View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
sadler121 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/199746855842641ca0f0f23.jpg)
Joined: 01 May 2004 Posts: 18 Location: Galesburg,IL
|
Posted: Sun May 02, 2004 9:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, I downloaded acx100-0.2.0pre8_plus_fixes_3.tar.bz2, and followed all of the directions in the above post to a T, and I am still have troubles!
After I compile and reboot, I attempt to start the script ./start_net but I get the following:
Code: |
Module not found or not readable. Have you built it? This script expects it to be at ../src/acx_pci.o, relative to the script's location. Bailing...
|
I did notice that, even though I created the required drivers/net/wireless/acx100 in my 2.6 kernel tree, when I run 'make menuconfig' and then make && make modules_install ,I don't see the acx100_pci.ko modules pop up. Thus I am left to concluded that some how the module is not getting compiled when I run 'make && make modules_install'
Should I NOT be using the /usr/src/linux symlnk but the actually link instead? What else am I missing?
Here is my script file if that helps...
Code: |
#!/bin/bash
#########################################
# start_net script #
# acx100 project #
# acx100.sourceforge.net #
# edited by arnie <urnotwelcome@gmx.de> #
#########################################
# Please edit here
DEV=wlan0
ESSID="sadler" # THIS IS CASE SeNsItIvE!! any == associate to any ESSID
# Default rate configured as 11Mbps to not cause connection problems with non-22Mbps hardware...
RATE=11M
CHAN=6 # it's useful to try to stick to channels 1, 6 or 11 only, since these don't overlap with other channels
#TXPOWER=16 # 16 == 16.5dBm, 18 == 18dBm (default)
MODE=Auto # Auto == auto-select Managed or Ad-Hoc depending on environment
DEBUG=0xb
#KEY="B401CD21B44CCD21DEADBEEF11" # WEP128
ALG=open # open == Open System, restricted == Shared Key
USE_DHCP=0 # set to 1 for auto configuration instead of fixed IP setting
IP=192.168.0.10
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
GATEWAY=192.168.0.254
# Usually no editing should be required below this line...
# -- unless you want this script to fetch stuff with dhcp
#########################################
if test "$UID" != "0"; then echo "You are not root. To insert the module into your kernel, you need to be root. Enter su and try again. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
SYNC=`which sync`
INSMOD=`which insmod`
IFCONF=`which ifconfig`
IWCONF=`which iwconfig`
IWPRIV=`which iwpriv`
ROUTE=`which route`
SCRIPT_AT=`dirname $0`
if test -z "$SYNC"; then echo "sync not found. Go get a sane Linux system. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
if test -z "$INSMOD"; then echo "insmod not found. Go get a sane Linux system. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
if test -z "$IFCONF"; then echo "ifconfig not found. I can insert the module for you, but you won't be able to configure your interface."; CONTINUE=ASK; fi
if test -z "$IWCONF"; then echo "iwconfig not found. Make sure it is installed. The interface might work without, though."; CONTINUE=ASK; fi
if test -n "$CONTINUE"; then echo -n "Problems encountered. Do you want to continue? [n] "; read ANSWER
case $ANSWER in ( y | Y | Yes | YES | yes | j | J | ja | Ja | JA ) ;;
( * ) exit 1 ;;
esac
fi
MODULE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}/../acx100_pci.ko"
#MODULE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}/../src/acx_pci.o"
if test ! -r "$MODULE_AT"; then echo "Module not found or not readable. Have you built it? This script expects it to be at ../src/acx_pci.o, relative to the script's location. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
# FIRMWARE_AT has to be given as an absolute path!!
#FIRMWARE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}/../firmware/"
FIRMWARE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}/../firmware"
# check whether either of the two required main firmware files is
# available
if test ! -r "$FIRMWARE_AT/WLANGEN.BIN" -a ! -r "$FIRMWARE_AT/TIACX111.BIN"; then echo "Firmware not found or not readable. Have you placed it in the firmware directory or run make extract_firmware once? This script expects it to be at ../firmware/WLANGEN.BIN (or ../firmware/TIACX111.BIN for the ACX111 chip), relative to the script's location. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
if test "$RATE" != "11M"; then echo "Transfer rate is not 11 Mbps, but $RATE. If something doesn't work, try 11 Mbps."; fi
# for better debugging
# set -x
#echo 8 > /proc/sys/kernel/printk
# just in case ;)
$SYNC
sleep 1
if test -n "`lsmod |grep acx_pci`"; then ${SCRIPT_AT}/stop_net; fi
$INSMOD $MODULE_AT debug=$DEBUG firmware_dir=$FIRMWARE_AT
if test "$?" = "0"; then echo "Module successfully inserted."; else echo "Error while inserting module! Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
if test -n "$IWCONF"; then
if test -n "$RATE"; then
echo Setting rate to $RATE.
$IWCONF $DEV rate $RATE
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
fi
if test -n "$CHAN"; then
echo Setting channel $CHAN.
$IWCONF $DEV channel $CHAN
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
fi
if test -n "$TXPOWER"; then
echo Setting Tx power level to $TXPOWER dBm.
$IWCONF $DEV txpower $TXPOWER
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
sleep 1
fi
echo Trying to join or setup ESSID $ESSID.
$IWCONF $DEV essid "$ESSID"
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
if test -n "$MODE"; then
echo Setting mode to $MODE.
$IWCONF $DEV mode $MODE
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
fi
if test -n "$KEY"; then
echo Setting key to $KEY, algorithm $ALG.
$IWCONF $DEV key $ALG "$KEY"
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
fi
fi
# for notebook use - a power LED is sooo useless anyway ;-))
#test -n "$IWPRIV" && "$IWPRIV" $DEV set_led_power 0
if test $USE_DHCP -eq 1; then
# fetch an IP address from DHCP
rm -f /etc/dhcpc/dhcpcd-$DEV.pid > /dev/null
dhcpcd -d $DEV -t 5
# OR
# pump -i $DEV
else
# Hehe, this can be done after iwconfigs now :)
$IFCONF $DEV $IP netmask $NETMASK
if test "$?" != "0"; then echo "Error in \"$IFCONF $DEV $IP netmask $NETMASK\". Bailing..."; exit 1; else echo "Interface has been set up successfully."; fi
test -n "$GATEWAY" && $ROUTE add default gw $GATEWAY
fi
# Finally, let's do some tweaking to make sure we don't have any
# buffer management problems (yeah, it's an ugly workaround!)
$IFCONF $DEV mtu 576
if test "$?" != "0"; then echo "Error in \"$IFCONF $DEV mtu 576\". Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
# just in case ;)
$SYNC
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eGore911 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Mar 2003 Posts: 290
|
Posted: Mon May 03, 2004 5:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
relative linking is defuntional right now, replace
Code: |
FIRMWARE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}/../firmware"
|
with
Code: |
FIRMWARE_AT="/location/of/your/firmware"
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
YEL n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_morpheus.gif)
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Germany /Cologne
|
Posted: Sat May 15, 2004 8:56 pm Post subject: D-Link DWL-520+ (PCI) card gentoo |
|
|
anyone get the D-Link DWL-520+ (PCI) card working in kernel 2.4.25 ?? to work usiung the same method ?? ill be glad for anyhelp! _________________ Creativity is Allowing Ourself to Make Mistakes
And To Learn From Them
proud to be a gentootian |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eGore911 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Mar 2003 Posts: 290
|
Posted: Sun May 16, 2004 8:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
the acx100 driver works for 2.4 kernels, too. Take a look at the README file. You will find listed there the differences you need to do to get it running with 2.4 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cagnulein l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/5525999963f783a78ad59e.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 861 Location: Modena, Italy
|
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
i have a Dlink-502+ PCI Card. I follow all the steps that you mean but i have a strong problem...
when i start a # lspci the card is correctly recognized, but when i start a # iwconfig no card is found...
can anyone help me? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eGore911 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Mar 2003 Posts: 290
|
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 5:11 am Post subject: |
|
|
i use hotplug, so when i plug in my card i get several messages in , Try taking a look at it. In most cases it will tell you, that the driver was unable to load the firmware.
if you do not use hotplug, and look at the dmesg-log. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Cagnulein l33t
![l33t l33t](/images/ranks/rank_rect_4.gif)
![](images/avatars/5525999963f783a78ad59e.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 861 Location: Modena, Italy
|
Posted: Tue May 18, 2004 11:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
Thx for your reply, but unfortunaly I have to sell this card for buy an access point (my mobo have some problem with new pcis ) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
YEL n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/The Matrix/movie_the_matrix_morpheus.gif)
Joined: 26 Mar 2004 Posts: 27 Location: Germany /Cologne
|
Posted: Fri May 21, 2004 12:17 am Post subject: dlink G520 as an access point |
|
|
well i found the solution i got my self an other card based on atheros chipset and it works using madwifi-driver ![Razz :P](images/smiles/icon_razz.gif) _________________ Creativity is Allowing Ourself to Make Mistakes
And To Learn From Them
proud to be a gentootian |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
species007 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 09 Jun 2004 Posts: 29
|
Posted: Sat Jun 19, 2004 2:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Anybody got the ACX100 driver to work with a Netgear WG311v2-card? I may be able to grab three of them for 15$ each ...so it may be worth if they're working w/Linux ... |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
BakaHitokiri n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 25 Dec 2003 Posts: 7
|
Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2004 11:50 am Post subject: 2.6.7 problem with acx100 |
|
|
Ive been using my Topcom Skyr@cer 144 PCI card with the acx100 driver without any problems on my 2.4.25 and 2.6.5 kernels for a few months, but when i try using it with the 2.6.7 kernel it simply doesnt show up in the menuconfig after following the instructions. Any suggestions? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
PnGrata n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 10 May 2004 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2004 9:42 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I'm getting this error when I try to make the kernel:
make[4]: *** No rule to make target `drivers/net/wireless/acx100/acx_usb_80211frm.s', needed by `drivers/net/wireless/acx100/acx_usb_80211frm.o'. Stop.
Help? thnx |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
PnGrata n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 10 May 2004 Posts: 25
|
Posted: Tue Jun 29, 2004 12:26 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, got it fixed. First (as root) I executed the inject_kernel_tree script and used make menuconfig to activate it, then I added -DACX_IO_WIDTH=32 to the CFLAGS in the makefile for the acx. Then it compiled fine. Found some firmware and edited the start_net script as advised and it works! Thanks.
TRENDnet TEW-421PC card by the way, with 802.11g capability ![Very Happy :D](images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sau2004 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 29 Jun 2004 Posts: 28
|
Posted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 6:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Can someone help me out? When I run the start script, it gives me this error:
./start_net
Module successfully inserted.
Setting rate to 11M.
Error for wireless request "Set Bit Rate" (8B20) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; No such device.
Failed.
Setting channel 6.
Error for wireless request "Set Frequency" (8B04) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; No such device.
Failed.
Setting Tx power level to 18 dBm.
Error for wireless request "Set Tx Power" (8B26) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; No such device.
Failed.
Trying to join or setup ESSID CS.
Error for wireless request "Set ESSID" (8B1A) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; No such device.
Failed.
Setting mode to Auto.
Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06) :
SET failed on device wlan0 ; No such device.
Failed.
SIOCSIFMTU: No such device
Error in "/sbin/ifconfig wlan0 mtu 576". Bailing...
I have enabled wireless extensions in my kernel and then emerged wireless-tools
Thanks |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
gryps n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 07 Jul 2004 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 11:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi,
I am using Fedora Core 2 with the originally installed kernel and a Dlink DWL 650+ PCMCIA Wireless Card and have followed each single step of your tutorial, but the driver would not even start. This is the message I receive when trying to run "insmod /acx/acx_pci.ko debug=1 firmware_dir=/acx/firmware/" (the file locations are correct for my system; the script runs just the same command)
insmod: error inserting '/acx/acx_pci.ko': -1 Unknown symbol in module
This is what my /var/log/messages says:
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost kernel: acx_pci: Unknown symbol __floatsidf
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost kernel: acx_pci: Unknown symbol __fixunsdfsi
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost kernel: acx_pci: Unknown symbol __adddf3
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost kernel: acx_pci: Unknown symbol __muldf3
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost pci.agent[1622]: missing kernel or user mode driver acx_pci
Please help me, or I would have no choice but downgrade to this disgusting Win XP ![Mad :x](images/smiles/icon_mad.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Chaosite Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/1061141068427f6466ca728.jpg)
Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 540 Location: Right over here.
|
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 9:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
love-sources has the acx100 patch in it...
Thats what I'm using right now. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
taskara Advocate
![Advocate Advocate](/images/ranks/rank-G-1-advocate.gif)
Joined: 10 Apr 2002 Posts: 3763 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Wed Jul 07, 2004 10:50 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chaosite wrote: | love-sources has the acx100 patch in it...
Thats what I'm using right now. |
link to latest ebuild? ![Wink ;)](images/smiles/icon_wink.gif) _________________ Kororaa install method - have Gentoo up and running quickly and easily, fully automated with an installer! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
EzInKy Veteran
![Veteran Veteran](/images/ranks/rank_rect_5_vet.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Funny_Figure/owner.gif)
Joined: 11 Oct 2002 Posts: 1742 Location: Kentucky
|
Posted: Wed Jul 14, 2004 11:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I bought the Netgear WG311v2 card along with one of their routers without if checking here first because their previous cards had been well supported in Linux. After having an issue with the router that I later resolved I sent them an email expressing my disappointment that this card wasn't supported. Here's the text:
Quote: |
Thank you for your reply. The router ended up working after I left it unplugged overnight and tried the reset procedure again the next day. I've ordered a card with a Prism54 chip from another manufacturer. The WG311v2 card I've stuck in an old box and will use it to help test the drivers the people at http://acx100.sourceforge.net/matrix.html are developing. I have to say though that Netgear, along with ATI and Creative , has always been at the top of my list when purchasing Linux compatible hardware and I really would like to keep it there, so if there is any way your company can help the acx100 or some other similar project to get your cards working "out of the box" with Linux please do.
|
If I get any reply I'll post it here. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gav n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 10 Oct 2002 Posts: 65 Location: Surrey, UK
|
Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2004 12:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
gryps wrote: | I am using Fedora Core 2 with the originally installed kernel and a Dlink DWL 650+ PCMCIA Wireless Card and have followed each single step of your tutorial, but the driver would not even start. This is the message I receive when trying to run "insmod /acx/acx_pci.ko debug=1 firmware_dir=/acx/firmware/" (the file locations are correct for my system; the script runs just the same command)
insmod: error inserting '/acx/acx_pci.ko': -1 Unknown symbol in module
This is what my /var/log/messages says:
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost kernel: acx_pci: Unknown symbol __floatsidf
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost kernel: acx_pci: Unknown symbol __fixunsdfsi
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost kernel: acx_pci: Unknown symbol __adddf3
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost kernel: acx_pci: Unknown symbol __muldf3
Jul 6 00:10:56 localhost pci.agent[1622]: missing kernel or user mode driver acx_pci |
Okay, I came over this problem as well, and so if anyone has this you need to get the newer driver. I initially got the drivers from the official website for the ACX100 as "0.2.0pre8" whatever, but actually (for now) you need the archive "acx100-0.2.0pre8_plus_fixes_20" available here. That has a readme, and of course this and other topics on this forum say about getting the connection up and running. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
raul n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 29 Sep 2004 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 5:53 pm Post subject: |
|
|
hi everyone.
sorry for my ignorance but when i do the ./start_net the shell gives me this answer that i don't know why i how can i get that file in that dir.
"Have you built it? This script expects it to be at ../src/acx_pci.[k]o, relative to the script's location. Bailing..."
I new to linux and i need some help here.
thanks and sorry for my bad english |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eGore911 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Mar 2003 Posts: 290
|
Posted: Wed Sep 29, 2004 8:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I didn't use the script for a long time, nut maybe I can tell you an alternative.
I use hotplug to start and stop the network interface. I simply emerged hotplug, added a ifconfig_wlan0 section to /etc/conf.d/net (take a look at the examples in that file), compiled AND installed the latest driver from http://lisas.de/~andi/acx100/ and copied the firmware to /usr/share/acx. Now when I plug in my card, the network interface is automatically started. And when I unplug it, it's automatically stoped.
That solution is much better than using the scripts from acx100. If you think so too, you might give it a try
(These information have been taken from my memory, since I don't work at my wireless box at the moment. So if there is something wrong: This is the right place to ask ) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sirexx n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 4 Location: Austria
|
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 5:20 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hi everybody!
Maybe the problem is that I'm a real n00b , but somehow i can't get the drivers into the kernel.
Maybe I missunderstood something here, but I followed the Howto (with all that copying stuff) and then tried to compile the kernel with Code: | make && make modules_install | (as explained in the Gentoo Manual) in /usr/scr/linux...
But, I can't see any module while compiling. Furthermore, the compiling process lasts for about 5 secs. (Instead of several minutes when compiling the first time)
Can anyone give me some hints? _________________ Proud to be a n00b ![Smile :-)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eGore911 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Mar 2003 Posts: 290
|
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 5:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I compile my kernel with
Code: | make bzImage modules modules_install |
The way the manual describes it did not work for me. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sirexx n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 28 Sep 2004 Posts: 4 Location: Austria
|
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 5:39 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Maybe I have to say that I'm using the 2.6.8.1 and not a 2.4.x Kernel... Nevertheless did I try to do it in your way, but it's still the same
EDIT: A made my kernel to become compiled completely again. But after installing there's still no acx100 module ![Crying or Very sad :cry:](images/smiles/icon_cry.gif) _________________ Proud to be a n00b ![Smile :-)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eGore911 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Mar 2003 Posts: 290
|
Posted: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:10 pm Post subject: |
|
|
If you compile your (clean) kernel with Code: | make bzImage modules modules_install | there is no acx module. You have to build the external kernel module with Code: | tar -xjvpf acx100-0.2.0pre8_plus_fixes_34.tar.bz2
cd acx100-0.2.0pre8_plus_fixes_34
./Configure
make
make install |
and then move the firmware (from dlink or whereever) to /usr/share/acx. That's it. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eGore911 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Mar 2003 Posts: 290
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|