (some packages need libQt6Help though). USE=widgets is also needed to get libQt6UiTools that "some" packages need.

These GUI applications are very very small though (the libraries do the heavy lifting), I imagine you're just annoyed that the .desktop files makes these appear in your desktop menus. The ebuild *could* just "rm" these applications+.desktop with a USE=gui if we really wanted, albeit we have build them either way and have to pull all dependencies so it's also kind of silly without notable space saving.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wjb
l33t
l33t


Joined: 10 Jul 2005
Posts: 650
Location: Fife, Scotland

PostPosted: Thu Mar 20, 2025 11:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mudspitease wrote:
No matter how minimal I try to make my setup, these programs always come up

Its not obvious what "always come up" means - it would be useful to see the command and the actual output. The bit that's confusing me is that qtassistant and qtdbusviewer are masked qt5 packages with no equivalents for qt6.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 23280

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2025 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Speaking as someone who has a somewhat reduced system (no DE), none of the packages the OP cites come up for me. Thus, I question whether OP's system is really "Minimal." ;)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Chiitoo
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 28 Feb 2010
Posts: 2768
Location: Here and Away Again

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2025 5:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

wjb wrote:
The bit that's confusing me is that qtassistant and qtdbusviewer are masked qt5 packages with no equivalents for qt6.

They were split packages from qttools for qt5, but splitting them out for qt6 ended up being too silly for the time being, so they are now part of the single qttools package.
_________________
Kindest of regardses.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Banana
Moderator
Moderator


Joined: 21 May 2004
Posts: 1955
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri Mar 21, 2025 8:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mudspitease, please provide the output of the command emerge --info
_________________
Forum Guidelines

PFL - Portage file list - find which package a file or command belongs to.
My delta-labs.org snippets do expire
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dmpogo
Advocate
Advocate


Joined: 02 Sep 2004
Posts: 3499
Location: Canada

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2025 1:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Chiitoo wrote:
Additionally, if the package name is not known, one can use, for example:

Code:
emerge --pretend "file path"

or

Code:
equery belongs "file path or command"


You can do

Code:

equery depends  name-of-the-package


and it will list everything that potentially depends on the package

Saying that, I thought linquist and assistant as separate packages are Qt5 only ? And for Qt6 they are USE flags for qttools ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hu
Administrator
Administrator


Joined: 06 Mar 2007
Posts: 23280

PostPosted: Sat Mar 22, 2025 1:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dmpogo wrote:
You can do
Code:

equery depends  name-of-the-package

and it will list everything that potentially depends on the package

The "potentially" part tends to confuse people rather than be helpful, which is why Neddy suggested emerge --depclean --ask --verbose, since that restricts itself to describing dependencies that are active. The equery depends form will mention any dependencies that could apply with the right USE flags, without checking whether the active USE flags would trigger that dependency.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Portage & Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum