Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
dyndnsupdate can't get current ip
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 1:10 am    Post subject: dyndnsupdate can't get current ip Reply with quote

when i use option -r (Resolv your IP address automaticly) i get:
Code:
bash-2.05b# dyndnsupdate -u username:password -s dyndns -r -h mydomain.org
Resolving your ip address...Segmentation fault
bash-2.05b#


but it works with a static ip:
Code:
bash-2.05b# dyndnsupdate -u username:password -s dyndns -a 192.123.23.4 -h mydomain.org
Connecting to members.dyndns.org...succeeded!
Update good and successful, IP updated
bash-2.05b#


why isn't dyndnsupdate able to resolve the ip?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragon561
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2002
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 1:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
dominik
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 22 Nov 2003
Posts: 84

PostPosted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 12:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but i works with this script. i grep the line with 'P-t-P:' (Point-to-Point Protocol):
Code:
MYIP="`ifconfig $INTERFACE | grep 'P-t-P:' | awk '{ print $2 }' | sed -e 's/.*://'`"
dyndnsupdate -u username:password -s dyndns -a $MYIP -h mydomain.org
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jeddhor
n00b
n00b


Joined: 30 Jan 2003
Posts: 29
Location: Asheville, NC

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 5:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

dominik: that script doesn't work if you don't use PPP directly to connect to the 'net.

i'm having the same problem with dyndnsupdate, and i'm behind a NAT router. i can specify the IP address on the command line, but if i try to resolve the IP automatically, i get a Segmentation Fault.

has anyone had any luck getting dyndnsupdate to resolve an IP address behind a NAT router? any help would be appreciated :)...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CMI
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 19 Aug 2003
Posts: 205

PostPosted: Tue Feb 17, 2004 6:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got tired of problems with other clients so I wrote my own available here: http://christopheringram.com/archives.php?section=1&sort=A

It doesn't conform 100% to DynDNS.org's rules, but eh.
_________________
SECOMGroup - Lineman.net
LightPHPCMS - PhotoGallery
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Lorijho
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 Jul 2003
Posts: 38
Location: Luxembourg

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2004 10:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

same problem here

Resolving your IP... Segmentation fault

Remark:
My eth1 receives the ISP IP from my Speedtouch Home ADSL Modem through dhcp spoofing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
PermaNoob
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2004
Posts: 60
Location: Galveston, Texas

PostPosted: Thu Feb 26, 2004 11:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe it's time to give ddclient a try? I've been using it since forever with zero problems.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
r3pek
Retired Dev
Retired Dev


Joined: 17 Sep 2003
Posts: 568
Location: Lisbon - Portugal

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2004 1:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

dominik wrote:
but i works with this script. i grep the line with 'P-t-P:' (Point-to-Point Protocol):
Code:
MYIP="`ifconfig $INTERFACE | grep 'P-t-P:' | awk '{ print $2 }' | sed -e 's/.*://'`"
dyndnsupdate -u username:password -s dyndns -a $MYIP -h mydomain.org


it works because your using static ip ;) $MYIP is a constant to the script and then to the dyndnsupdate :)

my sugestion is to use ddclient
Code:
emerge ddclient


it's really cool :D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dragon561
Tux's lil' helper
Tux's lil' helper


Joined: 25 Oct 2002
Posts: 112

PostPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2004 9:46 pm    Post subject: Problem fixed Reply with quote

Well, this is kind of flaky, but it DOES matter what order you put it in. The order that works for me is:
Code:
dyndnsupdate -h <hostname> -r -u <username:password>
It really shouldn't matter, but it does. Hopefully that will help dominik.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davidblewett
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 15 Feb 2004
Posts: 274
Location: Indiana

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 4:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use dyndnsupdate's option to get the IP address from a specified device. I can't remember the option off the top of my head, but I use ppp0 and it has never had a problem finding it from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bone
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 07 Jun 2002
Posts: 255
Location: Midwest, USA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I use this same option as well, and have never had the problems mentioned above.

davidblewett wrote:
I use dyndnsupdate's option to get the IP address from a specified device. I can't remember the option off the top of my head, but I use ppp0 and it has never had a problem finding it from there.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Magnetron
n00b
n00b


Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 12
Location: USSR

PostPosted: Tue Jun 01, 2004 5:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, dominik!
Option -r not work properly.

I use instead of -r option -i <interface>,
where <interface> is external (Internet) network card.

Look for example my /etc/conf.d/local.start
Code:

# /etc/conf.d/local.start:
# $Header: /home/cvsroot/gentoo-src/rc-scripts/etc/conf.d/local.start,v 1.4 2002/11/18 19:39:22 aza$                                                                                                   
# This is a good place to load any misc.
# programs on startup ( 1>&2 )
                                                                                                   
echo 1 > /proc/sys/net/ipv4/ip_forward
dyndnsupdate -u username:password -s dyndns -i eth0 -h mydomain.ath.cx

It's work fine for me ! :lol:
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum