View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
nepenthe Guru


Joined: 14 Jul 2002 Posts: 317 Location: Sanford, ME
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 3:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Chaosite wrote: | Can you put the drivers for the ACX100 (wireless card) in love-sources?
It's not exactly a patch per se, but I'll make one out of it if you would put it in.
It's at acx100.sourceforge.net. |
I would love that as well =)
Does someone have an ebuild with those patches in for gcc 3.4? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
neenee Veteran


Joined: 20 Jul 2003 Posts: 1786
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 4:18 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i compiled it yesterday and apart from the
problem of some video4linux files having
doubled contents, it runs fine.
keep up the good work  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
steel300 Veteran


Joined: 10 Jul 2003 Posts: 1155
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 4:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
nepenthe wrote: | Chaosite wrote: | Can you put the drivers for the ACX100 (wireless card) in love-sources?
It's not exactly a patch per se, but I'll make one out of it if you would put it in.
It's at acx100.sourceforge.net. |
I would love that as well =)
Does someone have an ebuild with those patches in for gcc 3.4? |
I'll check the sourceofrge site to see what's going on. If it follows kernel standards, I see no problem with putting it in in the next release. _________________ Rationality is the recognition of the fact that nothing can alter the truth and nothing can take precedence over that act of perceiving it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
IvoryTiger Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 132
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 5:58 pm Post subject: Everything working here... |
|
|
Made the mistake of upgrading to module-init-tools-3.0presomething and it broke modprobe so I backed that down. Other than that, nice solid release steel300! _________________ --
For those about to compile...we salute you! |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
skion Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 99 Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 6:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Hmm, i'm getting this with the latest release:
Code: |
CC [M] drivers/scsi/sr.o
drivers/scsi/sr.c: In function `get_capabilities':
drivers/scsi/sr.c:889: parse error at end of input
drivers/scsi/sr.c:74: warning: `sr_remove' used but never defined
drivers/scsi/sr.c:97: warning: `sr_packet' used but never defined
make[2]: *** [drivers/scsi/sr.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [drivers/scsi] Error 2
make: *** [drivers] Error 2
|
I'm using gcc version 3.2.3 20030422, maybe thats the problem?
Thanks for all the great builds so far! _________________ - Skion |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Wedge_ Advocate


Joined: 08 Aug 2002 Posts: 3614 Location: Scotland
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 6:47 pm Post subject: |
|
|
@skion: fschneider wrote: | 2. drivers/scsi/sr fails to compile. the following patch fixes it:
--- drivers/scsi/sr.c 2004-01-17 10:44:19.773744944 +0100
+++ ../linux-2.6.1-love2/drivers/scsi/sr.c 2004-01-10 19:23:18.000000000 +0100
@@ -798,6 +798,7 @@
if ((buffer[n + 3] & 0x20) == 0) {
/* can't write DVD-RAM media */
cd->cdi.mask |= CDC_DVD_RAM;
+ }
if ((buffer[n + 3] & 0x10) == 0)
/* can't write DVD-R media */
cd->cdi.mask |= CDC_DVD_R; |
If the patch won't apply, just do it by hand - you only need to add the "}" in the middle. _________________ Per Ardua Ad Astra
The Earth is the cradle of the mind, but we cannot live forever in a cradle - Konstantin E. Tsiolkovsky
Gentoo Radeon FAQ |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
J0rus n00b


Joined: 27 May 2003 Posts: 30 Location: Maryland, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 6:59 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I was getting that SCSI error as well. Went back and looked at the sr.c code from previous 2.6.1_r2-love1 and it showed
on line 801.
Manually added the above and got a clean complie. Haven't tested the functionality as of yet, but the kernel boots fine and loads the sr module without error...
~J0rus |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Chaosite Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 540 Location: Right over here.
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 7:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Actually, the ACX100 drivers do have a big down-side: They are not SMP proof 100% yet.
Apparently they run and everything, but there are many possible (and unlikely, but still possible) race conditions.
I think letting go of hyper-threading for a while is better than not having Internet access for a while...
EDIT: Written a informative post in the appropriate section at the love-sources forum. Go and see. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Strom n00b


Joined: 01 Mar 2003 Posts: 36 Location: Estonia, Tallinn
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I just would like to say that i succesfully complied and booted using gcc 3.2.3 but w/o SCSI support for i don't need it |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
PrakashP Veteran


Joined: 27 Oct 2003 Posts: 1249 Location: C.C.A.A., Germania
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 8:44 pm Post subject: |
|
|
So, I gave love5 a try, and I don't know why. No lock-ups yet. Not that I want to complain... Whatever steel300 did with mm4, he did it well! Nice.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
skion Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 18 Aug 2003 Posts: 99 Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 8:58 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the sr.c patch guys! Although i really should have figured that one out by myself
Keep up the good work! _________________ - Skion |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fschneider n00b

Joined: 07 Nov 2003 Posts: 13
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 12:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
after compiling I get this one:
if [ -r System.map ]; then /sbin/depmod -ae -F System.map 2.6.1-love5; fi
WARNING: /lib/modules/2.6.1-love5/kernel/fs/nfsd/nfsd.ko needs unknown symbol dnotify_parent
From my .config:
#
# Network File Systems
#
CONFIG_NFS_FS=m
CONFIG_NFS_V3=y
CONFIG_NFS_V4=y
# CONFIG_NFS_DIRECTIO is not set
CONFIG_NFSD=m
CONFIG_NFSD_V3=y
CONFIG_NFSD_V4=y
# CONFIG_NFSD_TCP is not set
CONFIG_LOCKD=m
CONFIG_LOCKD_V4=y
CONFIG_EXPORTFS=m
CONFIG_SUNRPC=m
# CONFIG_SUNRPC_GSS is not set
I don't know why it breaks now, while it worked with love2, but I didn't investigate. I'll take a look at it tomorrow, since it is 2 am. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Evil Dark Archon Guru


Joined: 21 Dec 2002 Posts: 562 Location: Santa Rosa, CA
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 1:53 am Post subject: |
|
|
for some reason if you compile it into the kernel it will work. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
IvoryTiger Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 132
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 2:29 am Post subject: audio cdrom question... |
|
|
Okay everything works, except, CD audio.
I can verify xmms, kscd can read/play the CD, but I get no audio.
I have both digital and analog outputs running from my cdrom to my SB card. I have verified the sound works both through alsa (aplay in X and at console), and that arts sound works (through the KDE configure panel).
The only error I'm seeing in /var/log/messages is this:
Code: |
request_module: failed /sbin/modprobe -- sound-slot-1. error = 256
|
But I don't know if that even has anything to do with it.
I have tried
amixer set Master 100 unmute
amixer set PCM 100 unmute
amixer set CD 100 unmute
Heck I even fired up alsamixer itself and pushed everything to 100 that I could.
Any suggestions? _________________ --
For those about to compile...we salute you!
Last edited by IvoryTiger on Sun Jan 18, 2004 5:08 am; edited 1 time in total |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Halanegri Guru

Joined: 03 Mar 2003 Posts: 351 Location: Reykjavík, Iceland
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 4:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
For those of you who don't know, libaal and reiser4progs have been in portage for over a week.  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
cwt137 Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 25 Jul 2003 Posts: 99 Location: Southern California
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 6:36 am Post subject: |
|
|
I would like to use the love-sources because I have a laptop that could benefit from the igp and powernow patches. It is a compaq 2195us notebook and is very picky in linux. This could be just the kernel I need to get it to work properly. I dont see the love-sources in the portage tree. How do i install this thing? |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
puck3d n00b

Joined: 19 Sep 2003 Posts: 31
|
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fca Guru

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 346 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 11:42 am Post subject: |
|
|
Corp.Nobbs wrote: | OK, whats the score with gcc3.4? Currently I'm on 3.2.3. Firstly I'm a bit of a pussy went it comes to upgrading these sorts of core things. What impact if any would it make to the rest of my system i.e. should I emerge -U system/world after upgrading gcc? What's the benefit e.g. a faster kernel?
The other thing is that I've just emerge sync'ed and can't see gcc3.4 anyway (not it /usr/portage/sys-devel/gcc that is)  |
First of all, it's not in portage yet. I hacked together an ebuild (based on the gcc 3.3 ebuild) and use that.
Second: it is a major upgrade. You wouldn't unmerge gcc 3.2, but there is a C++ binary incompatibility, and many programs which compile with gcc 3.2 / 3.3 do not compile with gcc 3.4 (yet).
Short advice: If you don't like testing out pre-beta versions of a compiler, working around compiler/program bugs, then don't use it. On the other hand, if you want super performance (10% better or so on average AFAICT) then by all means, try it out, see this thread |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
Chaosite Guru


Joined: 13 Dec 2003 Posts: 540 Location: Right over here.
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 2:29 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Actually, I've been using this one for quite a while, then I started getting kernel panics related to it in my new install.
So I got a newer version, and it worked. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
steel300 Veteran


Joined: 10 Jul 2003 Posts: 1155
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 2:52 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The acx100 patches will go in the next release. However, there will be a huge disclaimer regarding there use. The code is incomplete, but that's the spirit of love-sources. Experimental ideas thrive here, so in it goes. _________________ Rationality is the recognition of the fact that nothing can alter the truth and nothing can take precedence over that act of perceiving it. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
fca Guru

Joined: 22 Feb 2003 Posts: 346 Location: Netherlands
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 3:05 pm Post subject: |
|
|
BTW, I´m now testing reiser4. Seems impressive so far.
Using it as a temp directory now. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stefanwa Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 09 Dec 2002 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 4:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
fca wrote: | BTW, I´m now testing reiser4. Seems impressive so far.
Using it as a temp directory now. |
I'm using it as my root(!) since 2 days and no problems so far! Performance is really impressive!!  |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
darkless n00b

Joined: 01 Jan 2004 Posts: 42 Location: Denmark
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 4:43 pm Post subject: |
|
|
stefanwa wrote: | I'm using it as my root(!) since 2 days and no problems so far! Performance is really impressive!!  |
Damn, you must have ice in your stomach  _________________ Ignorance should be painful. |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
TheCoop Veteran


Joined: 15 Jun 2002 Posts: 1814 Location: Where you least expect it
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 6:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ill probably change my root partiton to reiser4 ina month or so when the code has reasonably stabiised _________________ 95% of all computer errors occur between chair and keyboard (TM)
"One World, One web, One program" - Microsoft Promo ad.
"Ein Volk, Ein Reich, Ein Führer" - Adolf Hitler
Change the world - move a rock |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
stefanwa Tux's lil' helper

Joined: 09 Dec 2002 Posts: 140
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 7:32 pm Post subject: |
|
|
darkless wrote: | Damn, you must have ice in your stomach  |
Seems like!!
Of course I did a full backup in advance so I can go back anytime I want to. And it's a fact that I have no single important files on my Linux partitions, so when everything would get lost it won't really matter.
I'm lovin the risk... |
|
Back to top |
|
 |
|