View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
crwagner n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2004 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 6:03 pm Post subject: 50% packet loss on LAN |
|
|
Hi all,
Ok, I've gone through here and read several of the threads relating to network problems, but still can't seem to get my Gentoo box to work right. It used to be fine while running debian, but after a hard drive failure, I decided to get a new drive and install Gentoo.
While doing the install, all the networking worked just fine. Now however, I get excessive packet loss, which makes working with the machine a real bear (emerge [r]sync and wget/proz take many attempts). I've tried 2 different network cards (Tulip based and 3c590 based), 2 different ethernet cables, 2 different PCI slots, different ports on the switch, both 2.4.22 and 2.6.1 kernels, disabling acpi, tried noapic (but samba wouldn't start then).
When I boot up with a LiveCD, I get 0% packet loss, however, when I use the compiled kernel, I end up with 40-60% packet loss (when testing with 100-300 packets) pinging other hosts on my lan segment (which can ping each other with 0% packet loss). In all this time, I've only seen a max of 1 error, 2 overruns, and 10 collisions. While trying different transmission speeds (via mii-diag), I've seen the carrier stat in ipconfig slowly climb while using 10BaseT-FD, but not during 100BaseTx-FD or 10BaseT-HD. Once an SSH session is established, it will stay up, despite pings not going through (I can check the pings via SSH without problem, but it will drop packets back to the machine estabilishing the SSH connection. The drops always happen in blocks (i.e. icmp_seq 1-32 get responses, 33-47 drop (with no error messages, merely no reply), 48-63 get responeses...etc).
I do know quite a bit about linux, however, lower level networking is my weakest area.
Relevant lines from my latest attempts at the 2.6.1-gentoo kernel config
Quote: | #
# Networking options
#
CONFIG_PACKET=y
CONFIG_PACKET_MMAP=y
CONFIG_NETLINK_DEV=y
# CONFIG_NETFILTER is not set
# CONFIG_FILTER is not set
CONFIG_UNIX=y
CONFIG_INET=y
# CONFIG_IP_MULTICAST is not set
# CONFIG_IP_ADVANCED_ROUTER is not set
# CONFIG_IP_PNP is not set
# CONFIG_NET_IPIP is not set
# CONFIG_NET_IPGRE is not set
# CONFIG_ARPD is not set
# CONFIG_INET_ECN is not set
CONFIG_SYN_COOKIES=y
CONFIG_IPV6=y
# CONFIG_KHTTPD is not set
# CONFIG_ATM is not set
# CONFIG_VLAN_8021Q is not set
# CONFIG_IPX is not set
# CONFIG_ATALK is not set
#
# Network testing
#
# CONFIG_NET_PKTGEN is not set
CONFIG_IPSEC=m
CONFIG_IPSEC_IPIP=y
CONFIG_IPSEC_AH=y
CONFIG_IPSEC_AUTH_HMAC_MD5=y
CONFIG_IPSEC_AUTH_HMAC_SHA1=y
CONFIG_IPSEC_ESP=y
CONFIG_IPSEC_ENC_3DES=y
CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG=y
# CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_MD5 is not set
# CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_SHA1 is not set
# CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_SHA2 is not set
# CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_3DES is not set
CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_AES=m
# CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_BLOWFISH is not set
CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_TWOFISH=m
CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_SERPENT=m
# CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_CAST is not set
# CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_NULL is not set
# CONFIG_IPSEC_ALG_1DES is not set
CONFIG_IPSEC_IPCOMP=y
CONFIG_IPSEC_DEBUG=y
CONFIG_IPSEC_NAT_TRAVERSAL=y
#
# Network device support
#
CONFIG_NETDEVICES=y
#
# ARCnet devices
#
# CONFIG_ARCNET is not set
CONFIG_DUMMY=m
# CONFIG_BONDING is not set
# CONFIG_EQUALIZER is not set
# CONFIG_TUN is not set
# CONFIG_ETHERTAP is not set
#
# Ethernet (10 or 100Mbit)
#
CONFIG_NET_ETHERNET=y
# CONFIG_SUNLANCE is not set
# CONFIG_HAPPYMEAL is not set
# CONFIG_SUNBMAC is not set
# CONFIG_SUNQE is not set
# CONFIG_SUNGEM is not set
CONFIG_NET_VENDOR_3COM=y
# CONFIG_EL1 is not set
# CONFIG_EL2 is not set
# CONFIG_ELPLUS is not set
# CONFIG_EL16 is not set
# CONFIG_ELMC is not set
# CONFIG_ELMC_II is not set
CONFIG_VORTEX=y
# CONFIG_TYPHOON is not set
# CONFIG_LANCE is not set
# CONFIG_NET_VENDOR_SMC is not set
# CONFIG_NET_VENDOR_RACAL is not set
# CONFIG_HP100 is not set
# CONFIG_NET_ISA is not set
CONFIG_NET_PCI=y
# CONFIG_PCNET32 is not set
# CONFIG_AMD8111_ETH is not set
# CONFIG_ADAPTEC_STARFIRE is not set
# CONFIG_APRICOT is not set
# CONFIG_B44 is not set
# CONFIG_FORCEDETH is not set
# CONFIG_CS89x0 is not set
CONFIG_TULIP=y
# CONFIG_TULIP_MWI is not set
# CONFIG_TULIP_MMIO is not set
# CONFIG_DE4X5 is not set
# CONFIG_DGRS is not set
# CONFIG_DM9102 is not set
# CONFIG_EEPRO100 is not set
# CONFIG_EEPRO100_PIO is not set
# CONFIG_E100 is not set
# CONFIG_LNE390 is not set
# CONFIG_FEALNX is not set
# CONFIG_NATSEMI is not set
CONFIG_NE2K_PCI=m
|
Relevent output of /proc/pci:
Quote: |
Bus 0, device 18, function 0:
Ethernet controller: 3Com Corporation 3c905 100BaseTX [Boo (rev 0).
IRQ 3.
Master Capable. Latency=64. Min Gnt=3.Max Lat=8.
I/O at 0xee80 [0xeebf].
|
Quote: | gentoo linux # cat /proc/interrupts
CPU0
0: 7632655 XT-PIC timer
1: 116 XT-PIC i8042
2: 0 XT-PIC cascade
3: 25420 XT-PIC eth0
10: 22286 XT-PIC ide2, ide3
11: 0 XT-PIC uhci_hcd
15: 19 XT-PIC ide1
NMI: 0
LOC: 7632784
ERR: 0
|
Anyone have any further suggestions for what I might try?
Thanks,
Cliff |
|
Back to top |
|
|
dogshu Apprentice
Joined: 22 Jun 2003 Posts: 173 Location: New Haven, CT, USA
|
Posted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 8:51 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You should make sure you're using a decent network cable... CAT5 or CAT5e is good, CAT3 is bad. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
crwagner n00b
Joined: 17 Jan 2004 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 3:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
dogshu wrote: | You should make sure you're using a decent network cable... CAT5 or CAT5e is good, CAT3 is bad. |
I have alread tried two different Cat 5e cables (Belkin I believe) that I've used for other machines with no problems (and no physical damage to either cable) |
|
Back to top |
|
|
bbringle n00b
Joined: 09 Feb 2004 Posts: 1
|
Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:14 am Post subject: |
|
|
I compiled gentoo a few days ago on my home computer and experienced the same network problems (drops and errors) with the default 2.4.22-r5 gen kernel.
As a fix, I recompiled my kernel to remove the IPv6 and IPSec stuff, which I don't use, and the problems all went away No drops or errors anymore.
However,
I'm not sure if the blame can be put on a poor kernel or poor networking equipment... as when I direct connected my NIC to the cable modem the networking with the gen kernel worked fine. I only had network problems when I connected through my $30 D-Link router.
I suggest removing the IPv6 from your kernel configuration if it is not necessary for operations. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
|