Stage1 install A-OK! but three little problems
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Other Things Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Progman3K
l33t
l33t

PostPosted: Mon Jan 12, 2004 9:03 pm    Post subject: Stage1 install A-OK! but three little problems Reply with quote

Hi,

I finally got through the installation.
I installed from Knoppix, and after a few false starts which were due to ignorance on my part, I finally started to clue in on how to install Gentoo.

That being said, I wish to congratulate all the Gentoo developers, because this is one hell of cool project!

I'm a long-time Windows user, and an almost total newbie concerning Linux.

OK, on to the problem I'm having.

I've configured my computer with a Stage1 installation, and as the message title states, it has worked beautifully; my computer boots with Grub and then goes on to boot X and I've got quite a few packages emerged successfully.

Once again, I have to relate how AMAZING I find Gentoo and the emerge system!

One problem I do have is that in one of my preceding install attempts, when i would boot the computer, it would load Grub, progress to booting the kernel, and a little bit after the hard disk probing would start, the computer would reboot.

That was due to the DEV and PROC folders either being missing or incorrect (a long story, I won't bore you because it has no bearing on this), so because of that I decided to start off minimally and gradually add modules.

So when this last successful installation attempt finished, I had no sound and no graphics.

I've been able to emerge XFree, and afterwards get X to start at boot-time, so now I have graphics.

I have no sound though.

My sound card is a Soundblaster Live.
I know that emu10k1 is required for this, and I have successfully emerged it, but I can't seem to figure out how to activate it...

What do I have to do to get the sound to work, and load at startup?