Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Quick question about formatting existing partitions...
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
redkazan
n00b
n00b

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 5:56 am    Post subject: Quick question about formatting existing partitions... Reply with quote

Hey All:

I'm relatively new to the Linux world (a few weeks), and have dabbled with Fedora Core 1 (almost too good -- just like windows; everything you could ever want and all bogged down) and Slackware (the opposite of FC1). It's about time I tried out Gentoo, simply because I love having direct control over *everything* that goes onto my system, and I think compiling all of your programs (from the kernel on up) is just so 1337. :) Also, I want to see what all the buzz is about.

Anyway, my question is that my system is already partitioned to dual boot Linux and XP. hd1 is XP, hd5 is Linux, hd6 is Swap, and hd7 is a big chunk of FAT32 that I can use to transfer things between the OSes. So, I'm sitting here at the Gentoo install prompt, wondering if there's a way to format (clean off) hda5 before continuing with the installation. Also, what do I need to mount? Should I mount hda5 to /mnt/gentoo, or should I just mount proc?

Edit: One more thing. Slack used lilo (installed to my MBR) as a bootloader. I guess I need to know the name of the new kernel, and where it will be (/boot?), so that I can add an entry to it in my lilo.conf *before* I lose the ability to do so (otherwise I'll install Gentoo, reboot, and lilo will still be looking for my Slack kernels [vmlinuz and vmlinuz-2.6.1]).

Shoot, sorry, last thing -- I'm running off of a LiveCD install (the one optimized for P4s).

Thanks in advance!

rk
PovMan
Guru
Guru

PostPosted: Tue Jan 13, 2004 6:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote