View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
salk n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/21422571294397d2f87e0a0.gif)
Joined: 05 Aug 2003 Posts: 37 Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
|
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 8:08 am Post subject: Starting Apache2 |
|
|
Hi all,
One for the guru's
Code: |
/etc/init.d/apache2 start
|
This starts the process. However ... why does it take at least 5 minutes to start child processes?
Suggestions ? _________________ Steven Mac Intyre
http://steven.macintyre.name |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
feliperal Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/18193839794a5c3ca8267f6.gif)
Joined: 09 Mar 2003 Posts: 168
|
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 8:30 am Post subject: |
|
|
If it is not properly configured, for example you didn't specify the hostname in the httpd.conf file, the apache would not start properly. This could be where it is trying to resolve the address. I had this problem on my router. All I had to do was to put the server outside of what is called a DMZ, thus the router doesn't protect it behind the firewall. You can also activate port forwarding.
You can try these commands. I am using openbsd for my server, but I believe it should be simular.
Let's see if httpd started correctly. Apachectl or apache2 (Apache 2.0+) is just a symlink to httpd.
Code: | $ sudo apachectl start
/usr/sbin/apachectl start: httpd started
[sancho@molodetz:~]$ ps auxwww |grep httpd
www 13791 0.0 0.0 1108 1436 ?? Ss 9:12AM 0:00.02 httpd:
parent [chroot /var/www] (httpd)
www 29845 0.0 0.0 1108 456 ?? S 9:12AM 0:00.01 httpd:
child (httpd)
www 2989 0.0 0.0 1108 456 ?? S 9:12AM 0:00.01 httpd:
child (httpd)
www 21149 0.0 0.0 1108 456 ?? S 9:12AM 0:00.01 httpd:
child (httpd)
www 8784 0.0 0.0 1108 456 ?? S 9:12AM 0:00.01 httpd:
child (httpd)
www 30524 0.0 0.0 1108 456 ?? S 9:12AM 0:00.01 httpd:
child (httpd) |
Okay, lets see if it your system is listening through ports 80 and if something is bound to port 80:
Code: | netstat -apn | grep 80 |
I hope this helps.
Good Luck,
Felipe |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
meyerm Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/d9e8f8f73d32da1c4ca74.gif)
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 1311 Location: Munich / Germany
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
salk n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/21422571294397d2f87e0a0.gif)
Joined: 05 Aug 2003 Posts: 37 Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
|
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 3:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Brilliant
I am happy now... didnt need that module so its ok.
Thanks meyerm _________________ Steven Mac Intyre
http://steven.macintyre.name |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|