View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
chr1z Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 207
|
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 11:50 am Post subject: bringing up eth0 problem |
|
|
when i boot i only get
bringing up lo ... [ok]
i did and etc-update and all my etc config files seem to be broken
i edited the /etc/conf.d/net
and /etc/resolv.conf
everything worked fine before but now eth0 is not starting automatically
the proper module is also in /etc//modules.autoload
any suggestion?
it is strange because i don't get a failed to bring up eth0.. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Naan Yaar Bodhisattva
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 1549
|
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 12:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
May not be in the default runlevel. Try:
Code: |
rc-update add net.eth0 default
|
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
chr1z Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 207
|
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 4:13 pm Post subject: |
|
|
i already did that
does not help
it says that it is already in default runlevel
i think the net.eth0 file is broken or something like that
can i recreate it ? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Naan Yaar Bodhisattva
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 1549
|
Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2002 7:11 pm Post subject: |
|
|
A safe way to recover net.eth0 is:
Code: |
ebuild unpack /usr/portage/sys-apps/baselayout/baselayout-1.7.9-r1.ebuild
cd /var/tmp/portage/baselayout-1.7.9-r1/work/rc-scripts-1.3.5/init.d
cp net.eth0 /etc/init.d
|
Substitute your version of baselayout above. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chr1z Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 207
|
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 12:05 am Post subject: |
|
|
ok that helped me to bring eth0 up again
but i still can't browse any website
something is still wrong
any ideas?
i added the correct nameserver ip to resolv.conf
i can't ping www.gentoo.org or any other site |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rac Bodhisattva
Joined: 30 May 2002 Posts: 6553 Location: Japanifornia
|
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 1:17 am Post subject: |
|
|
Make sure the gateway line in /etc/conf.d/net is set up correctly. _________________ For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chr1z Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 207
|
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 4:36 pm Post subject: |
|
|
the gateway line IS set up correctly
but when i try the following
Code: |
route add net default gw 192.168.168.230
|
i get this output
net: host name lookup failure
my hostname is set up correctly in /etc/hostname |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Naan Yaar Bodhisattva
Joined: 27 Jun 2002 Posts: 1549
|
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 6:24 pm Post subject: |
|
|
The syntax is "-net" rather than "net" below. Hence the error. What are the contents of your /etc/conf.d/net file?
Can you ping a host by IP? For example, what does pinging the IP (www.gentoo.org) below give you:
chr1z wrote: | ...
Code: |
route add net default gw 192.168.168.230
|
i get this output
net: host name lookup failure
... |
|
|
Back to top |
|
|
chr1z Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 207
|
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 7:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
my conf.d/net file
Code: |
# This is basically the ifconfig argument without the ifconfig $iface
#
iface_eth0="192.168.168.1 broadcast 192.168.168.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="207.170.82.202 broadcast 207.0.255.255 netmask 255.255.0.0"
# For DHCP set iface_eth? to "dhcp"
# For passing options to dhcpcd use dhcpcd_eth?
#
#iface_eth0="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth0="..."
# For adding aliases to a interface
#
#alias_eth0="192.168.0.3 192.168.0.4"
# NB: The next is only used for aliases.
#
# To add a custom netmask/broadcast address to created aliases,
# uncomment and change accordingly.
#
#broadcast_eth0="192.168.0.255"
#netmask_eth0="255.255.255.0"
# For setting the default gateway
#
gateway="eth0/192.168.168.230"
|
and the ping statistics:
Code: |
--- 64.57.168.198 ping statistics ---
21 packets transmitted, 21 packets received, 0% packet loss
round-trip min/avg/max = 242.2/576.7/1273.5 ms
| [/quote] |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rac Bodhisattva
Joined: 30 May 2002 Posts: 6553 Location: Japanifornia
|
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 7:15 pm Post subject: |
|
|
You said you added the correct nameserver to /etc/resolv.conf, but is there a chance that there's a typo in there? It sure looks like a resolver problem now. _________________ For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chr1z Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 207
|
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 9:28 pm Post subject: |
|
|
my resolv.conf contains only this ip
194.25.2.129
which is the correct nameserver for my isp
still i can't browse anywebsite or find any host |
|
Back to top |
|
|
rac Bodhisattva
Joined: 30 May 2002 Posts: 6553 Location: Japanifornia
|
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 9:41 pm Post subject: |
|
|
chr1z wrote: | my resolv.conf contains only this ip
194.25.2.129 |
Does it just have that line exactly, or does it say: Code: | nameserver 194.25.2.129 |
_________________ For every higher wall, there is a taller ladder |
|
Back to top |
|
|
chr1z Apprentice
Joined: 17 Jul 2002 Posts: 207
|
Posted: Sat Aug 24, 2002 10:55 pm Post subject: |
|
|
ok i am stupid ...
nameserver was missing lol |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|