View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
GaryMercer Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/8225139904548f1eba1249.jpg)
Joined: 24 Mar 2003 Posts: 88 Location: (UK)
|
Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 2:19 pm Post subject: DWL-520+, acx100 & Kernel 2.6 (Howto) |
|
|
Hi
Hope this is of some use to those trying to get the D-Link DWL-520+ (PCI) card working in kernel 2.6.
Here goes....
1. Go to http://lisas.de/~andi/acx100/
and download the latest version. acx100-0.2.0pre6_plus_fixes_14 was the version I downloaded.
2. Look at the Readme file and you will find the following
Quote: |
--- LINUX 2.6 INSTALLATION ---
In order to use the acx100 driver with Linux 2.6 you'll need a complete 2.6
source tree and have to build the module "in-tree". You'll have to:
1. Create a directory drivers/net/wireless/acx100 in your 2.6 source tree.
2. Copy the files
- src/Makefile
- src/*.c
- include/*.h
from the acx100 sources into drivers/net/wireless/acx100 in your 2.6 tree.
3. Add a line reading "obj-m += acx100/" to the bottom of
drivers/net/wireless/Makefile .
4. Then build your kernel as usual, the acx100 driver will be built as module
(acx100_pci.ko). Make sure you have the required 2.6 module userspace
package (module-init-tools) and enjoy ![Wink ;-)](images/smiles/icon_wink.gif) |
Download the latest firmware files. Check out this post which shows you how to wget the files... https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=119681.
If you cannot Wget the files as above, copy them from the CD if you have the Windows install disc. Or if you have a windows boto partition, download in windows and then mount the windows partition in Gentoo and copy the required files over.
mkdir /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-test6-mm1/drivers/net/wireless/acx100/firmware and copy the files (that have been downloaded above) WLANGEN.BIN RADIO0d.BIN and RADIO11.BIN into this directory
mkdir /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-test6-mm1/drivers/net/wireless/acx100/scripts
Copy the files from the scripts folder in acx100-0.2.0pre6_plus_fixes_14/scripts into the newly created scripts folder.
Edit the start_net script as follows
DEV=wlan0
IP=Enter your IP here
NETMASK=Enter your netmask here
GATEWAY=Enter your Gateway IP here
ESSID="Enter your ESSID here" # THIS IS CASE SeNsItIvE!! any == associate to any ESSID
# Default rate configured as 11Mbps to not cause connection problems with non-22Mbps hardware...
RATE=11M
CHAN=Enter Channel number here # it's useful to try to stick to channels 1, 6 or 11 only, since these don't overlap with other channels
#TXPOWER=16 # 16 == 16.5dBm, 18 == 18dBm (default)
MODE=Managed
DEBUG=0xb
#KEY="B401CD21B44CCD21DEADBEEF11" # WEP128
ALG=open # open == Open System, restricted == Shared Key
Find the line that starts with MODULE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}
edit it to read MODULE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}/../acx100_pci.ko"
Next find the line that starts FIRMWARE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}
edit this to read FIRMWARE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}/../firmware/"
Save your file.
Reboot
Once you have re-booted
Open a console
su
cd /usr/src/linux-2.6.0-test6-mm1/drivers/net/wireless/acx100/scripts
./start_net
type iwconfig (Available from wireless-tools if you do not have it installed) and you should see your wireless LAN configuration, similar to below
wlan0 IEEE 802.11b+ ESSID:"Diamond" Nickname:"acx100 v0.2.0pre6"
Mode:Managed Channel:13 Access Point: xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx
Bit Rate=11Mb/s Tx-Power:20 dBm
Retry min limit:5
Encryption key:off
Power Management:off
Link Quality:95/100 Signal level:20/100 Noise level:5/100
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
Wireless networking with your D-Link DWL-520+ should now work.
That's all I needed to do. If anyone has problems with this, I will try and help as much as possible. But if you follow this post you should really be ok.
Regards
Gary
P.S. If anyone knows how to run the start_net script at boot up (EG, as a /etc/init.d script) I would be grateful. _________________ No one means all he says, and yet very few say all they mean, for words are slippery and thought is viscous.
Last edited by GaryMercer on Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:36 pm; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
kruthles n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/3619579440c8dd55bd8b.jpg)
Joined: 12 Dec 2003 Posts: 11 Location: mn
|
Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2004 4:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I recently got mine working using steps very close to yours, you saved me the trouble of having to type mine out. I was using a sony vaio and dlink DWL-650+ and it works great
This post should be a lot of help for anybody trying to get a acx100 card and 2.6 working! |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GaryMercer Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/8225139904548f1eba1249.jpg)
Joined: 24 Mar 2003 Posts: 88 Location: (UK)
|
Posted: Thu Jan 22, 2004 10:37 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I do hope this is useful as it took me ages to find this info out and work out what to do with it. ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) _________________ No one means all he says, and yet very few say all they mean, for words are slippery and thought is viscous. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
leon_73 Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/19948170973f0c226f51d37.jpg)
Joined: 13 Mar 2003 Posts: 505 Location: Milano
|
Posted: Fri Jan 23, 2004 9:01 pm Post subject: Re: DWL-520+, acx100 & Kernel 2.6 (Howto) |
|
|
GaryMercer wrote: |
1. Create a directory drivers/net/wireless/acx100 in your 2.6 source tree.
2. Copy the files
- src/Makefile
- src/*.c
- include/*.h
from the acx100 sources into drivers/net/wireless/acx100 in your 2.6 tree.
3. Add a line reading "obj-m += acx100/" to the bottom of
drivers/net/wireless/Makefile .
4. Then build your kernel as usual, the acx100 driver will be built as module
|
Hi,
There are 2 thing are not clear for me, that maybe you can explain:
1) at point 2 should I copy all the file in acx100 dir or I have to create also the subdirs src and include ???
2) when I use make menuconfig I don't see the acx100 option. Is it right?
Thanks
Leo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GaryMercer Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/8225139904548f1eba1249.jpg)
Joined: 24 Mar 2003 Posts: 88 Location: (UK)
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 1:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Create this directory /usr/src/linux/drivers/net/wireless/acx100
You do not have to make any subdirs in the directory
From the acx100-0.2.0pre6_plus_fixes_14
copy src/Makefile into /usr/src/linux/drivers/net/wireless/acx100
copy src/*.c into /usr/src/linux/drivers/net/wireless/acx100
copy include/*.h into /usr/src/linux/drivers/net/wireless/acx100
Then edit the file /usr/src/linux/drivers/net/wireless/Makefile and add
obj-m += acx100/
Then do your make menuconfig. You will not see an acx100 option in here, however when you do make to make your bzImage file you will see acx100 being compiled into the kernel. _________________ No one means all he says, and yet very few say all they mean, for words are slippery and thought is viscous. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
leon_73 Guru
![Guru Guru](/images/ranks/rank_rect_3.gif)
![](images/avatars/19948170973f0c226f51d37.jpg)
Joined: 13 Mar 2003 Posts: 505 Location: Milano
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 2:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
GaryMercer wrote: |
[SNIP]
Then do your make menuconfig. You will not see an acx100 option in here, however when you do make to make your bzImage file you will see acx100 being compiled into the kernel. |
Thanks, I'll try.
Leo |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GaryMercer Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/8225139904548f1eba1249.jpg)
Joined: 24 Mar 2003 Posts: 88 Location: (UK)
|
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 9:55 am Post subject: Starting Automatically |
|
|
Hello again,
Don't know if anyone is bothered with this (I am quite excited about writing my first RC Script) but I wrote this and added it to my default runlevel
#!/sbin/runscript
start() {
ebegin "Starting Wirless Interface (acx100)"
/usr/bin/startnet
eend $? "Failed to bring up wireless interface (acx100)"
}
stop() {
ebegin "Stopping Wireless Interface (acx100)"
/usr/bin/stopnet
eend $? "Failed to stop wireless interface (acx100)"
I saved it as /etc/init.d/wired
Then rc-update add wired default
Now my DWL-520+ is brought up automatically.
![Laughing :lol:](images/smiles/icon_lol.gif) _________________ No one means all he says, and yet very few say all they mean, for words are slippery and thought is viscous. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:20 am Post subject: |
|
|
Why write a wireless networking script when I have already written some?
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=122435
No reason why you can't use them with the acx100 drivers. And if there's a problem, let me know and I'll fix it ![Smile :)](images/smiles/icon_smile.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
GaryMercer Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/8225139904548f1eba1249.jpg)
Joined: 24 Mar 2003 Posts: 88 Location: (UK)
|
Posted: Mon Feb 02, 2004 10:24 am Post subject: |
|
|
Quote: | Why write a wireless networking script when I have already written some?
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=122435
No reason why you can't use them with the acx100 drivers. And if there's a problem, let me know and I'll fix it |
Thanks Uber I will give them a go when I get time. _________________ No one means all he says, and yet very few say all they mean, for words are slippery and thought is viscous. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
TheFueley Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/1740897228404ddf718afb3.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 75 Location: Washington DC
|
Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2004 1:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Holy crap finally! I had given up on that one. The only winblows box I have is because of the AG-520 card I have. Thanks for the info. I'll have to sneaker net the files over of course, but I'll try this out right away. _________________ The Fueley
0x54 0x68 0x65 0x20 0x46 0x75 0x65 0x6C 0x65 0x79 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
TheFueley Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/1740897228404ddf718afb3.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 75 Location: Washington DC
|
Posted: Sun Mar 07, 2004 6:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Oh wait a minute. I see something about acx100. Is that the chipset? Cause I know that my DWL-AG520 has the Atheros Chipset. Does this tut still apply or am I still stuck? _________________ The Fueley
0x54 0x68 0x65 0x20 0x46 0x75 0x65 0x6C 0x65 0x79 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eGore911 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Mar 2003 Posts: 290
|
Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 7:51 am Post subject: |
|
|
Great, it works! ![Very Happy :D](images/smiles/icon_biggrin.gif) |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 9:21 am Post subject: |
|
|
TheFueley wrote: | Oh wait a minute. I see something about acx100. Is that the chipset? Cause I know that my DWL-AG520 has the Atheros Chipset. Does this tut still apply or am I still stuck? |
Athereos requires the madwifi-driver which is in portage |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
TheFueley Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/1740897228404ddf718afb3.jpg)
Joined: 24 Sep 2003 Posts: 75 Location: Washington DC
|
Posted: Tue Mar 09, 2004 3:21 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Yeah, I never had much luck with mad-wifi. I can get it installed no prob. Just getting the setttings to stick is the problem. I enter the settings and get no error. Then I display the settings and they are still blank. I can never get the essid especially to stick. It can never find my AP either. Even if it was sitting next to the AP. The modules are or were loaded too. I gave up on it. _________________ The Fueley
0x54 0x68 0x65 0x20 0x46 0x75 0x65 0x6C 0x65 0x79 |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
G|N| Tux's lil' helper
![Tux's lil' helper Tux's lil' helper](/images/ranks/rank_rect_1.gif)
![](images/avatars/12308608074204c659276ba.gif)
Joined: 26 Feb 2004 Posts: 138 Location: Turnhout (Belgium)
|
Posted: Sun Mar 14, 2004 1:17 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i installed the drivers for my d-link 520+ card, i used acx100-0.2.0pre6_plus_fixes_15 that version and the start_net script worksm iwconfig shows my card, i can ping to the ip of the card but when i try to ping to another ip it say's destination host unreachable!
here is my start_net:
Code: | #!/bin/bash
#########################################
# start_net script #
# acx100 project #
# acx100.sourceforge.net #
# edited by arnie <urnotwelcome@gmx.de> #
#########################################
# Please edit here
DEV=wlan0
ESSID="any" # THIS IS CASE SeNsItIvE!! any == associate to any ESSID
# Default rate configured as 11Mbps to not cause connection problems with non-22Mbps hardware...
RATE=22M
CHAN=6 # it's useful to try to stick to channels 1, 6 or 11 only, since these don't overlap with other channels
#TXPOWER=16 # 16 == 16.5dBm, 18 == 18dBm (default)
MODE=Managed
DEBUG=0xb
#KEY="B401CD21B44CCD21DEADBEEF11" # WEP128
ALG=open # open == Open System, restricted == Shared Key
USE_DHCP=0 # set to 1 for auto configuration instead of fixed IP setting
IP=192.168.0.6
NETMASK=255.255.255.0
GATEWAY=192.168.0.1
# Usually no editing should be required below this line...
# -- unless you want this script to fetch stuff with dhcp
#########################################
if test "$UID" != "0"; then echo "You are not root. To insert the module into your kernel, you need to be root. Enter su and try again. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
SYNC=`which sync`
INSMOD=`which insmod`
IFCONF=`which ifconfig`
IWCONF=`which iwconfig`
IWPRIV=`which iwpriv`
ROUTE=`which route`
SCRIPT_AT=`dirname $0`
if test -z "$SYNC"; then echo "sync not found. Go get a sane Linux system. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
if test -z "$INSMOD"; then echo "insmod not found. Go get a sane Linux system. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
if test -z "$IFCONF"; then echo "ifconfig not found. I can insert the module for you, but you won't be able to configure your interface."; CONTINUE=ASK; fi
if test -z "$IWCONF"; then echo "iwconfig not found. Make sure it is installed. The interface might work without, though."; CONTINUE=ASK; fi
if test -n "$CONTINUE"; then echo -n "Problems encountered. Do you want to continue? [n] "; read ANSWER
case $ANSWER in ( y | Y | Yes | YES | yes | j | J | ja | Ja | JA ) ;;
( * ) exit 1 ;;
esac
fi
MODULE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}/../acx100_pci.ko"
if test ! -r "$MODULE_AT"; then echo "Module not found or not readable. Have you built it? This script expects it to be at ../src/acx100_pci.o, relative to the script's location. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
