Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Gentoo Forums
Quick Search: in
eth1 not detected by kernel
View unanswered posts
View posts from last 24 hours

 
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Cryogen Glacien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 7:27 pm    Post subject: eth1 not detected by kernel Reply with quote

I've been trying to set up ICS with the family machine and my laptop (where eth0 gets connection to the outside world, while the lappy connects to eth1 via crossover cable). The idea behind this is to get the laptop connected to eth1, via its own eth0, and thus able to use the same connection as the family computer. However, I'm running into difficulties left and right.

There's no problem with eth0; it's the integrated ethernet controller on Abit's AV8 board and is functioning perfectly. Eth1 is a StarTech ST100S (I know, I know, stop laughing >>), which is based on the RealTek 8139 chipset as far as I can tell. I've got the driver compiled as a module (8139too) and set to be loaded automatically in /etc/modules.autoload/kernel-2.6. Problem is, the card's not detected at boot time and there's no eth1 script in /etc/init.d/. The output of ifconfig eth1 is as follows:

Code:

eth1    Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr (removed for security reasons) 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)


The output of cat /etc/conf.d/net | grep -i eth1 is:

Code:

iface_eth1="192.168.0.1 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth1="-t 10"


and cat /etc/dhcp/dhcpd.conf looks like this:

Code:

# dhcpd.conf

ddns-update-style none;

subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
        ddns-updates off;
        #default gateway
        option routers 192.168.0.1;
        option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
        option domain-name "miko";
        option domain-name-servers 24.29.99.17;
        range dynamic-bootp 192.168.0.16 192.168.0.253;
        default-lease-time 21600;
        max-lease-time 43200;
        }


I'm not at all confident in my dhcpd.conf file but what really has me stumped is why Gentoo isn't recognizing eth1 and why there's no initscript for it. Do I need to add something to /etc/hosts? Does anyone have any ideas? Help is greatly appreciated~
_________________
~Tall Dark and Bishoujo Computing~
Home PC: "Chikane" (ATX, AMD64 3700+)
School PC: "Hazuki" (uATX, AMD64 3500+)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
RoadRunn
Apprentice
Apprentice


Joined: 10 Jun 2004
Posts: 162

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 7:39 pm    Post subject: Re: eth1 not detected by kernel Reply with quote

Cryogen Glacien wrote:
I've been trying to set up ICS with the family machine and my laptop (where eth0 gets connection to the outside world, while the lappy connects to eth1 via crossover cable). The idea behind this is to get the laptop connected to eth1, via its own eth0, and thus able to use the same connection as the family computer. However, I'm running into difficulties left and right.

There's no problem with eth0; it's the integrated ethernet controller on Abit's AV8 board and is functioning perfectly. Eth1 is a StarTech ST100S (I know, I know, stop laughing >>), which is based on the RealTek 8139 chipset as far as I can tell. I've got the driver compiled as a module (8139too) and set to be loaded automatically in /etc/modules.autoload/kernel-2.6. Problem is, the card's not detected at boot time and there's no eth1 script in /etc/init.d/. The output of ifconfig eth1 is as follows:

Code:

eth1    Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr (removed for security reasons) 
          BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 b)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 b)


The output of cat /etc/conf.d/net | grep -i eth1 is:

Code:

iface_eth1="192.168.0.1 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
#iface_eth1="dhcp"
#dhcpcd_eth1="-t 10"


and cat /etc/dhcp/dhcpd.conf looks like this:

Code:

# dhcpd.conf

ddns-update-style none;

subnet 192.168.0.0 netmask 255.255.255.0 {
        ddns-updates off;
        #default gateway
        option routers 192.168.0.1;
        option subnet-mask 255.255.255.0;
        option domain-name "miko";
        option domain-name-servers 24.29.99.17;
        range dynamic-bootp 192.168.0.16 192.168.0.253;
        default-lease-time 21600;
        max-lease-time 43200;
        }


I'm not at all confident in my dhcpd.conf file but what really has me stumped is why Gentoo isn't recognizing eth1 and why there's no initscript for it. Do I need to add something to /etc/hosts? Does anyone have any ideas? Help is greatly appreciated~


You have to create the /etc/init.d/net.eth1 link yourself:
Code:
ln -s /etc/init.d/net.eth0 /etc/init.d/net.eth1


Then you need to add net.eth1 to the default runlevel:
Code:
rc-update add net.eth1 default


As long as your config files for eth1 are correct, and it looks like they are, then you should then get eth1 up once the init.d script is created/linked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Cryogen Glacien
n00b
n00b


Joined: 06 Sep 2004
Posts: 32

PostPosted: Fri Jul 08, 2005 7:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, that was really fast 8O Thank you! It got eth1 up and detected and assigned 192.168.0.1 as its address, and I can ping the adaptor from this box itself. Running dhcpd as root, however, produces this line in the output:

Code:

eth1: unknown hardware address type 24


which probably has to do with the Link encap=UNSPEC encountered before (and which is still there on doing an ifconfig eth1). I'm guessing I also have to do something in the /etc/hosts or similar on the laptop to get it to know something's trying to tell it something, though its eth0 is configured to get an address via DHCP to begin with. Thanks so much for your help; it's already more than I would have guessed to do to begin with.
_________________
~Tall Dark and Bishoujo Computing~
Home PC: "Chikane" (ATX, AMD64 3700+)
School PC: "Hazuki" (uATX, AMD64 3500+)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Reply to topic    Gentoo Forums Forum Index Networking & Security All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum