View previous topic :: View next topic |
Author |
Message |
shaky n00b
Joined: 06 Feb 2004 Posts: 45 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 3:20 am Post subject: Problems with Prism54... |
|
|
My kernel is gentoo-dev-sources (linux-2.6.1-gentoo-r1 which as some of you may know has got the Prism54 driver patch applied to it, meaning that it should have support for my SMC2802W Wifi PCI card.
However, I'm still unable to get any sort of connection going.
First of all, during boot-up, the system spends so long bringing eth0 up and eventually fails:
http://www.shaky.ws/uploads/bringing_eth0_1.jpg
followed by:
http://www.shaky.ws/uploads/bringing_eth0_2.jpg
What was strange is that once past this, and with everything loaded, if I manually brought eth0 up, it worked:
Code: |
root@alpha shaky # ifconfig eth0 up
root@alpha shaky # iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 SMC2802W Mode:Managed Channel:6
Access Point: 00:00:00:00:00:00 Bit Rate:0kb/s Sensitivity=20/200
Retry min limit:8 RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
|
I've got a script called "prism54" that will bring eth0 up, and using iwconfig, give the right configuration (ie: the right key, the right ESSID, the right channel). Executing the script results in success:
Code: |
root@alpha shaky # /etc/hotplug/pci/prism54
* Bringing eth0 up... [ ok ]
|
And the configuration of eth0 works because as iwconfig tells me, everything is at it should be
Code: |
root@alpha shaky # iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.
eth0 SMC2802W ESSID:"**MY ESSID**"
Mode:Managed Channel:6 Access Point: 00:04:E2:98:B9:60
Bit Rate:6Mb/s Sensitivity=20/200
Retry min limit:8 RTS thr:2347 B Fragment thr:2346 B
Encryption key:**MY ENCRYPTION KEY** Security mode:restricted
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:48
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0
|
Another strange thing you might notice is the 6MB/s, whereas my card is a g. If I ran iwconfig 5 seconds later it would show 48MB/s, surprisingly...
So then I thought, let's see if eth0 is actually got an IP address!
Code: |
root@alpha shaky # ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:04:E2:80:BA:24
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:21 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:8 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:1932 (1.8 Kb) TX bytes:4720 (4.6 Kb)
Interrupt:23
lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:70 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:70 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:3500 (3.4 Kb) TX bytes:3500 (3.4 Kb)
|
and what do you know, it doesn't.
However I made sure that /etc/conf.d/net probably assigned DHCP to iface_eth0 (everything else commented out) and made sure to
Code: |
rc-update add net.eth0 default
|
Per the README file on www.prism54.org, I mount /sys probably in fstab:
Code: |
...
none /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
...
|
As for firmware/hotplugging: If I do
Code: |
cat /proc/sys/kernel/hotplug
| I get "/sbin/hotplug" and the firmware "agent" IS present. The firmware file isl3890 is properly placed in /usr/lib/hotplug/firmware
What's going on here? I've spent all day trying to get this to work, even re-compiled my kernel. On the prism54 README, it says to enable, either as M or Y, the CONFIG_FW_LOADER but in gentoo-dev-sources, there was no option to do either yes or no or module, it was just a three dashes. I'm assuming that means it's ON by default?
Alright, I don't know anymore, help me out |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shaky n00b
Joined: 06 Feb 2004 Posts: 45 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 3:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Bump... |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 4:06 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Does this get can ip for you? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shaky n00b
Joined: 06 Feb 2004 Posts: 45 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:26 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | Does this get can ip for you? |
That worked!!
Now what should I do so that when my system boots it does this automatically and it does "hang" when bringing eth0 up? |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:30 pm Post subject: |
|
|
At a guess, I'd say that you uncommented the line dhcpcd_eth0="..."
Comment the line out
If that fails, give these replacement scripts a whirl
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=122435
Give a whirl anyway if you're feeling brace
They're my homegrown wireless config and startup scripts for Gentoo. |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shaky n00b
Joined: 06 Feb 2004 Posts: 45 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 7:38 pm Post subject: |
|
|
UberLord wrote: | At a guess, I'd say that you uncommented the line dhcpcd_eth0="..."
Comment the line out
If that fails, give these replacement scripts a whirl
https://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=122435
Give a whirl anyway if you're feeling brace
They're my homegrown wireless config and startup scripts for Gentoo. |
Yeah I _just_ found your scripts, I'm gonna test 'em out and see what happens! Thanks for your help! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
shaky n00b
Joined: 06 Feb 2004 Posts: 45 Location: Montreal, Canada
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 8:04 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Scripts work flawlessly
To anyone who might be having difficulty setting up your wireless: Use these scripts!! |
|
Back to top |
|
|
UberLord Retired Dev
Joined: 18 Sep 2003 Posts: 6835 Location: Blighty
|
Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2004 11:25 pm Post subject: |
|
|
/me blushes
Glad I could help you |
|
Back to top |
|
|
|