# FIRMWARE_AT has to be given as an absolute path!!
FIRMWARE_AT="${SCRIPT_AT}/../firmware/"
# check whether either of the two required main firmware files is
# available
if test ! -r "$FIRMWARE_AT/WLANGEN.BIN" -a ! -r "$FIRMWARE_AT/TIACX111.BIN"; then echo "Firmware not found or not readable. Have you placed it in the firmware directory or run make extract_firmware once? This script expects it to be at ../firmware/WLANGEN.BIN (or ../firmware/TIACX111.BIN for the ACX111 chip), relative to the script's location. Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
if test "$RATE" != "11M"; then echo "Transfer rate is not 11 Mbps, but $RATE. If something doesn't work, try 11 Mbps."; fi
# for better debugging
# set -x
#echo 8 > /proc/sys/kernel/printk
# just in case ;)
$SYNC
sleep 1
if test -n "`lsmod |grep acx100_pci`"; then ${SCRIPT_AT}/stop_net; fi
$INSMOD $MODULE_AT debug=$DEBUG firmware_dir=$FIRMWARE_AT
if test "$?" = "0"; then echo "Module successfully inserted."; else echo "Error while inserting module! Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
if test -n "$IWCONF"; then
if test -n "$RATE"; then
echo Setting rate to $RATE.
$IWCONF $DEV rate $RATE
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
fi
if test -n "$CHAN"; then
echo Setting channel $CHAN.
$IWCONF $DEV channel $CHAN
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
fi
if test -n "$TXPOWER"; then
echo Setting Tx power level to $TXPOWER dBm.
$IWCONF $DEV txpower $TXPOWER
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
sleep 1
fi
echo Trying to join or setup ESSID $ESSID.
$IWCONF $DEV essid "$ESSID"
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
if test -n "$MODE"; then
echo Setting mode to $MODE.
$IWCONF $DEV mode $MODE
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
fi
if test -n "$KEY"; then
echo Setting key to $KEY, algorithm $ALG.
$IWCONF $DEV key $ALG "$KEY"
test "$?" != "0" && echo Failed.
fi
fi
# for notebook use - a power LED is sooo useless anyway ;-))
#test -n "$IWPRIV" && "$IWPRIV" $DEV set_led_power 0
if test $USE_DHCP -eq 1; then
# fetch an IP address from DHCP
rm -f /etc/dhcpc/dhcpcd-$DEV.pid > /dev/null
dhcpcd -d $DEV -t 5
# OR
# pump -i $DEV
else
# Hehe, this can be done after iwconfigs now :)
$IFCONF $DEV $IP netmask $NETMASK
if test "$?" != "0"; then echo "Error in \"$IFCONF $DEV $IP netmask $NETMASK\". Bailing..."; exit 1; else echo "Interface has been set up successfully."; fi
test -n "$GATEWAY" && $ROUTE add default gw $GATEWAY
fi
# Finally, let's do some tweaking to make sure we don't have any
# buffer management problems (yeah, it's an ugly workaround!)
$IFCONF $DEV mtu 576
if test "$?" != "0"; then echo "Error in \"$IFCONF $DEV mtu 576\". Bailing..."; exit 1; fi
# just in case ;)
$SYNC
|
anybody has an idee?
my kernel is 2.6.3-gentoo-r1
gentoo 2004.0
my wireless card wasn't in my computer when i installed gentoo...problem? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
niall n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 17 Mar 2004 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:16 pm Post subject: This driver on amd64? |
|
|
Has anyone tried to get this working on an amd 64 box in 64 bit mode? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
dpp n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 19 Feb 2004 Posts: 3
|
Posted: Tue Mar 23, 2004 9:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I installed the acx100 driver in the kernel tree as instructed. However, when I tried to run ./start_net script, I received the message:
Code: | insmod: error inserting './../src/acx_pci.ko': -1 Unknown symbol in module
Error while inserting module! Bailing... |
Here is what 'dmesg' returned
Code: | acx_pci: Unknown symbol iw_handler_get_spy
acx_pci: Unknown symbol iw_handler_set_thrspy |
I am using kernel 2.6.3-gentoo-r1, and my card is DWL 650+.
'cardctl status' showed
Code: | Socket 0:
3.3V CardBus card
function 0: [ready] |
'lspci -v' also showed
Code: | 02:00.0 Network controller: Texas Instruments ACX 100 22Mbps Wireless Interface
Subsystem: D-Link System Inc: Unknown device 3b00
Flags: medium devsel, IRQ 11
I/O ports at 4000 [disabled] [size=32]
Memory at 20810000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=4K]
Memory at 20800000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [disabled] [size=64K]
Capabilities: [40] Power Management version 2 |
So I presume that the cardbus is working fine, and it recognizes my network card. Has anyone encountered this problem? How did you get around the insmod error. I have tried different version of acx100 driver, but still get the same error. |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
M1Sports20 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 25 Mar 2004 Posts: 194 Location: Chicago, IL
|
Posted: Thu Mar 25, 2004 6:24 pm Post subject: Error |
|
|
I get the same error as above, is there suppose to be a file compile called acx100pci.ko, or something like that
because i don't have any *.o or *.ko files
And if it is a module how do i start it up |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Catach Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Final Fantasy/Final_Fantasy_7_-_Sephiroth.gif)
Joined: 06 Nov 2003 Posts: 268 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 4:38 am Post subject: |
|
|
I've been trying to compile the acx100 drivers to use my Netgear WG311 v2 card. It seems to compile into the kernel ok (i think):
Code: |
CC drivers/net/3c59x.o
CC drivers/net/typhoon.o
CC drivers/net/acenic.o
drivers/net/acenic.c:135: warning: `acenic_pci_tbl' defined but not used
drivers/net/wireless/acx100/Makefile:3: ACX_DEBUG was not defined, assuming 1
LD drivers/net/built-in.o
|
My start_net script just sits and thinks for ages and other scripts i've tried (/etc/init.d/net.ath0) just return errors. I'm going to try a straight ethernet cable connection to my router as soon as i can get a long enough cord, but i really want wireless running.
Any suggestions are appreciated. _________________ Zak: Luke's making a 3D interface for Linux"
Jon G: "Yeah, Luke's making a 3D user interface with Logowriter"
Jon H: "He's only got 99 shapes to work with"
Jon G: "And they're all turtles." |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Catach Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
![](images/avatars/gallery/Final Fantasy/Final_Fantasy_7_-_Sephiroth.gif)
Joined: 06 Nov 2003 Posts: 268 Location: Australia
|
Posted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 9:37 am Post subject: |
|
|
I think i should be using different drivers as my card is a WG311 v2, not v1. I may end up changing the card itself if I cant get it working. Can you recommend a good card that the madwifi drivers work really well for? _________________ Zak: Luke's making a 3D interface for Linux"
Jon G: "Yeah, Luke's making a 3D user interface with Logowriter"
Jon H: "He's only got 99 shapes to work with"
Jon G: "And they're all turtles." |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
UberLord Retired Dev
![Retired Dev Retired Dev](/images/ranks/rank-retired.gif)
![](images/avatars/16007251014200867ea775c.gif)
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
Gregg_VA n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
Joined: 08 Apr 2004 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Thu Apr 08, 2004 2:31 am Post subject: |
|
|
would these instructions also work for the DWL-120+? from what i can find out the 120+, 520+ and 650+ are essentially the same chip but just different interface types (usb, pci, cardbus). can anyone verify that the 120+ works? |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
sadler121 n00b
![n00b n00b](/images/ranks/rank_rect_0.gif)
![](images/avatars/199746855842641ca0f0f23.jpg)
Joined: 01 May 2004 Posts: 18 Location: Galesburg,IL
|
Posted: Sat May 01, 2004 5:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
Ok, getting frustrated here, I went through ever step as mentioned above, but when I go to recompile my kernel I get the following:
[code]
make[2]: `scripts/fixdep' is up to date.
scripts/kconfig/conf -s arch/i386/Kconfig
drivers/net/Kconfig:2432: can't open file "drivers/net/wireless/Kconfig"
make[2]: *** [silentoldconfig] Error 1
make[1]: *** [silentoldconfig] Error 2
make: *** [include/linux/autoconf.h] Error 2
[code]
Whats wrong here?[/code] |
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
eGore911 Apprentice
![Apprentice Apprentice](/images/ranks/rank_rect_2.gif)
Joined: 11 Mar 2003 Posts: 290
|
|
Back to top |
|
![](templates/gentoo/images/spacer.gif) |
|