View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
jonnymalm n00b
Joined: 26 Jun 2002 Posts: 68
|
Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 3:44 pm Post subject: routing problems |
|
|
I am setting up a gentoo box to be a router:
Code: | cable modem --> eth0(dhcp) [gentoo box] eth1(192.168.2.1) -- > wan iface(192.168.2.2) [linksys router]lan iface(192.168..1.1) --> interenal lan 192.168.1.*
|
I have to use the linksys for wireless access and also I do not have a hub/switch so I need it to connect my other computers. I basically am doing this for educational/security purposes.(I know it is redundant to NAT twice)
I am having troubles connecting to the Internet from my lan. Here is my routing table:
Code: | Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
192.168.2.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth1
X.X.5.0 * 255.255.255.0 U 0 0 0 eth0
loopback localhost 255.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 lo
default X.X.5.1 0.0.0.0 UG 1 0 0 eth0 |
I also do a: Code: | echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -o eth0 -j MASQUERADE |
Now from the internal lan I can ping 192.168.2.1 but I cannot ping the other ip address on eth0 or any other ip on the Internet. I have done this before but for some reason it is not working and I know I am forgetting to do something stupid.
Any ideas? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
think4urs11 Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Jun 2003 Posts: 6659 Location: above the cloud
|
Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 3:48 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Did you set the default gateway on your linksys to be 192.168.2.1? _________________ Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jonnymalm n00b
Joined: 26 Jun 2002 Posts: 68
|
Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 3:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Did you set the default gateway on your linksys to be 192.168.2.1? |
Yes, the linksys' default gateway is set to 192.168.2.1. I have done a Code: | tcpdump -i eth0
tcpdump -i eth1 |
Traffic seems to get to eth1 but not to eth0 |
|
Back to top |
|
|
think4urs11 Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Jun 2003 Posts: 6659 Location: above the cloud
|
Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 3:54 pm Post subject: |
|
|
you need a routing entry on the gentoo box for 192.168.1.0/24 via 192.168.2.2
HTH
T. _________________ Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jonnymalm n00b
Joined: 26 Jun 2002 Posts: 68
|
Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 4:00 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ahh, good point. I will give that a go tonight. I knew it was something glaringly obvious and I would hit myself when I saw it. Thx Think4UrS11! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
think4urs11 Bodhisattva
Joined: 25 Jun 2003 Posts: 6659 Location: above the cloud
|
Posted: Mon Dec 29, 2003 4:19 pm Post subject: |
|
|
don't hit yourself too hard please
the smaller the bug, the bigger the time loss due to it, some would call this murphys law...
PLUS... you are not alone in bugland _________________ Nothing is secure / Security is always a trade-off with usability / Do not assume anything / Trust no-one, nothing / Paranoia is your friend / Think for yourself |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|