Yay! got it working!
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Gentoo Chat
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jonboy
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 6:54 pm    Post subject: Yay! got it working! Reply with quote

hi all

just got gentoo installed, thought i'd post and say what a cool system this is, i'm a relative linux newb only really used it for anything serious for 3 months or so at uni, saw gentoo thought that'll be a challenge for the holidays, something to do when the turkey and chocolate runs out. heh its kept me amused for a few days on just the install

very satisfying to install a system this way - feels like i've achived something - though all i did was follow the install instructions and search these boards - but all that text scrolling down the screen - must mean i'm doing somthing heh

portage is very cool indeed - why havn't i seen anything this cool for windows? - oh wait wrong place to ask - sorry, heh

so whats the one thing about gentoo that i simply must know (that wasn't in the install thingy)?

also how long does it take for updates to get into the ebuilds thingy? i mean how often should i emerge -u world
psyqil
Advocate
Advocate

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 7:06 pm    Post subject: Re: Yay! got it working! Reply with quote

Congrats!
Jonboy wrote:
also how long does it take for updates to get into the ebuilds thingy? i mean how often should i emerge -u world
Once a day. At most. Don't start any habits :wink: And I don't know what the one thing is that you have to know, but you fill learn it here! :D Have fun!

/me thinks a lot of people got gentoo as a christmas-present...
Dracnor
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 7:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to Gentoo :)