View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
ddrbaka n00b
Joined: 18 Dec 2003 Posts: 2 Location: Pa
|
Posted: Sun Jan 25, 2004 6:35 am Post subject: compiling gentoo on athlon64 parallel compiling |
|
|
Hey all,
I'm planning on setting up gentoo on my new athlon64 box (3000+, msi k8t800) and I have a question about the -j flag in make.conf...
does it hurt to set it higher than -j2 on a single processor machine,
and is there a chance of it compiling faster? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
Martin LORANG Tux's lil' helper
Joined: 07 Dec 2003 Posts: 92 Location: Moselle / France
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 3:33 pm Post subject: |
|
|
It doesnt hurt but it wont build faster, more likely slower. Because there are more tasks (threads ?) to manage on a single proc.
Martin |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nevynxxx Veteran
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 1123 Location: Manchester - UK
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 5:03 pm Post subject: |
|
|
What about on a hyperthreading P4? this big black box at work must be useful for something :twisted: _________________ My Public Key
Wanted: Instructor in the art of Bowyery |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trexmaster n00b
Joined: 13 Sep 2003 Posts: 17 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 5:27 pm Post subject: |
|
|
A HT P4 can handle -j3 without any problem, given you've configured HT correctly (sorry i've no info on how to do that).
If you have several machines on your network, you can configure distcc to do distributed compilation. Then you can run with -jN where N=the_number_of_machines_on_your_network+1. Don't forget to configure your machines for the correct target.
There's a guide for distcc right here. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
nevynxxx Veteran
Joined: 12 Nov 2003 Posts: 1123 Location: Manchester - UK
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 5:46 pm Post subject: |
|
|
trexmaster wrote: | A HT P4 can handle -j3 without any problem, given you've configured HT correctly (sorry i've no info on how to do that).
|
thought so, I think you just enable smp in the kernel, and that takes care of it, knoppix rerports two cpu's for this comp, 1@1700MHz and 1@1699MHz, so it should work. _________________ My Public Key
Wanted: Instructor in the art of Bowyery |
|
Back to top |
|
|
jstelly n00b
Joined: 28 Dec 2003 Posts: 70
|
Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2004 7:12 pm Post subject: |
|
|
-j2 or -j3 should be fine. I set -j3 in this strange hope that it'll keep my CPU busier, but I couldn't tell you if it does or not.
The bottom line is that gcc on the AMD64 screams compared to my x86 machines.
As for crosscompiling, i.e. using your AMD64 to compile for x86, I read some guides on building gcc for other targets but it was way too complicated. I had assumed that it would be as easy as running make with an option to tell it what output target it wanted, but that's not the case. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
trexmaster n00b
Joined: 13 Sep 2003 Posts: 17 Location: Paris, France
|
Posted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 9:19 am Post subject: |
|
|
jstelly wrote: |
The bottom line is that gcc on the AMD64 screams compared to my x86 machines. |
What do you mean by "scream" ? GCC 3.2.3 runs without a fuss (and pretty fast too ) on my Athlon 64. But I must add that right now I've only built a stable 32-Bits system, as I need it for programming. I've kept room for building a 64-Bits system and I'll start working on that this week.
jstelly wrote: | As for crosscompiling, i.e. using your AMD64 to compile for x86, I read some guides on building gcc for other targets but it was way too complicated. I had assumed that it would be as easy as running make with an option to tell it what output target it wanted, but that's not the case. |
Strange. Doesn't passing -m32 to gcc does the trick to build for x86 32-Bits ? Read something like that in the GCC 3.4 thread but I haven't tried it yet. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|