Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
Grub Error 21, Please Urgent. [Solved :) ]
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 7:34 am    Post subject: Grub Error 21, Please Urgent. [Solved :) ] Reply with quote

Ok, i am trying to install Gentoo on a system that has two hard drives. The first has two partitions, both of which are windows ntfs. The second drive has five partitions. The first is a windows extended partition the next three are my linux partitions and the last is a windows ntfs partition, ie

Code:

hda1     =>     Windows XP ntfs  (C:)
hda2     =>     Windows XP ntfs  (D:)

hdb1     =>     XP Extended ??
hdb2     =>     Linux Boot
hdb3     =>     Linux Swap
hdb4     =>     Linux Root
hdb5     =>     Windows XP ntfs  (F:)


Now when installing grub i did this:

Code:

grub>  root(hd1,1)
grub>  setup(hd0)
grub>  quit


This however after a reboot gave me error 21. Anyone know how i am supposed to set this up correctly??

Oh yeah, this is my supervisors machine, he wants to try gentoo so i have to have it running by tomorrow, eek.


Last edited by isoaga on Wed Jan 28, 2004 6:31 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jef0113
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 37
Location: Be

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

can you post your grub.conf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

heres my grub.conf

Code:


timeout 30

default 0

fallback 1

title Linux
root (hd1,1)
kernel (hd1,1)/boot/bzImage root=/dev/hdb4

title Windows XP
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
makeactive
chainloader +1

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I got this from http://www.gnu.org/software/grub/manual/grub.html#Troubleshooting

Quote:

21 : Selected disk does not exist
This error is returned if the device part of a device- or full file name refers to a disk or BIOS device that is not present or not recognized by the BIOS in the system.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jef0113
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 37
Location: Be

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

this probebly ain't gone solve your problem buth it should be

Code:
title=Linux

Code:
title=Windows Xp


give it a try
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 8:19 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Having just a space seems to work fine on all my other gentoo boxes, but i will try your suggestion.

Now its really weirding me out, it actually worked once, it booted fine and i could even get into windows xp (just to check to see if windows was still working) but i didn't change anything, dammit. Now it still aint worken, just error 21. :(
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheBigBug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Yerseke, Holland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 8:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm, are you sure that the drive is working and that your partitions are setup in the way you've shown here? In that case the problem is interesting.

You can review your partition scheme by booting from the live-cd and type
Code:
cfdisk /dev/hdb


If your setup is correct, post another message... GL
_________________
Even MS can't find me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok here is the setup as according to cfdisk /dev/hdb

Code:


Name     Flags       Type             FS           Label
---------------------------------------------------------
                      Logical         freespace
hdb5                  Logical            ntfs        [^G]
hdb2       boot        Primary          ext3
hdb3                   Primary          swap           
hdb4                   Primary           ext3
---------------------------------------------------------


It seems to be what i though i set it up as
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jef0113
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 37
Location: Be

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You could try to re-emerge grub , if that fails
try lilo , and you could also try to switch the disks
not sure , that's what i would try ...

hope this helps
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

swapping the disk was an idea that i had but the stupid case on this machine is welded shut or something, i will bring it an axe tomorrow and try that. As for trying lilo, i din't even consider it. Its definetly worth a try even though i've never used it before...

Here goes...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, re-emerging grub didn't work, and lilo did something very weird. My /etc/lilo.conf file is as follows

Code:


lba32
boot=/dev/hda
map=/boot/.map
install=/boot/boot-menu.b
menu-scheme=Wb
prompt
delay=50
vga=normal

image=/boot/bzImage
     root=/dev/hdb4
     label=Gentoo
     read-only

other=/dev/hda1
     label=Windows
     tabel=/dev/hda


and i ran the sbin/lilo command and got two warning messages...

Warning: something to do with 'proc/partitions'...
Warning: The boot sector and the map file are on different disks
Added Gentoo *
Added Windows

After Rebooting i get a very terrible screen full of...

Code:

L 01 01 01 01 01 01 ....


Now what?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
jef0113
n00b
n00b


Joined: 10 Nov 2003
Posts: 37
Location: Be

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 12:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry buth it's back to grub i think ,
Code:
Note: If you use a different partitioning scheme and/or kernel image, adjust accordingly. However, make sure that anything that follows a GRUB-device (such as (hd0,0)) is relative to the mountpoint, not the root. In other words, (hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz is in reality /boot/grub/splash.xpm.gz since (hd0,0) is /boot.


if i understand correct , yours should be
Code:
kernel (hd1,1)/bzImage root=/dev/hdb4
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheBigBug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Yerseke, Holland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I've been thinking. Your Grub-setup looks okay... Why can't it find your harddisk. And Lilo having troubles too...

Grub has tab completion. So, at the command line type
Code:
grub

After that you are in grub's environment. There you can use tab-completion to check your hard-disk setup. The only thing I can think of at this moment is that Grub sees hdb not as hd1.

I'll check this thread back in a couple of hours.
<edit>Typo's</edit>
_________________
Even MS can't find me...


Last edited by TheBigBug on Tue Jan 27, 2004 12:35 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TheBigBug
n00b
n00b


Joined: 23 Jan 2003
Posts: 41
Location: Yerseke, Holland

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry...
_________________
Even MS can't find me...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, first up the line pointing to the kernel does work with a /boot as there is a symbolic link under the boot partition called boot that points to /boot. I remember that gave me some headaches on my first gentoo install. But its not the kernel line thats the problem. The computer has actually booted a couple of times over the past hours, 1 in 20 or so, and when it does i can get that kernel line and its parameters to work fine. The problem is that it don't boot damn near most of the time, with grub or lilo so i figured i'd try a grub boot disk and see what happens...

After booting to the grub prompt i used the tab completion feature to check which drives grub can see, and it can only see hd0 :( Therefore i'm thinking that its hardware related form some reason, even though it worked fine with windows.

Now why would grub be able to see both hdd's after booting from the livecd but not able to see them when booting stand alone??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, i have now swaped over the hdds so that the linux partitions are now

Code:

hdc1     =>     Windows XP ntfs  (C:)
hdc2     =>     Windows XP ntfs  (D:)

hda1     =>     XP Extended ??
hda2     =>     Linux Boot
hda3     =>     Linux Swap
hda4     =>     Linux Root
hda5     =>     Windows XP ntfs  (F:)


and then i ran a

Code:

grub> root (hd0,1)
grub> setup (hd1)
grub> quit


Now when i reboot i get a single GRUB, but at least it happens everytime. This may be progress....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
isoaga
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 31 Oct 2002
Posts: 206
Location: Newcastle, Australia

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2004 6:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, solved it, i swapped the hdd's around so that each one was a master on its own ide port. I have the linux drive as hda and windows as hdb. Then when i setup grub i had to do this

Code:

grub> root (hd0,1)
grub> setup (hd0)
grub quit


And then set my bios to boot from this drive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Installing Gentoo All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum